See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Van Gogh

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 84% from 69 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I enjoyed my stay there.
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Dino Croatia
  • This place was great. En-Suite rooms and towels provided were both great touches, and the lady we dealt with was pleasant, professional and very helpful. Our only issue was that when we stayed in an 8 bed that shouldn't really have been an 8 bed. I was uncomfortably close to the guy beside me. Aside from that the rooms themselves are really well kept.
  • 86%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • It was amazing experience, more than I expected.
  • 89%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Patricia Brazil
  • I have been coming to Amsterdam for almost 7 years now. And have tried many different hostels in the mean time during the summer, winter and spring. Should say that the Hostel Van Gogh is clearly my favorite choice for several reasons: location, price, hygiene, quality of breakfast, staff, comfort of beds, free towels, free soap, clean bathrooms... I would highly recommend it to all, single and couples. XX
  • 97%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Haical Brazil
  • There are safes to lock your wallet and passport in, but no lockers for your bag. The 8 bed is 4 bunk beds in a standard sized hotel room. It's a hotel/hostel so it's hard to meet other travelers. Really comfortable beds though and near a tram stop
  • 69%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Unpleasant Asian receptionist doesn't really care your presence in the hotel. Otherwise it's a good place to stay at, tho a little expensive. It's city center !
  • 69%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Benjamin
  • Nice hostel, easy to find. Not a party hostel but it's really close to the pub crawl (which was very good) so no need to worry if you want to party!
  • 86%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in Europe. Great location, tram/buses crossing the street from the hostel. The rooms were neat, they provided towels, AC, etc. I would definitely stay there every time I go to Amsterdam.
  • 100%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Iris USA
  • My stay at this hostel was great. The location is super close to museums and sights. It's about a 10 minute walk to bats, restaurants, and night life. My only complaint is that due to the way check ins and check outs went (a bed was only empty for a few hours), the actual room was never cleaned, but the beds were. The room seemed to have some random items that belonged to travelers who had been gone already.
  • 80%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It wasn't much of a hostel more like a hotel. There was no hang out area except a kitchen with tons of tables and chairs and it was pretty much just bunk beds in the room nothing decorative so it felt more like a hotel.
  • 71%
  • 13 Jul 2015 mariah USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »