See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Van Gogh

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 85% from 53 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel felt like a hotel -- in fact, it's named the Hotel Van Gogh -- so that came with some pros and cons. Pros: everything is clean, the staff is helpful, and there's plenty of space in the rooms. Cons: there is no atmosphere and the lounge is non-existent. If you're looking for a quiet space this hostel is perfect. Also the location (near the museums, just a short walk away from the vondelpark and city center but not close enough for much noise) is ideal.
  • 94%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Kristen USA
  • Since it's a hotel and not a hostel there are not common areas where you can meet other travelers, apart from breakfast. One thing that really annoyed me while I was there was the shower: the water was freezing on my first night and their excuse was that there were too many people in the shower at the same time. Call me crazy, but this shouldn't happen in a hotel. Location is alright but it's really close to a school, so you might hear screaming children early in the morning.
  • 71%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Luciana Brazil
  • The hostel itself was great. Location nice and quiet. The kindergarten/school made some noise outside, so beware. The night/evening staff we had waiting was not that welcoming. It seemed bit like he would rather be anywhere else. Also the TV in 8pers. room is bit tricky, when 6 people you just met want to watch tv, and you would rather sleep...
  • 77%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • I've realized big hostels aren't my thing. Having no communal area or kitchen made this place feel disconnected, especially as a solo traveller. I met great people in my room but the hostel was sub-par. The staff were rude and though it says they have a kitchen, they don't really. They have a fridge and microwave which was incredibly disappointing. Room was okay. Bed was okay. I couldn't find any communal bathrooms which would've been nice when bathroom in room was occupied. Go to Bulldog!
  • 57%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great experience in amsterdam! We will be back! Sure
  • 100%
  • 13 Aug 2014 marouen Tunisia
  • This was a nice hostel, not in the city center but near a lot of museums and nice restaurants. There wasnt much of a common area so it was hard to meet people and one bathroom per mixed room was a bit frustrating in the mornings.
  • 89%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • We really enjoyed staying at the Van Gogh Hostel. It was clean, safe and a great location. We really appreciated having a bathroom and personal safe en suite. Would definitely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is more like a hotel; good facilities and professional staff. It is not located in city center, however you can reach there easily because tram station is very close nearby. One dislike is that if you go in couple or group, be prepared to be split to different rooms
  • 94%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous Vietnam
  • This was a great hostel because of how clean it was. Also it is in a great location and I felt very safe there. The bathrooms we're well maintained and I appreciate that.
  • 94%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Alfredo USA
  • Hostel Van Gogh was a good place to stay, but nothing special. The staff was okay, but was not especially welcoming or helpful.
  • 69%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Andrea USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »