See other San Jose properties

Hostel Pangea

Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose, Costa Rica, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 69% from 12 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 61%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very happy.
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Jonathan USA
  • Looks and feels like Alcatraz. Definitly was a prison before. Has no shared rooms to relax, eat and drink your own stuff. There is a room but you need to buy and drink the stuff of the hostel (there is an expensive bar attached to it, the burgers are ok).
  • 60%
  • 23 Mar 2014 Pablo Germany
  • I've been to much more welcoming places all over the country. Staff not very willing/knowledgeable to provide information if you're not planning to buy a tour from them. The loud music in the bar makes conversations near impossible. Bring good earplugs as the bar is adjacent to most rooms and you'll hear it until very late. Food is very good but 8 dollars for a simple breakfast with pancakes, fruit and tea is way too much. Location is very convenient for the caribbean bus stations.
  • 66%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • It is impossible to sleep at night there is always the sound of the party going on. So it really depends on what you want as an hostel. This is definitely a party place.
  • 74%
  • 24 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Hostel Pangea was an excellent place to crash our first night in San Jose having arrived at 2 a.m. We got a shuttle there (which is not cheap but worth it for safety issues at that time of night). We were in a dorm style room with six others. The beds were average comfort, one pillow, one blanket and clean. There were many amenities including a pool, a restaurant upstairs serving breakfast and lunch and loud festive music. The cost of things were very fair and the staff were extremely helpful A+
  • 89%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Liz USA
  • We were placed in a single private room that was incredibly gross, we had dirty Sheets on our bed when we arrived and when we asked for new sheets The new ones were still not clean. The room was freezing and we were not given a blanket. There was a cockroach in my shower, not a very pleasant way to get clean. We moved Rooms our second night and our new room had dirty sheets from the last guests. The only redeeming quality was the bar and hang out area upstairs with the free computer use.
  • 43%
  • 25 Dec 2013 Gabrielle USA
  • Nice place with a spacious facility. I especially liked the food. Not a party hostel although I had read that it was.
  • 80%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is out of the nighlife's area (bars, nightclubs, restaurants, malls, etc). But it is a very good deal if you staying for a night. I have to complain about the guy up in the bar (the fatty bartender): he needs to understand that his role is to help visitors no to harass them.
  • 60%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Anonymous Colombia
  • Love it! Will definitely stay here again.
  • 91%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »