See other Florence properties

Hostel Santa Monaca

Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Italy, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 74% from 34 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Clean place but very loud outdoor surroundings. Partying in the streets made a lot of noise and disturbed my sleep.
  • 71%
  • 21 May 2016 Marc USA
  • Good hostel! Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms.
  • 91%
  • 07 May 2016 Taisa Brazil
  • The hostel is beautiful, and not too far from the city centre or the train station. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, the building itself has some historical value. I would stay here again
  • 91%
  • 25 Mar 2016 Anonymous Israel
  • nice clean hostel, very good location, helpful staff
  • 83%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • This place has just the bare minimum of what you expect from a hostel - bed, kitchen, (bad) wifi. Not a great atmosphere for meeting other people.
  • 60%
  • 16 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is really neat! This old convent is a maze, and eminates a sense of history not found in other hostels. The kitchen was great, with plenty of food space, facilities were clean, and staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaint/recommendation is the beds. This place has old rickety bunks that are noisy, uncomfortable, and offer no privacy. While this is not a huge problem, this hostel would shine if new beds with side panels and new mattresses were installed. Great stay overall!!
  • 83%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Although it's a good walkable location the facility itself isn't very good, there are no "ensuites" as stated on here, there was no soap in the common bathrooms. The room smelled musty and funky old. The fan didn't help cool it down, it felt like the fan was going to fall off the ceiling any point on. The wifi was down completely for two days and the front desk had no clue how to fix it. The washer is also in the kitche,n pulling it out your panties and clothes can be awkward. No breakfast
  • 49%
  • 05 Oct 2015 Yolanda USA
  • Location was OK! The good thing was that there's a supermarket right after the Hostel. Friendly Staff that tried to resolve everything in a friendly way, I liked it. The hostel itself was old and needs a serious renovation in near future, but was OK for now. No internet connection unfortunately; even their 2 desktop computer didn't have access. Apart from internet, I would go there again
  • 83%
  • 29 Sep 2015 Amir Hossein Denmark
  • Fantastic place. The staff were lovely and one sent me to a local restaurant where I had a great meal. Good location and easy yo walk most places. The building was once a convent built in the 1400s. What was the church is now a concert hall and it was surreal being able to lie in bed and listen to quality opera and classical music while lying in my bed going to sleep. I can undrstand the comments about the heat but by the end of September it was fine.
  • 94%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Hostel Santa Monaca was excellent. All the services you need for a very good price and the location is brilliant to discover Firenze by foot. I can imagine that it will be very hot in summer inside of the building but in September it was great. The only thing that I didn't like was that you had to pay if you wanted to leave your luggage after your check out. But on the other hand: it was in a save locker.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your stay, It was a pleasure for us. We don't ask money when you check in or check out, it is a free service for our guest, and it is in a save locker!! FOR FREE :)

  • 91%
  • 13 Sep 2015 Lenya-Gesine Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »