See other Florence properties

Hostel Santa Monaca

Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Italy, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 37 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • if you're lookin for a cheap and easy place to stay, this will do! The showers are on a timer and you have to press the button to make it go again every two minutes, but at least they're warm. You have to make your bed when you get there with sheets they provide and you have to be back by three otherwise the doors lock. Someone was nice enough to come open them for us but he did give us a bit of a lecture. Overall it was worth it.
  • 71%
  • 17 Oct 2014 zoe USA
  • Very close to the center of Florence. Good kitchen with everything you need. Great location for daytrips to Siena and Pisa.
  • 86%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Matthias Germany
  • Pros: Clean, very friendly and helpful staff, felt safe and definitely the cheap bike rentals (so much fun and they have great bikes!) Cons: Not the most social hostel atmosphere, one outlet for a six person room was definitely an obstacle At the end of the day, it is a good value for the money and I'd stay here again
  • 89%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Reception was very nice ,location was little far from train station to go by food so we took bus on the way back,but very close to most places you wont to see, to make shopping as well,cleanliness was ok for the value of money, facilities were very old I think it is belong to monastery
  • 77%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Tsetsegmaa USA
  • This place was great! A lot of room to cook, hang out and sleep. Such a great idea and perfect location.
  • 100%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Marisa USA
  • This was a basic budget hostel. No air conditioning made the room overheated at night and the was a day where water leaking from the vent damaged the stove. But the staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was great.
  • 69%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed in a room with 20-22 beds and was never bothered by another guest. The rooms are very large so everyone has plenty of space to move around. I heard this place used to be a convent many years ago. I wish there was evidence of that today, but maybe I simply missed it. The terrace is a cool place to hang out, and bonus, there is a launderette right across the street. Great experience!
  • 89%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is well located and the owner is good, the kitchen and other facilities are good, but bathrooms are not that great, when u take a shower the water just trips all over.
  • 71%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous India
  • Very nice place. Lucca is amazing!
  • 63%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Ricieri Brazil
  • Not enough outlets!! One for a dorm of 12. Only 2 female showers for the whole place and water pressure wasn't great. Long lines for the shower and bathroom in the mornings and sometimes no toilet paper. Beds very uncomfortable. Staff was nice and large kitchen/eating area
  • 66%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »