See other Vienna properties

Hostel Ruthensteiner Vienna

Robert Hamerling Gasse 24, 1150 Vienna, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 92% from 56 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff is very helpful and friendly. It's obvious that they like their jobs a lot. The place is clean and has everything you might need. .
    Owner Comment

    You're right - working here is pretty awesome - especially when we get positive feeback like this :). Thanks so much!

  • 94%
  • 18 Mar 2016 Anonymous Poland
  • Good location, near weshbahn station. Everything is clean, room, bathroom, toilet and atmosphere Is nice, i like it. After a whole day sightseeing, Hostel Ruthensteiner is perfect for a good sleep to recharge my body ;) if come back to Vienna, i will definitely choose this hostel again. And thank you for upgrade our room from doormitory to private room. Thanks
    Owner Comment

    You're very welcome :). Do come see us again sometime!

  • 100%
  • 15 Mar 2016 Anonymous Indonesia
  • Amazing info board and desks with everything you'll need to know about your time in Vienna, and suggestions for really cool things. The common area was big and spacious, with super strong wifi throughout the building. Room was small but clean and comfortable, and the facilities were good. Right by the train station and with lots of affordable food options nearby.
    Owner Comment

    Wow, thank you - we love terms like 'amazing' :). Come see us again sometime - until then, happy travelling!

  • 100%
  • 02 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • One more point for the piano which my friend didn't hesitate to conquer, not only for my pleasure! :)
    Owner Comment

    I have to tell you, I love the days when I'm working at reception and get to enjoy a spontaneous piano concert at the same time...or a guitar-and-drum jam session, or someone rocking out on the accordian...our guests are a seriously talented bunch! Thanks so much for this awesome review, and do come back and see us again one day :).

  • 100%
  • 27 Feb 2016 Barbara Hungary
  • Good place to stay.
  • 77%
  • 17 Feb 2016 Patric
  • The staff are extremely nice and it's really close to the subway station. It's also easy to meet new people at the bar.
  • 100%
  • 29 Jan 2016 Michelle USA
  • If you don't mind using the metro to go and comeback, it is a great hostel
    Owner Comment

    Hey there, thanks so much for your review! Just a quick word about our LOCATION: we're actually just a few minutes walk from the lovely Mariahilferstrasse, Vienna's most popular shopping avenue - this gorgeous mixed use/pedestrian space will lead you all the way to the historic center. So no need to jump on the subway to get in on some Viennese action! Thanks again, and happy travelling!

  • 89%
  • 18 Jan 2016 Ricardo Brazil
  • It was the first time I saw such a wonderful Hostel.I really LIVED there. Missing the cheerful time spent there.This place is just an example how a Hostel should be..even Hotel people can learn a lot from them. Regards Nidhin
    Owner Comment

    Wow, thank you Nidhin - this review really made our day! You're just going to have to come back and chill with our little tribe again one day, from what it sounds :). Until then, happy travelling!

  • 100%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Nidhinkumar India
  • The greatest hostel I have ever stayed! I love the salon downstairs so much! everyone loves to stay there in the evening.Even has a piano to play! They consider everything and prepare nice for clients.
    Owner Comment

    Oh thank you so much! We love phrases like 'the greatest' :). Come back and jam with us again anytime!

  • 94%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Yi China
  • Had a great stay here. It's close to downtown and the lounge/environment was great. The biggest thing that impressed me was the staff. I had lost some valuables in the laundry (totally my fault because I selected the incorrect bunk) and the staff went above and beyond to get me my possessions back. They are also super informative and didn't act impatient with all the questions I had about various places or activities in the area. I highly recommend!!
    Owner Comment

    Thank YOU for this lovely review! We're really happy that your things got back to you safe&sound. All the best, and do come see us next time you're in Vienna :).

  • 97%
  • 25 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »