See other Florence properties

Hostel Santa Monaca

Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Italy, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 77% from 37 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fantastic place. The staff were lovely and one sent me to a local restaurant where I had a great meal. Good location and easy yo walk most places. The building was once a convent built in the 1400s. What was the church is now a concert hall and it was surreal being able to lie in bed and listen to quality opera and classical music while lying in my bed going to sleep. I can undrstand the comments about the heat but by the end of September it was fine.
  • 94%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Hostel Santa Monaca was excellent. All the services you need for a very good price and the location is brilliant to discover Firenze by foot. I can imagine that it will be very hot in summer inside of the building but in September it was great. The only thing that I didn't like was that you had to pay if you wanted to leave your luggage after your check out. But on the other hand: it was in a save locker.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your stay, It was a pleasure for us. We don't ask money when you check in or check out, it is a free service for our guest, and it is in a save locker!! FOR FREE :)

  • 91%
  • 13 Sep 2015 Lenya-Gesine Germany
  • My very first hostel, was a really good experience. Meet a lot of fun people there, guys at the desk are pretty cool also!
  • 97%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Georgia Australia
  • This Hostel is very nice when you travel alone. There are always very nice people you can get to know. In this Hostel I have made as many friends as nowhere during my travel!
  • 91%
  • 13 Aug 2015 Katrin Germany
  • Rooms are poorly ventilated and VERY HOT. No AC. I woke up sweating in the night. Would not recommend or bring your own fan.
  • 69%
  • 08 Aug 2015 Stephanie USA
  • It was unbelievably hot the first night with no AC. The second night I was there they brought in. An extra fan but it was still very hot. Not much to be done but still not comfortable. The wifi was spotty. But the staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The location was pretty convenient.
  • 83%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • a suitable place to live.
  • 83%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Iman Sweden
  • Very hot in the room. The kitchen area was really unpleasant. Friendly staff.
  • 54%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • There was no air conditioning and it was incredibly stuffy in the rooms and the bathrooms so it was very difficult to sleep. There was live opera singing at 10 pm. Normally, I'm all for that sort of thing, but not when I'm feeling tired and just want to knock out. Finding my room was incredibly confusing - there were so many stairs and halls! The front desk didn't offer a towel and I had no idea I could buy/get one until check out. Overall, I definitely think it wasn't worth what I paid for.
  • 60%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • they try, but simply there were too many people for a small kitchen, and the fridge was packed with foods from everybody, there was no space left behind to put mine. 20 euros per night is quite expensive for the place like this in my opinion, but in Florence there is not so many was packed and no air conditioning, only the fan but with 38 degree in summer it was too hot anyway. if you get a down-bed, you don't get any air from the fan. 6 'clocok am, outside becomes noisy.
  • 57%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »