See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Van Gogh

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 81% from 42 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very comfortable room and bathroom, everything very clean as well. Staff were nice and helpful, breakfast was great. Great location if you want to visit museums. 20 minutes by foot to the centre.
  • 86%
  • 08 Jul 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • Great location and staff! Was not very clean and was overrun with high school students at the time we were there.
  • 77%
  • 27 Jun 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Excellent location near Museumplein, supermarkets and even restaurants. The hostel is very clean and has a very professional staff. The only "issue" is that the hostel looks like a HOTEL where you share your room with other people, not a problem to me.
  • 91%
  • 19 Jun 2016 Anonymous Brazil
  • The hostel is well located and is not noisy. The facilities are good but were not very clean... There was dust all over the room walls an floor... :( The beds were clean and smelled good.
  • 74%
  • 10 Jun 2016 Anonymous Portugal
  • Hotel shares a street with a nursery - that makes for noisy mornings. Other than that the location is fantastic. Not too close to the centre to be impossible to sleep - but close enough to be able to really enjoy the city, as some key destinations are very close by (van Gogh Museum, Leidseplein, Reijksmuseum, i amsterdam sign..). The wifi isn't very reliable and should be improved. Beds are farily comfortable. Large showers.
  • 71%
  • 18 May 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Do not think the breakfast was worth the ten euros Creasy food fruit was mushy and looked old. Had breakfast once and after that went out in town to a much better satisfying breakfast and coffee
  • 83%
  • 17 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Like others have said, this is a converted hotel. I enjoyed my stay, because the location is fantastic, although this place doesnt really have a hostel vibe, given there is little common area. Just a dining room. The stairs are a deathtrap! Don't get caught descending them while you are not 100%. I stayed in both the 6Bed dorm and a private single. The ensuite bathroom was nice for the single. But was a bit problematic in the 6 bed dorm due to noise & alternating. There are no other bathrooms
  • 63%
  • 25 Apr 2016 Larry USA
  • The sheet had dots, that's one thing I didn't like really.
  • 77%
  • 06 Apr 2016 Khrystyna Ukraine
  • I enjoyed my stay here! The location is amazing, room was very clean, my roommates were super friendly. There isn't a bar or cafe so there wasn't such a social atmosphere. I do wish that there was so that I could have met more people. But I still had a great stay!
  • 80%
  • 03 Jan 2016 Ilana USA
  • Very clean, we were a group of friends of 6 persons. Bathroom really clean and new. Best Hostel
  • 97%
  • 04 Dec 2015 Anonymous Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »