See other Playa del Carmen properties

Hostel Rio Playa

Calle 8 Entre 5 y ave 10, Playa del Carmen, Mexico, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 89% from 24 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Awesome atmosphere at night! Best place to starts big night out!
  • 80%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Paul Australia
  • This hostel is very good if you like to party and enjoy the beach. It´s a bit loud at night but if you want to party it´s ok. Even when you have to get up a bit early you get used to it. The Restaurants nearby are also playing loud music but that is what Playa del Carmen is :) A very short walk to the beach and the main road (1 minute). The breakfast is very tasty. You get to know people very easily and the staff is very helpfull.
  • 89%
  • 27 May 2014 Nathalie Germany
  • staff was always there to help you.
  • 80%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Dolores Canada
  • I've always loved this place. I'll be back soon. Drew
  • 94%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Andrew USA
  • Amazing places for youngster, less for couples and older people. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING for people travelling around and looking to meet new people !
  • 83%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous France
  • Conveniently located, cheap and EXTREMELY noisy. The club acros the street plays loud club music from midnight to about 4 AM. Forget about trying to sleep. Not suitable for anyone over 19.
  • 66%
  • 24 Jan 2014 JON USA
  • It's located right in the middle of main street.very safe! all the staffs are super friendly and helpful:)They changed a mattress recently,so it's all new and clean. I really recommend this hostel!
  • 91%
  • 25 Dec 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • I had a great time, staff and owner are amazing. Great place to meet people and close to the beach and several food places. cant wait to come back!!!!
  • 100%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Helen USA
  • It´s the cheapest around, perfect for a budget, noisy but the staff, well, Great!! if you wanna have a party time for little money this is the place! I say it again, staff = 10!
  • 94%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Anonymous Spain
  • A great hostel! Staff all so friendly, the bar is a lot of fun, great setting too with cheap beer. Would definitely go back!
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »