See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Utopia

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 58% from 33 reviews

  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 63%Staff
  • 61%Security
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 51%Value for money
  • 46%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Had the worst experience there! Super expensive and bad service!
  • 20%
  • 01 Aug 2015 victoria Costa Rica
  • This hostel is more like a coffeeshop instead of a hostel. The reception is in the coffeeshop, which is surely a superise for weed smokers ;) but for a non-smoker, that would be a horrible experience. The female staff is really nice and location is in the centre. But the environment and atmosphere of the hostel room is unacceptable, I will go to the coffeeshop for smoking but won't live in the hostel ever again. If you are able to afford for another hotel room, please do not choose this hostel.
  • 46%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Anonymous China
  • This Hostel is a mess. The Bed was not clean, it smells weird in the room and its hot in there. U have no Board for Clothes or stuff. The TV is an 90s mini TV with half destroyed Buttons. The only good feature they have is the coffeeshop. Thats all they have. So we asked the receptionist to cancel the 2nd Day, because we wanted to check out and search for another. She disagreed everything. So we had to pay full 200 euros for the 2 nights but didnt sleep there. it was impossible.
  • 26%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Stefano Germany
  • Overall good. Little space, but enough if you ar mostly out in the city.
  • 80%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Pontus Sweden
  • Don't stay here, it's like a prison cell, I never met the owner and had to deal with Bob's Hostel down the street to get my key and €20 deposit on the key. On top of that if you have a big bag, good luck getting to the top floor cause it was like we were in the Lord of the rings climbing a mountain.
  • 37%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very rude receptionist checked me in which gave me a very bad first impression that stuck with me for the whole stay.
  • 60%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Isabelle Sweden
  • This was the most terrifite experience that I had in my life....I paid 200 euros for a room without air....the hostel name is Utopia...please do not make the same mistake...
  • 31%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Anonymous Greece
  • One window was broken and there was a horrible smell like rotten eggs in the room. The lady at the counter didn't seem to care when we pointed the problem out. We finally got the owner who tried to fix the window and the smell which disappeared after the first night. The location is good though.
  • 57%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Thomas France
  • the location is very good and the staff is nice
  • 69%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Anonymous China
  • I usually don't have too high expectations of hostels, but the first-impression was shockingly bad: the reception is actually a bar (full of smoke when we arrived), rooms are too small, wi-fi does not work on the top floor where me and my boy were, plus the wi-fi password is "pleaseleveatip" which doesn't sound very friendly or funny at first. Then we didn't manage to get the heater working except one of the nights when it did (not sure how/why). Price does not include 5% tax! Friendly staff.
  • 54%
  • 01 May 2015 Anonymous Romania
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »