See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Van Gogh

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 85% from 61 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We really enjoyed our stay at Hostel Van Gogh. The location is great, right near Museumplein and within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. The hostel itself doesn't have a ton of atmosphere (the only common space is a pretty sparse lobby/dining room) but it was fine. Our 6-bed private room had everything we needed and was cleaned daily, including towels. Only complaint is that the ensuite bathroom got very wet every time someone took a shower and left the whole room feeling damp.
  • 94%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Katharine USA
  • the staff was helpful. the rooms are really clean but someone should probably repair the door handle of the bathroom and the ventilation in there..
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The best hostel I've been. I felt like I was in a hotel. The stuff was nice & helpful. The dorms were big, modern, comfortable and most important very clean. Breakfast was reach and tasty. The location was great I found my place in Amsterdam.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jan 2015 dorli Germany
  • Clean, organize, great location, nice staff, the breakfast cost 5 euros and is really good, the rooms r very clean and nice. But its a really quiet place yo stay, no party, no music, no bar. Is really good but if u want to party and meet people van gogh its not tha hostel.
  • 94%
  • 28 Jan 2015 Anonymous Chile
  • This place is located right next to the three largest and (some would say) best museums of Amsterdam. That is a big plus for me. The staff were friendly and helpful, apart from one episode, where i was smoking weed outside and they got a bit nervous, when i came back in. I of cause was also high as a kite, so definitely not a huge problem. Also there was a bit of partying on fredag and saturday night, but nothing that bothered me at all. Great place to stay. Will be back soon.
  • 83%
  • 20 Jan 2015 Ivan Denmark
  • I had a great stay! The staff was attentive and helpful.
  • 97%
  • 18 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was lucky that my roommates were super down and friendly :) the bunk beds are comfy, the location is awesome right near a bunch of museums (everything else is easily accessible by tram), and the staff is knowledgeable and friendly. the only downer is that it is right next to a school so you'll hear a bunch of kids playing in the morning or in the afternoon so it makes sleeping in or taking an afternoon nap tough. other than that, everything was awesome.
  • 94%
  • 06 Jan 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Fine location, excellent value for money and very friendly staff: I'd certainly book again.
  • 100%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Richard England
  • you must try the brakfast...excellent
  • 97%
  • 28 Nov 2014 MARKO Slovenia
  • All went erally well, except for the attitude of the Asian man at the desk.
  • 83%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »