See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Utopia

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 58% from 30 reviews

  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 63%Security
  • 47%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 49%Value for money
  • 46%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Don't stay here, it's like a prison cell, I never met the owner and had to deal with Bob's Hostel down the street to get my key and €20 deposit on the key. On top of that if you have a big bag, good luck getting to the top floor cause it was like we were in the Lord of the rings climbing a mountain.
  • 37%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was the most terrifite experience that I had in my life....I paid 200 euros for a room without air....the hostel name is Utopia...please do not make the same mistake...
  • 31%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Anonymous Greece
  • One window was broken and there was a horrible smell like rotten eggs in the room. The lady at the counter didn't seem to care when we pointed the problem out. We finally got the owner who tried to fix the window and the smell which disappeared after the first night. The location is good though.
  • 57%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Thomas France
  • the location is very good and the staff is nice
  • 69%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Anonymous China
  • I usually don't have too high expectations of hostels, but the first-impression was shockingly bad: the reception is actually a bar (full of smoke when we arrived), rooms are too small, wi-fi does not work on the top floor where me and my boy were, plus the wi-fi password is "pleaseleveatip" which doesn't sound very friendly or funny at first. Then we didn't manage to get the heater working except one of the nights when it did (not sure how/why). Price does not include 5% tax! Friendly staff.
  • 54%
  • 01 May 2015 Anonymous Romania
  • The hostel was really dirty and the room small. The man at the reception brute. I don't recommend this hostel.
  • 37%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Elisa Italy
  • I wasn't really happy seeing our room, because there was less space and we decided to stay one night and leave the next day. For this supply the price doesn't stand in relation to.
  • 46%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Justus Germany
  • We got very tiny room, Internet didn't work in the room behind the roof. Otherwise everything was quite okay, the location is great.
  • 83%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Petr Czech Republic
  • What more can you expect from the price? Very cheap and located very central so you can't really complain. Perfect for a couple of days stay if you plan to spend your nights out on town. Definitely safe and clean.
  • 80%
  • 31 Mar 2015 Jesper Sweden
  • The hostel was better then I thought it would be due to the reviews I read. It was clean and organized. Worst part of the stay was the steps you had to take to get to your room.....very small and dangerous.
  • 69%
  • 23 Jan 2015 Billy USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »