See other Vienna properties

Hostel Ruthensteiner Vienna

Robert Hamerling Gasse 24, 1150 Vienna, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 91% from 48 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everyhing is so convenient here, I wish so much to live here the next time I visit Vienna!
  • 97%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Anonymous China
  • Great very helpful staff! Marvellous garden, very quiet in spite of the central location. Thanks! Agnieszka, Witek, Wojtek
  • 97%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Agnieszka Poland
  • Wonderful, friendly staff. Very welcoming to solo travelers! Clean facilities, artsy, friendly atmosphere. Would definitely recommend!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you so much for this lovely review! We'll hope to see you around here again sometime!

  • 100%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Over the course of a month-long European backpacking trip, probably the nicest hostel I stayed at in terms of amenities, facilities, and cleanliness. Cool bar and common room, outside terrace, very helpful staff, and full kitchen were nice.
  • 100%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Close to the West-bahnhof (the main train station in Vienna) and very convenient location. Fairly cheap and an excellent place. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Clean, comfortable and everything we need are there. A good bar in nights.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for this great review! Come back and hang out with us again sometime - summertime is a GREAT time to hang in our bar or our lovely garden and sip a Mojito, Caipirinhas, Mozart Colada...mmm!

  • 100%
  • 18 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Enjoyed time there. A bit removed to city center but an easy walk. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The gardens were awesome. Nice place to relax. Great addition. Would stay there again!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you so much for your review - we'll look forward to your next visit! I'd just like to add a little something about that walk into the center. Not only is it a nice&easy walk - it also leads you down the lovely Mariahilferstrasse shopping avenue. The 'Mahü' (as it's known to locals) is a beloved Viennese hang-out and mostly-car-free urban paradise - another part of Vienna that's not to be missed! Thanks again, and happy travelling!

  • 91%
  • 06 May 2015 Michelle USA
  • Wonderful facilities, very clean and comfortable. We loved the garden and bar/lounge area and we had a very comfortable and quiet stay. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and eager to answer our questions and give us suggestions and instructions. Location was nice, very close to the metro station so it was very easy to get into the center of town. We had a very pleasant stay and I would definitely recommend
    Owner Comment

    Hi there, thanks so much for this great review! Come back sometime - maybe this summer, the garden will only get lovelier after all :). Until then, happy travelling!

  • 94%
  • 18 Apr 2015 JANE USA
  • The location was kind of far away, but you're very close to the metro so you can get an all day pass and take that wherever you want. The wifi worked just fine. They had a full kitchen and laundry facilities, as well as a bar.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to review us, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Just a word on our LOCATION - we're actually just a few minutes walk from the lovely Mariahilferstrasse, Vienna's most popular shopping avenue, newly transformed into a gorgeous car-free urban space stretching from the Westbahnhof to the very central Museumsquartier - so no need to jump on the subway to get in on some Viennese action! Thanks again, we'll hope to see you here again sometime!

  • 97%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • very good,amazing experience.
    Owner Comment

    :) thank you!!!

  • 97%
  • 26 Feb 2015 Anonymous China
  • we stay only for a night and it was ok
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review! Come back & stay for a few nights next time, maybe we can raise that 'ok' up to a 'best hostel ever'. In any case we'll try ;). All the best & happy travelling!

  • 89%
  • 31 Jan 2015 Edmond Romania
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »