See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Van Gogh

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 87% from 39 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was a nice hostel, not in the city center but near a lot of museums and nice restaurants. There wasnt much of a common area so it was hard to meet people and one bathroom per mixed room was a bit frustrating in the mornings.
  • 89%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • We really enjoyed staying at the Van Gogh Hostel. It was clean, safe and a great location. We really appreciated having a bathroom and personal safe en suite. Would definitely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is more like a hotel; good facilities and professional staff. It is not located in city center, however you can reach there easily because tram station is very close nearby. One dislike is that if you go in couple or group, be prepared to be split to different rooms
  • 94%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous Vietnam
  • This was a great hostel because of how clean it was. Also it is in a great location and I felt very safe there. The bathrooms we're well maintained and I appreciate that.
  • 94%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Alfredo USA
  • Hostel Van Gogh was a good place to stay, but nothing special. The staff was okay, but was not especially welcoming or helpful.
  • 69%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Andrea USA
  • My friend and I had a great stay here while backpacking in Europe. We stayed in the 6 Bed Female Dorm and had no complaints! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the price was great. The hostel is located literally across the street from the Van Gogh museum which is in a very nice area of Amsterdam. If you're not interested in being too close to the coffee shops and Red light district then this is a great place for you.
  • 80%
  • 28 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is amazing my boyfriend and I stayed two nights while backpacking Europe and we had a great experience at Hostel Van Gogh. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms, bedding and facilities are top notch. Breakfast was great and only 5 euros if you pay ahead of time and to top it off free wifi!
  • 97%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • It was a nice place to stay. The rooms are very modern and clean. Breakfast was also fairly okay, definitely for its price. The staff could be more friendly though.
  • 77%
  • 03 Feb 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • This hostel lacks a central "hangout" area aside from the cafeteria, so it feels less homey than other hostels I've stayed at, but for the price it's a clean and convenient place to stay. One of the staff members was consistently brusque, but everyone else was agreeable and helpful.
  • 77%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel/hotel is clean and in a great location. As the other reviews mention the staff is not at all friendly or overly helpful, though they were not rude. This is not a hang out hostel since there is a school across the street but you can't beat how close it is to the museums and downtown area. The directions that they give you when you book are not that helpful - you actually have to walk down the street and turn down a side street to get to the hostel, however, it's not difficult to find.
  • 77%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »