See other Cinque Terre properties

Hostel Ospitalia del Mare

Via San Nicolò 1, Levanto, Cinque Terre, Italy, Distance from city centre: 3km

Rating: 85% from 12 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good location, nice bathrooms/showers and spacious dorms. Good security lockers. The dorm beds were very short though, so you couldn't stretch out your legs. I'm 170 cm tall and I had to curl up. The beds are squeaky and it was impossible to sleep since the church bells rang all night. The included breakfast was very basic (a machine coffee, biscuits and a bread roll). The nightly price is too expensive for what you get. Wifi didn't work in the dorms, only in the reception area.
  • 77%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Aila
  • The hostel is near the beach with spacious rooms and friendly staff. However, there was no wi-fi in the room (I saw other reviews saying the opposite, but that was not my experience!) and our bathroom was not cleaned a single time over my two day stay (in a dorm of 9 people going to and from the beach...it was a watery and smelly mess).
  • 51%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Breakfast could have some fruit for instance. In general it was a great place to stay in to visit cinque terre.
  • 80%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Célia Portugal
  • I absolutely love this place! It's the town past cinque terre but it has amazing character and I actually preferred this town above the rest. The beach is 5 mins walk and the hostel is right next to the trail to Monterosso (2.5 hr hike) or a 15 min walk to the train station. The hostel is very clean, beds are comfortable and they give you a towel and breakfast included in the price. Staff was helpful and I met great people staying here. I will definitely be back
  • 100%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel wasn't open for large parts of the day (12-4 pm) so I had to carry my luggage with me to some of the places I wanted to see. I tried calling and no one picked up.There was no way to lock our stuff inside the room but the travelers I was with all seemed nice. It was a bit of a walk from the station to the hostel but it was close enough. No common area to congregate. Breakfast was bad and we shared the area with a bunch of kids so not that good for atmosphere.Had the basics though.
  • 63%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Michael USA
  • Great location for beach, walks and the centre of town. Nice hostel run by friendly people. Always clean and facilities good (no kitchen was a bit of a bummer and breakfast was average but free). Overall lovely stay and would recommend
  • 89%
  • 15 Jun 2014 erin
  • We really liked it here. To visit Cinque Terre I would reccomend staying here instead of in one of the 5 villages. Better prices, and less tourists. The hostel is big, has comfortable beds, with a large closet with a lock to go with every bed. The breakfast was quite nice also. We loved the little terrace and the staff were very helpful. I highly reccomend it!
  • 100%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Hallgjerd Norway
  • The staff were very friendly and helpful. Although this is a big hostel, it has a great atmosphere out on the terrace. The wifi really only works in the lobby reception area. It is a great location and place to stay if you are doing the Chinque Terre walks, and Levanto has everything you need. The hostel has laundry facilities but just a microwave in the dining area. I would recommend staying here. The reception does close during the day but you can still get in with a key.
  • 97%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Diane New Zealand
  • The Ospitalia del Mare definitely exceeded my expectations. Place was very clean, breakfast was good, and the staff were very friendly. It was a bit tricky to find, since the signs in town are not very clear, but the location is great; right near the beach as well as a bunch of restaurants and gelaterias!
  • 94%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Phoebe USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »