See other Vienna properties

Hostel Ruthensteiner

Robert Hamerling Gasse 24, 1150 Vienna, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 87% from 17 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • That was my second time staying there because the first time I had a good experience with the hostel. The location is not good but why I booked it again is the atmosphere and valuable service and room. Staffs are friendly, common room makes people meet easily and kitchen is clean and beer is cheap. If I visit Vienna again, I'll stay there again and again!! As I've visited many hostels, I surely say that hostel is the best ever!! Don't compare with any hostels, just book it and try it!
  • 94%
  • 04 Dec 2013 MIN South Korea
  • The staff was available and helpful. The bar at night and cheap breakfast in the morning was perfect. The location was a bit far from the hub of Vienna, but the Westbahnof metro station made transportation convenient. I would return to this hostel in a heartbeat.
  • 97%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Lisa USA
  • This hostel is close from the main station by walk, while you need to use public transportation to get to the city center. One disadvantage is that it is located a t a little bit an out-of-the-way place. The hostel is cozy. At night, there can be some drunken guests who make noises because the bar inside the hostel is crowded. However, this also means that you would have more opportunities to make friends from all over the world in the hostel. Generally, this hostel is fine.
  • 80%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • The hostel was good, well organized, really close to the city center, the stuff was very friendly and helpfull.
  • 97%
  • 16 Sep 2013 Judith Hungary
  • More concerned about the commercial they were filming for future prospective guests than the current guests they had during my stay. Very annoying!
  • 89%
  • 07 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • A lovely old building in the backstreets but only just off the main shopping and transport route. Loads of character, with beautifully-kept courtyard gardens where people can pass the time. Bar and lounge were very busy when I came in late. Had a chat with the owner as I was leaving: she's a real traveller-friendly person who appreciates what we need and like! Would cheerfully stay here again.
  • 83%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Anonymous England
  • It was me and another girl and we got a double private. The staff is very friendly and helpful plus the atmosphere is nice. The rooms were clean and so were the bathrooms, all just small. Only thing is it is louder at night but not disruptive at all. Great for a college age kind of crowd!
  • 94%
  • 14 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This was one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The private double rooms are exceptional! The facilities are outstanding and the staff in incredibly warm and helpful, AND seem like they enjoy their workplace. They have considered EVERYTHING a traveler could need in this place, it was remarkable. In the main building there are musical instruments, book, a kitchen, laundry, and a grill and patio. There is a wonderful feeling in this hostel. It is one of the pleasantest stays I had on my trip.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very quaint and cute main area with friendly staff, nice hostel bar and seating area. However, rooms were tiny and the showers/WCs were very small as well. Shower has to be pushed on every 30 seconds or so, which was clumsy and annoying.
  • 77%
  • 10 Jun 2013 Katherine USA
  • Ok, this place was just ok for me, way over priced, you can do your laundry yourself and that will cost you 6 euros, breakfast again over priced, i stayed in a 8 bed dorm, couldnt sleep first night Because how bad it smelled, then all my food was taken by the cleaning lady (?!) the staff isnt that helpful. Would i stay again? Dont think so...
  • 49%
  • 27 May 2013 Alale Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »