See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Utopia

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 54% from 25 reviews

  • 40%Atmosphere
  • 60%Staff
  • 58%Security
  • 46%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 49%Value for money
  • 40%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Doesn't have wifi on the top floor where the private rooms are even though it says they do the website. (Excuse was that people kept stealing the router... Invest in a lock please). Had a dorm room for the first night and there was no light in the room. There are also no electrical outlets in the rooms so you can't even charge your phone. The woman who checked me in was super nice though.
  • 51%
  • 30 Jul 2016 Troy Andrew USA
  • Awesome location, really cool coffee shop. Apart from that sleeping there was not comfortable and plastic window in the room was something I saw for the first time in my life, when it was raining we had a wet floor in our room.
  • 66%
  • 17 May 2016 Anonymous Poland
  • The hostel is quite ok, if you book in advance and you find a cheap solution it's ok. We booked a single room for two, we had a 1and1/2p bad, then a sink and a tv, nothing where you can put your staff..
  • 60%
  • 03 Apr 2016 Alessio Italy
  • It didn't look anything like in the pictures on their website or the ones I found on Google.
  • 51%
  • 24 Jan 2016 Sophia Germany
  • Simple travellers place. Easy beds. Not too good, not too bad. Simple rooms. Good enough for my standard, since travelling alone and i am used to cheap spots on various location. Staff could be more visuable. Longer opening hours could be an idea. I like the women in the bar. Operating great human support to travellers.
  • 51%
  • 01 Dec 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • Good location, but trash facilities. Making money from tourists
  • 60%
  • 29 Nov 2015 Vadym Ukraine
  • Giving prior warning that there's a 20 Euro deposit fee for the key, would be very helpful. Unfortunately took us somewhat by surprise and were lucky we had the money on us at the time. Also instead of asking for arrival times, if you could say that the Cafe is only open from 6pm that would be great as we thought the Cafe staff were much more approachable than the staff in Bob's Hostel and would have preferred to have checked in with them. Overall our though our 1 night stay was very comfortable
  • 66%
  • 12 Oct 2015 Alix England
  • We stayed there for two nights and we were happy to leave. The room was tiny and the toilet flush (shared toilet) only worked sometimes. The rooms are really cold and the whole atmosphere was horrible. Please put some more effort in the hostel or just close it down and don't let anyone pay a lot of money for that.
  • 40%
  • 05 Oct 2015 Christiane Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »