See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Slotania

Slotermeerlaan 131, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 73% from 34 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 62%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was ok. Cleanliness was better than I expected. Good day and night connection to city centre.
  • 77%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Florian Germany
  • Single, einsuite: Bad and Room about 8-9 qm, matress extremely soft, big window, that didn't open, on the sunny side (summer time definitely too hot), shower really big with little to no warm/hot water und miserable water pressure, only superficially clean (make up on the mirrors, urine stains in toilett). Walls where covered with different stains. Between 12-2 am people where extremelly (drunkenlly) loud every night. Good bus & tram connection. Supermarkets and Restaurants just over the street.
  • 51%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Diane Germany
  • The rooms were clean and it's a good place to sleep. But the receptionist wasn't really nice, she behaved like it was a huge effort to do her job. Too far from the city centre but it's not a big trouble if you are using the tram.
  • 63%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Isaac Spain
  • The place itselft wasn't bad - It was clean and close to the center, well connected. The only defect was the price. We've been to places where, for the price stated, the facilities were double as clean, as comfortable and, above all, safer. We missed a place where to store the luggage (a simple wooden, inexpensive chest and a locker would do). We don't know if the price was so high because it's summer or because the Netherlands is an expensive country, but we've been to cheaper places.
  • 63%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Guillermo Spain
  • Very nice room with comfy beds and brilliant washing facilities. New towels etc every day. Poor location however as it takes a 20-30 minute tram ride in or a 10 minute train ride from Sloterdjik station (30 minute walk there). Staff were also rude and unhelpful as we had to wait 4 hours for our room to be ready even though we arrived at 12pm, without an apology. When the locks broke on the safe (when working - very good) they seemed very grumpy about fixing it. Location is the worst part though.
  • 74%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Just the staff members were a bit unfriendly.
  • 86%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Mansoor Afghanistan
  • Really unfriendly staff. Delayed check-in (past 3pm instead of 12am indicated in the booking). No luggage room, just a basement of warehouse. They didn't respect our booking, instead of 4 people dorm, they gave us a 6 people dorm without consulting! Really ?
  • 37%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Loved it there, location is just perfect and staff is really nice and helpful. You'll have a good time there!
  • 100%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Anna Lena Austria
  • I got my leather jacket stolen in the room. there is no lockers in the rooms. only a small safety box which you pay for. be careful, guys..
  • 69%
  • 25 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Easy to reach with tram or bus, clean and big room with TV. The only problem is that they don't have locker and shower water is too small. But after all, still worth!
  • 69%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »