See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Slotania

Slotermeerlaan 131, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 68% from 38 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 55%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of my favorite hostels I've stayed at this trip. Although it's not close to the city center, the tram is right outside the front door. There are also plenty of dörner shops, restaurants, and non-touristy stores nearby. The rooms are very nice, clean, and comfy. The bathrooms are simply impressive.
  • 94%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Absolutely awful. Never again. Awful location, awful rooms, awful staff.
  • 23%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Anonymous England
  • Good location, just by the bus and tram station.The bath and toilet are private, in the room; this is a great plus. Comfortable beds and quiethostel ambiance.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Anonymous Romania
  • The Hostel is a bit far from the city centre, but there's busses (21) and trans (7) that go there really fast, but it costs 2,90 each way (or you can buy the day ticket for 7,50) There's a bathroom inside the room and it was really clean and with a great shower! The problem is that there's only 4 small lockers in the room for 8 beds. Also the hostel look like a hotel, there isnt a common area. I don't recommend this hostel for staying a lot, but for couple days is nice!
  • 57%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Despite the many unfavourable comments, accommodation and facilities were very satisfactory for the price paid. Guests should be aware that the web advertised price does not include government tax or VAT. So guests will be caught having to pay "extra".
  • 66%
  • 29 May 2015 Siang Wee Australia
  • A gentleman at the front desk was very rude with us for just doing a question. We were greeted by a very friendly young man the day before, but this man who seemed the owner of the establishment was very rude, and the lady who was working at breakfast and threw the dishes without any care and being rude to the guests .
  • 71%
  • 16 May 2015 Luciana Brazil
  • Location not so good, but good value for money anyway. Nice and clean room. Ice lady at front desk should get other job that doesn´t include talking to people.
  • 66%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Titt Sweden
  • It was decent. A bad grade for breakfast surcharge, but conditions better than in other places.
  • 74%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Ileana Mirela Romania
  • The hotel is not so far from city Center, staffs are polite Good experience very clean rooms And u can even have shower
  • 83%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Otgonbayar Mongolia
  • This is not a hostel, this is a hotel. Only stay here if 0 options, and know that it's considered far away in Dutch standards. City center to the hotel taxi ride will cost you about 22 euros, trust me i know because of King's day. During big holidays their public transit sucks, so if bad weather (super cold when i was there) make sure you book ahead to something closer to city center. Also this is in a muslim neighborhood (no big deal) just don't expect to see traditional Holland stuff
  • 57%
  • 23 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »