See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Slotania

Slotermeerlaan 131, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 71% from 37 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 61%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was exceptionally unfriendly and did not see any value in sending us someone to fix the broken heaters (it was November and freezing). Instead they told us to wait for a night which was exactly the amount of time we were staying at this hostel and furtherore unwilling to help us out. We couldn't change the room, we didn't get more blankets but we were told to discuss the topic with the manager - the next morning. We did and at least got the breakfast for free (worth of 5 €)
  • 46%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Barbara Germany
  • I read that the location was a bit awful and the hotel was bad, but honestly it came very well! We were a group of 5 people in a room (guys and gals) and the room was OK: clean beds and sheets, spacious bathroom with shampoo, hairdryer and everything, good breakfast (5€)... The problem of the hostel is the cleanliness in the halls: we found puke in the elevator, some litter out there, but as our room was clean and comfortable, we didn't care much. Bad thing is that is far from the city center
  • 71%
  • 15 Nov 2014 William Peru
  • Very nice hostel with a reasonable rent. The rooms and the bathrooms were really clean. It feels more like a hotel. Although you can access all the places with the tram it is still outside the main city area. If you like a bit more quieter atmosphere you can stay here.
  • 86%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous Pakistan
  • Everything was ok. Cleanliness was better than I expected. Good day and night connection to city centre.
  • 77%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Florian Germany
  • Single, einsuite: Bad and Room about 8-9 qm, matress extremely soft, big window, that didn't open, on the sunny side (summer time definitely too hot), shower really big with little to no warm/hot water und miserable water pressure, only superficially clean (make up on the mirrors, urine stains in toilett). Walls where covered with different stains. Between 12-2 am people where extremelly (drunkenlly) loud every night. Good bus & tram connection. Supermarkets and Restaurants just over the street.
  • 51%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Diane Germany
  • The rooms were clean and it's a good place to sleep. But the receptionist wasn't really nice, she behaved like it was a huge effort to do her job. Too far from the city centre but it's not a big trouble if you are using the tram.
  • 63%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Isaac Spain
  • The place itselft wasn't bad - It was clean and close to the center, well connected. The only defect was the price. We've been to places where, for the price stated, the facilities were double as clean, as comfortable and, above all, safer. We missed a place where to store the luggage (a simple wooden, inexpensive chest and a locker would do). We don't know if the price was so high because it's summer or because the Netherlands is an expensive country, but we've been to cheaper places.
  • 63%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Guillermo Spain
  • Very nice room with comfy beds and brilliant washing facilities. New towels etc every day. Poor location however as it takes a 20-30 minute tram ride in or a 10 minute train ride from Sloterdjik station (30 minute walk there). Staff were also rude and unhelpful as we had to wait 4 hours for our room to be ready even though we arrived at 12pm, without an apology. When the locks broke on the safe (when working - very good) they seemed very grumpy about fixing it. Location is the worst part though.
  • 74%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Just the staff members were a bit unfriendly.
  • 86%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Mansoor Afghanistan
  • Really unfriendly staff. Delayed check-in (past 3pm instead of 12am indicated in the booking). No luggage room, just a basement of warehouse. They didn't respect our booking, instead of 4 people dorm, they gave us a 6 people dorm without consulting! Really ?
  • 37%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »