See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Utopia

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 52% from 38 reviews

  • 41%Atmosphere
  • 55%Staff
  • 56%Security
  • 43%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 45%Value for money
  • 41%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is quite ok, if you book in advance and you find a cheap solution it's ok. We booked a single room for two, we had a 1and1/2p bad, then a sink and a tv, nothing where you can put your staff..
  • 60%
  • 03 Apr 2016 Alessio Italy
  • It didn't look anything like in the pictures on their website or the ones I found on Google.
  • 51%
  • 24 Jan 2016 Sophia Germany
  • Simple travellers place. Easy beds. Not too good, not too bad. Simple rooms. Good enough for my standard, since travelling alone and i am used to cheap spots on various location. Staff could be more visuable. Longer opening hours could be an idea. I like the women in the bar. Operating great human support to travellers.
  • 51%
  • 01 Dec 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • Good location, but trash facilities. Making money from tourists
  • 60%
  • 29 Nov 2015 Vadym Ukraine
  • Giving prior warning that there's a 20 Euro deposit fee for the key, would be very helpful. Unfortunately took us somewhat by surprise and were lucky we had the money on us at the time. Also instead of asking for arrival times, if you could say that the Cafe is only open from 6pm that would be great as we thought the Cafe staff were much more approachable than the staff in Bob's Hostel and would have preferred to have checked in with them. Overall our though our 1 night stay was very comfortable
  • 66%
  • 12 Oct 2015 Alix England
  • We stayed there for two nights and we were happy to leave. The room was tiny and the toilet flush (shared toilet) only worked sometimes. The rooms are really cold and the whole atmosphere was horrible. Please put some more effort in the hostel or just close it down and don't let anyone pay a lot of money for that.
  • 40%
  • 05 Oct 2015 Christiane Germany
  • Very dirty and poor security.
  • 34%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Arif Bangladesh
  • Horrible excuse for a hostel, dirty, graffiti, not safe and has rats. Would not recommend.
  • 20%
  • 10 Sep 2015 Anonymous England
  • Positive sides: - Location, is excellent since is near to the Dam square (2 minutes walking) Negative sides: - The room wasn't clean at all - The wi-fi doesn't work after the first floor, so no internet for the rest of the building only for the first floor - The toilet/shower room wasn't clean at all
  • 49%
  • 08 Sep 2015 Joana Portugal
  • Had the worst experience there! Super expensive and bad service!
  • 20%
  • 01 Aug 2015 victoria Costa Rica
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »