See other Vienna properties

Hostel Ruthensteiner

Robert Hamerling Gasse 24, 1150 Vienna, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 91% from 17 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Best Hostel ever! The staff is really kind and work as a real touristic guide. They tell you exactly what´s better to do depending on how many nights are you staying. It´s not close to the most touristic part of town, but is close to a big subway station and easy to get to the Schonbrunn Castle from there.
  • 97%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • This has been my favorite stay so far! This hostel is a great place for a solo traveler. It is both good to chill out and meet new people. The facilities and garden are made in a way that makes everything easy. Staff is truly friendly and helpful. Facilities are average and the rooms are clean enough. The atmosphere makes all the difference!
  • 91%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous France
  • Maybe a little noicy in the evening.But thats how it can be at hostels. However the best with Ruthensteiner is is the near location to Westbahnhof and of corse the staff that is very kind and helpful.
  • 86%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Jan Sweden
  • Hostel is very clean and the staff are friendly and willing to help. Good location too
  • 80%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Andri Australia
  • We were very satisfied with our stay. We got an even better room than what we paid for (4 persons instead of 8), with an attached bathroom. But overall the whole building was clean, modern and with a very nice atmosphere, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
  • 86%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Ronny Belgium
  • Great hostel; definitely one of the best we stayed in. Everything about is done well - they've got lots of experience, and have put it good use. Great atmosphere about the place as well, and it's easy to meet and socialize with people.
  • 100%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • But the room was a bit noisy during the night. The room was also hot and stuffy. The ventilation was not so good.
  • 83%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Very friendly and helpful staff!
  • 94%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Morten Denmark
  • Perhaps the best hostel in Western Europe.
  • 97%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • That was my second time staying there because the first time I had a good experience with the hostel. The location is not good but why I booked it again is the atmosphere and valuable service and room. Staffs are friendly, common room makes people meet easily and kitchen is clean and beer is cheap. If I visit Vienna again, I'll stay there again and again!! As I've visited many hostels, I surely say that hostel is the best ever!! Don't compare with any hostels, just book it and try it!
  • 94%
  • 04 Dec 2013 MIN South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »