See other Vienna properties

Hostel Ruthensteiner Vienna

Robert Hamerling Gasse 24, 1150 Vienna, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 92% from 46 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I cannot rate this hostel highly enough. As a woman travelling alone it was a haven; safe, clean, friendly, bright, intelligent and providing everything one could need. Not being a young student it is difficult to get accomodation that is both personal and private without costing a fortune. So thank you for a perfect stay.
  • 100%
  • 18 Nov 2015 Erin Wales
  • Overall, it's a very nice hostel. The staff members are wonderful !
  • 83%
  • 28 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I can't say enough about this hostel. Friendly staff, beautiful bar and hang out room with games, instruments, books, cheap alcohol and such fun people. I loved my stay here and the staff was so helpful and accommodating when I asked to stay another night. They found a room for me in no time, it was so easy and stress free. The location is a teeny bit outside of center city, but it's easy to find from the train and bus, and there are fun bars in the area. Just a short tram ride or walk to town.
    Owner Comment

    THANK YOU for this lovely review! I just a quick note on our location: we're just a few minutes walk from the lovely Mariahilferstrasse, Vienna's most popular shopping avenue - this gorgeous mixed use/pedestrian space will lead you all the way to the historic center. Plus, as you say, there are plenty of awesome bars, restaurants & clubs in our very own neighborhood - so no need to jump on the bus to get in on some Viennese action! Thanks again, and happy travelling!

  • 97%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Had a great time during my stay, the common room/bar is a great place to hang out and connect with other travelers especially through music!
  • 89%
  • 24 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel's awesome! The 6 bed mixed room is huge, with a lot of space & outlets :) The bathroom is just above the top! The shower was very clean and the whole bathroom was very well equipped! The breakfast was OK, but I ate 3x bread w/ jam because I don't eat cereals. So I would change breakfast a little bit, but despite, it was very delicious :) When I bought breakfast the ladies there were very smiling, helpful and delightful, a great way to start a day! :) I highly recommend this hostel!
  • 94%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Anonymous Hungary
  • Great hostel in Vienna - the staff were some of the most helpful I have encountered and were so pleasant. They really made our experience worthwhile. It is a quintessential hostel that has great facilities and wonderful atmosphere. I would recommend it and stay here again!
  • 97%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice, clean, safe hostel in a good location near Westbahnhof. Breakfast was good, too.
  • 94%
  • 28 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great place for all ages!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you - we agree :)!

  • 94%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Renata Czech Republic
  • Great place, such a good vibe. One of the best hostels that I've stayed in as a single traveller, so easy to meet people and have a chat over a beer at happy hour. Really really enjoyed my stay here.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much, Lucy! Come chill with us again anytime :).

  • 94%
  • 18 Aug 2015 Lucy Australia
  • Great place with lovely staff. Stayed in a dorm and the room was clean, the bed was soft and the shower hot :) vienna-tip: If you got a couple of days here you should rent a bike from the hostel and take a ride along the canal. There are really nice "beach bars" and places to see!
    Owner Comment

    Hey there, thank you for this lovely review! That tip about the DANUBE CANAL is a great one. A note to other travellers: the canal (which runs along the north side of Vienna's historic center) is a fantastic local summertime hangout, complete with the aforementioned beach bars, clubs etc (one, the Badeschiff, even has a SWIMMING POOL!), crazy graffitti and street art, and plenty of action day and night...just one of many reasons to visit Vienna in the warm months :). Happy travelling!!!

  • 97%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Sandra Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »