See other Vienna properties

Hostel Ruthensteiner Vienna

Robert Hamerling Gasse 24, 1150 Vienna, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 92% from 49 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved having musical instruments to play. Great outdoor space to socialize, great breakfast, great rooms.
  • 94%
  • 23 Oct 2016 Graham Canada
  • this place is amazing
  • 91%
  • 05 Oct 2016 Arnaud France
  • I was extremely impressed with my single private room with en suite bathroom with a balcony above a delightful garden. Very clean and functional and pleasant. Exactly what I wanted and more!
  • 100%
  • 16 Aug 2016 Johan USA
  • A great place with equally great people. This hostel will only make your stay in Vienna even better. :)
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2016 Maria Romania
  • The staff was very friendly and kind. The free to use musical instruments were the cherry con top of the cake.
  • 94%
  • 01 Aug 2016 Mauro Italy
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel and I am so glad that I decided to stay here. The staff were pleasant and friendly, thd atmosphere was great and open, there are plenty of interesting people coming and going, it's very central to everything you need, and the bar is a fun spot. If you are staying in Vienna and want a memorable experience then you have to stay here. Next time in in Vienna I am definitely booking here.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jul 2016 Kris Canada
  • I was a solo traveler there for 5 nights, and I had a comfortable stay. While the price is accessible, I felt I was paying too much for a room where you were either cold or sweating and any extra services like breakfast (3.90e) or laundry were expensive. The atmosphere is pretty chill, so if you are looking for party you need to find a good group of people, otherwise it would just be drinking and chilling. There are no cool bars nearby except for Travel Shack which is a fun place to be.
  • 83%
  • 25 Jun 2016 Anonymous Mexico
  • I loved my stay in hostel Ruthensteiner! The staff are helpful and very chill, and there's always help available in case of need. The whole atmosphere in this hostel is very welcoming and I fully agree with all the other great reviews hostel Ruthensteiner has received so far. I hope to be back next summer!
  • 80%
  • 16 Jun 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • Apart from being clean, cozy and almost perfectly located (5 min walk to the U-bahn), this hostel has an amazingly warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff were welcoming, smiling and helpful, and the sunny courtyard and cozy bar with its guitars and piano for random sing-alongs almost made us want to skip seeing the rest of Vienna just to stay and hang out. We only wish we could have stayed longer.
  • 97%
  • 02 Jun 2016 Nanna Denmark
  • Great hostel!
  • 94%
  • 10 May 2016 Galen USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »