See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Van Gogh

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 84% from 67 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I do not like the skinny Asian guy who seemed to be the boss. He's a spaz and annoyingly flamboyant, like a hormonal woman about to pull her hair out. Everyone else at the front desk is phenomenal & informative. Kitchen staff & housekeepers have a negative attitude, but I don't blame them due to the volume of partying young adults & thankfully I only saw them when we crossed paths. The breakfast is worth the extra €5 but no options for vegans except for bread and jelly.
  • 86%
  • 27 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The location is very good. It is right next to the "I Amsterdam" sign and the surrounding museums. It is a 5 minute walk from down town and the red light district. I was impressed with the bathroom, the towels, and the WiFi. I also really liked the ability to store luggage. The beds were snuggly and soft.
  • 94%
  • 23 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The wi-fi doesn't work on the 3d floor. The staff need to learn how to smile and wish visitants a good stay.
  • 91%
  • 23 Oct 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • The breakfast is fine. However, rooms could be a bit cleaner, but still ok.
  • 80%
  • 12 Sep 2015 Stephan Germany
  • I enjoyed my stay there.
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Dino Croatia
  • This place was great. En-Suite rooms and towels provided were both great touches, and the lady we dealt with was pleasant, professional and very helpful. Our only issue was that when we stayed in an 8 bed that shouldn't really have been an 8 bed. I was uncomfortably close to the guy beside me. Aside from that the rooms themselves are really well kept.
  • 86%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • It's a hotel with some hostel-converted rooms, so not the typical backpacker's hostel. It was very clean (I mean VERY) and easy to get to on public transit, right next to a tram stop - and a supermarket. Good if you want a convenient place to sleep and cleanliness and quiet is a priority.
  • 80%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was amazing experience, more than I expected.
  • 89%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Patricia Brazil
  • I have been coming to Amsterdam for almost 7 years now. And have tried many different hostels in the mean time during the summer, winter and spring. Should say that the Hostel Van Gogh is clearly my favorite choice for several reasons: location, price, hygiene, quality of breakfast, staff, comfort of beds, free towels, free soap, clean bathrooms... I would highly recommend it to all, single and couples. XX
  • 97%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Haical Brazil
  • There are safes to lock your wallet and passport in, but no lockers for your bag. The 8 bed is 4 bunk beds in a standard sized hotel room. It's a hotel/hostel so it's hard to meet other travelers. Really comfortable beds though and near a tram stop
  • 69%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »