See other San Jose properties

Hostel Urbano

San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose, Costa Rica, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 89% from 10 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 96%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel Urbano was a great first stop after landing in San Jose that afternoon. The location was great as there were many bars and sodas nearby within walking distance. I was hoping that the staff would be more warm and welcoming but overall, it was a good experience! The private room was nice and all that we needed. The shared bathrooms were an issue either and we were able to utilize it as needed. Breakfast was yummy in the morning that featured pancakes, fruit, and coffee.
  • 80%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It's good place to stay if you only stay there before you are back home. Very comfortable bed and good atmosphere. However, if you have a plan to look around downtown in San Jose, the location is not perfect since you need to take a bus to get to downtown. The staffs are friendly.
  • 74%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Jung Seon
  • The Urban is a well-run, clean hostel in a nice neighborhood. The staff is helpful and polite. The shared kitchen is clean and well equipped. The dorm rooms are spacious compared to others I've been in. There are large lockers for your belongings. The hostel common room is comfortable and the internet connection is good.
  • 91%
  • 29 Jan 2015 Geronimo USA
  • GREAT STAFF ! GO HERE FOR GREAT VALUE !
  • 94%
  • 25 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • really nice hostel with good vibes
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2015 Dominik
  • I had a pleasant stay at Hostel Urbano. My only compliant is that the water was pretty cold and it was hard to get through a shower. The staff is super accommodating and helpful. I would recommend staying at this hostel.
  • 89%
  • 09 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay! Friendly staff willing to help you and answer any questions. Chill environment, perhaps not the place if you're looking to party, but everyone their was friendly!
  • 94%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Aaron USA
  • Hostel Urbano was a good place to stay before I left for the airport to go back home. They offered a really laid back vibe which I appreciated after a week of traveling coast to coast. This is not the place to run around like spring break in South Beach, but it is a good place to rest up before heading back home or to another part of the country or if you want to get a feel for the capital without actually being in the capital. The staff was INCREDIBLY helpful and courteous!
  • 77%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very friendly and helpful staff. They were knowledgeable in the tours offered and the ones they helped me pick were a lot of fun. They also made the reservations on my behalf.
  • 97%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Livny
  • The staff at the Urbano were able to find me a room, due to a last minute flight change. They were helpful and able to move me into a bigger room for my second night. Their location is perfect for getting around in San Jose… lots of buses and taxis around due to the University being so close. Also located close to groceries, restaurants and a bank.
  • 100%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »