See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Van Gogh

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 84% from 67 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We only stayed overnight, but would have loved to stay longer! The hostel is very clean and quiet during the night. There is an Albert Heijn supermarket close by (about a 5 minute walk), which was very convenient as a budget traveler. Being right along the Museumplein offers lots to do right outside your doorstep. I would definitely return to the Hostel Van Gogh!
  • 94%
  • 25 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Very clean, well equipes, good beds, just a little bit far from city center, which was good.
  • 97%
  • 18 May 2015 Ricardo Brazil
  • I'd recommend adding lockers and fixing the smell of sewage coming from the bathrooms, but otherwise it was good.
  • 63%
  • 12 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Clean and nice hostel worth it's value. Easy to reach from the centrum by tram. Breakfast not that good but price only 5€. Half of the staff was very nice - the other half quite rude. Perfect for travellers who want to stay in a clean, peaceful hostel.
  • 71%
  • 03 May 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Over all a good hostel with modern facilities. the staff was friendly and the location for museums was good. A little too far from the city center but a little walk doesn't hurt I guess :)
  • 77%
  • 01 May 2015 Syed Aarish Pakistan
  • Enjoyed my stay here, good factilites and cleanliness. Breakfast is amazing too!
  • 97%
  • 12 Apr 2015 Anonymous India
  • We really enjoyed our stay at Hostel Van Gogh. The location is great, right near Museumplein and within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. The hostel itself doesn't have a ton of atmosphere (the only common space is a pretty sparse lobby/dining room) but it was fine. Our 6-bed private room had everything we needed and was cleaned daily, including towels. Only complaint is that the ensuite bathroom got very wet every time someone took a shower and left the whole room feeling damp.
  • 94%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Katharine USA
  • the staff was helpful. the rooms are really clean but someone should probably repair the door handle of the bathroom and the ventilation in there..
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The best hostel I've been. I felt like I was in a hotel. The stuff was nice & helpful. The dorms were big, modern, comfortable and most important very clean. Breakfast was reach and tasty. The location was great I found my place in Amsterdam.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jan 2015 dorli Germany
  • Clean, organize, great location, nice staff, the breakfast cost 5 euros and is really good, the rooms r very clean and nice. But its a really quiet place yo stay, no party, no music, no bar. Is really good but if u want to party and meet people van gogh its not tha hostel.
  • 94%
  • 28 Jan 2015 Anonymous Chile
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »