See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Utopia

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 54% from 24 reviews

  • 46%Atmosphere
  • 60%Staff
  • 55%Security
  • 43%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 48%Value for money
  • 43%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was awesome, when they showed up later in the day...The whole thing with checking in at another hostel, SUCKS! It's confusing and time consuming. When I went to check out it was worse, the owner finally showed up, at the door (in his UNDERWEAR) after knocking and having to go to bobs hostel to see what I'm suppose to do ( it was 8:45am), took about 20 mins, and walking back and forth with all my heavy bags! And the door handle feel off my room door, and no locks for the lockers! WORSE!
  • 40%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Casie USA
  • The Hostel itself could be amazing. Its a perfect Location, and a good house. The 8 Bed Dorm is to tight and dark, but the rooms are ok. The staff, the manager in particular is mostly unfrienly, not fair and not trustworthy at all ! Furthermore the WIFI sucks hard. Reception is in the coffeeshop downstairs. Its a good place for stoned people to stay.
  • 43%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Dorian Germany
  • Terribly bad hostel, no reception, just the same woman who is selling the coffeeshop is dealing with the entries without any security, crazy prices for the quality. Bathrooms, is better go over the river.
  • 26%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Olavo Portugal
  • Worst stay of my life
  • 20%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Darick Canada
  • Staff are super-friendly. Location perfect. No fuss, no frills. I will be back!!!
  • 100%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Ana Paula Portugal
  • NEVER AGAIN
  • 20%
  • 30 Aug 2013 Orlando Portugal
  • Rooms were not clean and full of dust. When we went inside the room we could only stand there for 10 mins, then checked out even though we paid for two days. They only gave our 1 day money, and got the rest for 10 mins. Actually, it was our mistake because before pay them we should have checked to room. All in all, it was a really bad experience
  • 31%
  • 07 Aug 2013 mehmet fatih Turkey
  • The recepcionist girl was very arrogant when i ask some information about the city.
  • 57%
  • 05 Aug 2013 Vinicius Brazil
  • Arriving there they ask for a tax of 5.5% in relation of your amount. You are not allow to get before 3am, if you want you need to pay €20 for the key. Some staffs are unfriendly.
  • 69%
  • 05 Aug 2013 Eduardo Brazil
  • overbooking.i transfered to Bob hostel nearby.so got no comment.
  • 60%
  • 20 Jun 2013 MOHD KHAIRULANWAR Malaysia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »