See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Slotania

Slotermeerlaan 131, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 69% from 39 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 62%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 58%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A gentleman at the front desk was very rude with us for just doing a question. We were greeted by a very friendly young man the day before, but this man who seemed the owner of the establishment was very rude, and the lady who was working at breakfast and threw the dishes without any care and being rude to the guests .
  • 71%
  • 16 May 2015 Luciana Brazil
  • Location not so good, but good value for money anyway. Nice and clean room. Ice lady at front desk should get other job that doesn´t include talking to people.
  • 66%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Titt Sweden
  • It was decent. A bad grade for breakfast surcharge, but conditions better than in other places.
  • 74%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Ileana Mirela Romania
  • The hotel is not so far from city Center, staffs are polite Good experience very clean rooms And u can even have shower
  • 83%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Otgonbayar Mongolia
  • This is not a hostel, this is a hotel. Only stay here if 0 options, and know that it's considered far away in Dutch standards. City center to the hotel taxi ride will cost you about 22 euros, trust me i know because of King's day. During big holidays their public transit sucks, so if bad weather (super cold when i was there) make sure you book ahead to something closer to city center. Also this is in a muslim neighborhood (no big deal) just don't expect to see traditional Holland stuff
  • 57%
  • 23 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Drunk neighbors in the very early in the morning were very noisy, kicking the doors. Everything else was more or less okay.
  • 66%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous Lithuania
  • The hotel itself is lovely, room was nice also and was cleaned everyday. The only problem I had was how unhelpful the desk staff are. They were incredibly rude when asked questions and quite blunt with any answer given. When asked on how to get somewhere was sent off in completely opposite direction and its a pity as the hotel itself is lovely. I will not be returning here and will not be recommending this hotel for tourists as there is nothing worse then rude and unhelpful staff.
  • 60%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • The only disadvantage of this nice place was... THE DOOR. Yes. The first door following to the rooms were very hard to open (U have to use special card to get there and the same card to get to your room as well). It was pretty embarassing and annoying - sometimes I got to wait for someone to open those door from inside. Besides, it was very ok. Hope next time I'll get 3-guests room without a big STUD in the middle ;)
  • 80%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Dominika Poland
  • This hostel was more like a hotel and beautiful. Rooms and ensuite excellent.
  • 91%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Anonymous England
  • The staff was exceptionally unfriendly and did not see any value in sending us someone to fix the broken heaters (it was November and freezing). Instead they told us to wait for a night which was exactly the amount of time we were staying at this hostel and furtherore unwilling to help us out. We couldn't change the room, we didn't get more blankets but we were told to discuss the topic with the manager - the next morning. We did and at least got the breakfast for free (worth of 5 €)
  • 46%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Barbara Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »