See other Florence properties

Hostel Santa Monaca

Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Italy, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 76% from 35 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was unbelievably hot the first night with no AC. The second night I was there they brought in. An extra fan but it was still very hot. Not much to be done but still not comfortable. The wifi was spotty. But the staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The location was pretty convenient.
  • 83%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • a suitable place to live.
  • 83%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Iman Sweden
  • Very hot in the room. The kitchen area was really unpleasant. Friendly staff.
  • 54%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • There was no air conditioning and it was incredibly stuffy in the rooms and the bathrooms so it was very difficult to sleep. There was live opera singing at 10 pm. Normally, I'm all for that sort of thing, but not when I'm feeling tired and just want to knock out. Finding my room was incredibly confusing - there were so many stairs and halls! The front desk didn't offer a towel and I had no idea I could buy/get one until check out. Overall, I definitely think it wasn't worth what I paid for.
  • 60%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • they try, but simply there were too many people for a small kitchen, and the fridge was packed with foods from everybody, there was no space left behind to put mine. 20 euros per night is quite expensive for the place like this in my opinion, but in Florence there is not so many options.space was packed and no air conditioning, only the fan but with 38 degree in summer it was too hot anyway. if you get a down-bed, you don't get any air from the fan. 6 'clocok am, outside becomes noisy.
  • 57%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • It is a good hostel to sleep and wake up early to go to the city. Its terrace is too small and closes at 10:30 so you can't socialize a lot. Staff is kind and the 22 people room is so big and hot in summer.
  • 80%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • The heat was ridiculous. I know that is not the fault of the hostel and that many places do not have air conditioning. However the rooms were not well ventilated to the outside at night. I spent my time sleeping in my own sweat! The point of a hostel is a place to sleep, and because it was miserable I could not. I also did think some of the staff was rude. The lady and younger man were quite nice, but some others were not. I felt like a burden and that they were too busy to help with advice
  • 54%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Laura USA
  • Everything was great (the area is the nicest in Florence and staff was excellent) except for the heat in the room (the 22 bed). Impossible to go to sleep before 2am when it was 35 C+ outside and even warmer inside...Would still highly recommend it though!
  • 100%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Elin Sweden
  • Hostel closes at 3am. And from 10am to 2pm. Never seen anything like that. Besides this inconvenient it's all good.
    Owner Comment

    Dear Guest, the closing time of the roons in the morning are for cleanning, if you need the reception always available to help you, even to go or stay in your room...during the closing time. Thank you for all good :)

  • 63%
  • 30 May 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • The best hostel I have ever been in.
    Owner Comment

    Dear Guest thank you so much

  • 94%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous Turkey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »