See other Rome properties

Hostel Star Light

Via Cairoli 115, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 2.1km

Rating: 66% from 16 reviews

  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff made us made us feel uncomfortable. Location was scary, quite an unpleasant part of Rome.
  • 37%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Jade England
  • unfortunatelly, I can not say I am fully satisfied. The location seems to be unsecure. We did'n have any trouble but especially at nights, you should stay inside. By the way, there is no wifi. It is a minus.
  • 71%
  • 28 Jun 2014 can
  • The price is reasonable in such a big city. It was actually quite far away from the train station. However, the staff was quite nice.
  • 80%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Starlight was in a great location and a great value. Our room was spacious and we had a private balcony. The hostel has 4 units and 2 shared bathrooms, so there was never an instance where one of the bathrooms was unavailable. The only area that I could see improvement was availability of staff. It was only one man, who was very nice and accommodating, however in the morning we had to knock down his door to get our breakfast (which is a croissant and cup of coffee). I'd definately go back!
  • 89%
  • 15 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The place where is the hostel scared us a lot and if you are girls you won't feel sure (it's the china town of Rome). THE AREA SEEMED VERY DANGEROUS. When you enter the door (if you'll be able to,cause the owner doesn't answer all the times when you ring and your keys don't work) you'll find a very old place. The hostel is in an apartment in the last floor, no lift, dirty stairs, smell of smoke.The hostel is not so bad for this price, a very positive thing is the comfortable bed.
  • 49%
  • 09 May 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • it didnt have wifi and we kept asking for it and the owner gave some unacceptable excuses. the blankets and duvets were not clean at all and the owner charged us for washing them on our request which was annoying.
  • 46%
  • 26 Feb 2014 ali Netherlands
  • We had a very nice time in Rome thanks to the landlord. Super friendly and very helpful, telling us about what to see where and always available for questions.
  • 77%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Anonymous Austria
  • Excellent service and very comfortable. Close to everything!!
  • 100%
  • 21 Aug 2013 Rodrigo Mexico
  • Our stay was very nice;-) The room was clean and comfortable.The bathroom also was very clean. The owner of the flat was nice and helpfull:-) He gave us a map and explained everything. The location is excellent because everywhere is very close e.g. metro station - 5 min, Termini - 5 min, Colosseum - about 20 min. Very close to Star Light is nice restaurant La Taverna Italiana where u can eat delicious italian food and ice cream place called Fassi where ice cream are delicious.
  • 83%
  • 03 Aug 2013 Anonymous Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »