See other Nice properties

Hostel Smith

20 Rue Droite, Nice, France, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 56% from 15 reviews

  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 61%Staff
  • 56%Security
  • 44%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 53%Value for money
  • 41%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed in hostel Smith 3 days and I like here. If I come again to Nice, I will stay there again.. One of the best is staff in this hostel. They're very kindly. Many thanks and greetings to Katja :))
  • 83%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • The main issue is with the see through showers doors that give no privacy to the shower user and on top of this the door did not lock. A male member of staff took advantage of this and watched us shower from the outside with no valid reason for him to be in there. When one of us left the shower he made an excuse to inappropriately touch one of us saying "oh, there is no room" when there clearly was. We would NOT recommend this place to anyone.
  • 49%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • There were no common facilities where you could hang out, only a small kitchen with very limited seats. The breakfast was modest. There was no lock on the door to the dorm, just to the corridor where the dorm was located.
  • 54%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • Cheap and smack in the middle of Nice, within walking distance of most attractions. They were renovating the dorms when I visited, so not everything was "up to code".
  • 71%
  • 15 Dec 2013 Anonymous Norway
  • First we got a private room, which was horrible. It smelled awful and it was really hot in the night. In addition, the hostel was undergoing renovation, so it wasn't an ideal time to visit there. We also didn't have a toilet in the same floor. The actual dorm was much better. Also, they were always out of something, for example bread or milk for the breakfast or toiletpaper. However, the staff was really nice and helpful. When the renovation is over, I think that the hostel will be ok.
  • 71%
  • 17 Jul 2013 Noora Finland
  • Horrific!!!!!
  • 37%
  • 14 Jul 2013 Scott England
  • We didnt like the hostel. The only good thing was the location, its in the middle of the old town. It's the less clean we have seen and the staff wasnt helpful at all. It's Noisy at night, the kitchen is very small for the breakfast and the bathroom is really small, 2 showers and 1 toilet for almost 40 persons .The rooms are not on one floor and there is neighboors all aroud. They are kind of crazy. the bathroom is on the first floor and we were staying on the 2nd floor, its complicated at night
  • 43%
  • 11 Jul 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • location was amazing right near the beach in old town nice. small, dirty bathroom, tiny kitchen, no common area besides kitchen table and reception area, two computers, wifi was very good, staff not very helpful and not present 24 hours for check ins or help. our room was used as a laundry room and the closets were storage so staff was always in the room, no locking door, staff used room to talk on cell phones. provided breakfast was cereal and bread with jam. small lockers. no luggage room
  • 60%
  • 12 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Location is great. I'd choose to live in old town over new town any day! I stayed there during construction on the 2nd fl. so there was 2 bathrooms for 16guests. Not ideal. Otherwise, the staff was nice small lockers. Kitchen items r limited.
  • 71%
  • 04 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • No parking. The place was run down with paint and stucco pealing off the walls. Breakfast was minimum in a crowded one table room for maybe 6 people.
  • 69%
  • 30 May 2013 richard USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »