See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Van Gogh

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 81% from 47 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is well located and is not noisy. The facilities are good but were not very clean... There was dust all over the room walls an floor... :( The beds were clean and smelled good.
  • 74%
  • 10 Jun 2016 Anonymous Portugal
  • Hotel shares a street with a nursery - that makes for noisy mornings. Other than that the location is fantastic. Not too close to the centre to be impossible to sleep - but close enough to be able to really enjoy the city, as some key destinations are very close by (van Gogh Museum, Leidseplein, Reijksmuseum, i amsterdam sign..). The wifi isn't very reliable and should be improved. Beds are farily comfortable. Large showers.
  • 71%
  • 18 May 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Do not think the breakfast was worth the ten euros Creasy food fruit was mushy and looked old. Had breakfast once and after that went out in town to a much better satisfying breakfast and coffee
  • 83%
  • 17 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Like others have said, this is a converted hotel. I enjoyed my stay, because the location is fantastic, although this place doesnt really have a hostel vibe, given there is little common area. Just a dining room. The stairs are a deathtrap! Don't get caught descending them while you are not 100%. I stayed in both the 6Bed dorm and a private single. The ensuite bathroom was nice for the single. But was a bit problematic in the 6 bed dorm due to noise & alternating. There are no other bathrooms
  • 63%
  • 25 Apr 2016 Larry USA
  • The sheet had dots, that's one thing I didn't like really.
  • 77%
  • 06 Apr 2016 Khrystyna Ukraine
  • I enjoyed my stay here! The location is amazing, room was very clean, my roommates were super friendly. There isn't a bar or cafe so there wasn't such a social atmosphere. I do wish that there was so that I could have met more people. But I still had a great stay!
  • 80%
  • 03 Jan 2016 Ilana USA
  • Very clean, we were a group of friends of 6 persons. Bathroom really clean and new. Best Hostel
  • 97%
  • 04 Dec 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • I do not like the skinny Asian guy who seemed to be the boss. He's a spaz and annoyingly flamboyant, like a hormonal woman about to pull her hair out. Everyone else at the front desk is phenomenal & informative. Kitchen staff & housekeepers have a negative attitude, but I don't blame them due to the volume of partying young adults & thankfully I only saw them when we crossed paths. The breakfast is worth the extra €5 but no options for vegans except for bread and jelly.
  • 86%
  • 27 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The location is very good. It is right next to the "I Amsterdam" sign and the surrounding museums. It is a 5 minute walk from down town and the red light district. I was impressed with the bathroom, the towels, and the WiFi. I also really liked the ability to store luggage. The beds were snuggly and soft.
  • 94%
  • 23 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The wi-fi doesn't work on the 3d floor. The staff need to learn how to smile and wish visitants a good stay.
  • 91%
  • 23 Oct 2015 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »