See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Utopia

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 55% from 38 reviews

  • 45%Atmosphere
  • 57%Staff
  • 57%Security
  • 46%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 50%Value for money
  • 44%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Giving prior warning that there's a 20 Euro deposit fee for the key, would be very helpful. Unfortunately took us somewhat by surprise and were lucky we had the money on us at the time. Also instead of asking for arrival times, if you could say that the Cafe is only open from 6pm that would be great as we thought the Cafe staff were much more approachable than the staff in Bob's Hostel and would have preferred to have checked in with them. Overall our though our 1 night stay was very comfortable
  • 66%
  • 12 Oct 2015 Alix England
  • We stayed there for two nights and we were happy to leave. The room was tiny and the toilet flush (shared toilet) only worked sometimes. The rooms are really cold and the whole atmosphere was horrible. Please put some more effort in the hostel or just close it down and don't let anyone pay a lot of money for that.
  • 40%
  • 05 Oct 2015 Christiane Germany
  • Very dirty and poor security.
  • 34%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Arif Bangladesh
  • Horrible excuse for a hostel, dirty, graffiti, not safe and has rats. Would not recommend.
  • 20%
  • 10 Sep 2015 Anonymous England
  • Positive sides: - Location, is excellent since is near to the Dam square (2 minutes walking) Negative sides: - The room wasn't clean at all - The wi-fi doesn't work after the first floor, so no internet for the rest of the building only for the first floor - The toilet/shower room wasn't clean at all
  • 49%
  • 08 Sep 2015 Joana Portugal
  • Had the worst experience there! Super expensive and bad service!
  • 20%
  • 01 Aug 2015 victoria Costa Rica
  • This hostel is more like a coffeeshop instead of a hostel. The reception is in the coffeeshop, which is surely a superise for weed smokers ;) but for a non-smoker, that would be a horrible experience. The female staff is really nice and location is in the centre. But the environment and atmosphere of the hostel room is unacceptable, I will go to the coffeeshop for smoking but won't live in the hostel ever again. If you are able to afford for another hotel room, please do not choose this hostel.
  • 46%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Anonymous China
  • This Hostel is a mess. The Bed was not clean, it smells weird in the room and its hot in there. U have no Board for Clothes or stuff. The TV is an 90s mini TV with half destroyed Buttons. The only good feature they have is the coffeeshop. Thats all they have. So we asked the receptionist to cancel the 2nd Day, because we wanted to check out and search for another. She disagreed everything. So we had to pay full 200 euros for the 2 nights but didnt sleep there. it was impossible.
  • 26%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Stefano Germany
  • Overall good. Little space, but enough if you ar mostly out in the city.
  • 80%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Pontus Sweden
  • Don't stay here, it's like a prison cell, I never met the owner and had to deal with Bob's Hostel down the street to get my key and €20 deposit on the key. On top of that if you have a big bag, good luck getting to the top floor cause it was like we were in the Lord of the rings climbing a mountain.
  • 37%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »