See other Florence properties

Hostel Santa Monaca

Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Italy, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 33 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There was only one (!!!) socket in a room for 6 (!!!) persons. And nowadays, when everyone has at least mobile phone + camera or/and notebook - it is VERY inconvenient. The only way to charge your devices was to go downstairs, in a common room and sit there, while you devices were charging... Also, bathrooms were inconvenient, and staff not very friendly.
  • 60%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • This was a good hostel. Not the Four Seasons, obviously, but it was pretty clean, and pretty safe. The staff was kind. Great location. I was pleased.
  • 74%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Colleen USA
  • I was really pleased with this hostel. The man at the reception desk was so very helpful and sweet.
  • 89%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The Hostel was very nice with us, but the bedroom's structure wasn't so good as way as the bethroons.
  • 57%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • This hostel was average. The bathroom for an 8 bed female dorm was sufficiently large. There were not enough outlets in the room for 8 people, however. Staff was friendly, location was not far from the center of Florence.
  • 77%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Caroline USA
  • The hostel is in an amazing location. It only took us about ten minutes to walk there from the Santa Maria Novella train station. The morning staff was wonderfully nice (I was expecting a lot worse going by reviews) and seemed genuinely concerned with our needs. A palace among hostels!
  • 86%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Olivia USA
  • The staff was very helpful. Little bit far from the centre, It is alright as a backpacker. Just I thing that I was not happy about was mosquito in the room. I had mosquito bite on my face, 3 spot. Without the experience, It is the perfect hostel in Florence.
  • 71%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Remi Japan
  • Very friendly staff, good location (in a quiet side street), old but still clean. The only drawback was the room equipment (no tv or radio, few plug sockets, no shelves or other ways to deposit your things in the bathroom, poor light, only one little table lamp in a room for two).
  • 80%
  • 28 Sep 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Not enough hot water, not enough electricity contacts, u most fix it!
  • 80%
  • 22 Sep 2013 Tirso Mexico
  • Really great option for Florence. The location is excellent and in a safe area, I was able to walk at night with no trouble at all. Room facilities very good and clean bathrooms. There is not AC in the rooms, however even when was there is the hottest days of the summer it was acceptable. Good choice for the price.
  • 80%
  • 29 Jul 2013 Erika Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »