See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Van Gogh

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 84% from 69 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in Europe. Great location, tram/buses crossing the street from the hostel. The rooms were neat, they provided towels, AC, etc. I would definitely stay there every time I go to Amsterdam.
  • 100%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Iris USA
  • My stay at this hostel was great. The location is super close to museums and sights. It's about a 10 minute walk to bats, restaurants, and night life. My only complaint is that due to the way check ins and check outs went (a bed was only empty for a few hours), the actual room was never cleaned, but the beds were. The room seemed to have some random items that belonged to travelers who had been gone already.
  • 80%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It wasn't much of a hostel more like a hotel. There was no hang out area except a kitchen with tons of tables and chairs and it was pretty much just bunk beds in the room nothing decorative so it felt more like a hotel.
  • 71%
  • 13 Jul 2015 mariah USA
  • I had a pretty good experience at this hostel. The bathrooms are located in the rooms, which was nice. The staff was very helpful and nice. You get a nice new towel every day, and breakfast was good (5 euro daily). Amsterdam is a great place to visit, and this is a nice place to stay. The only thing is that the Hostel Van Gogh is kind of far away from a lot of the fun stuff in the city center (about a 30 min walk).
  • 86%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Oyinlolu USA
  • We only stayed overnight, but would have loved to stay longer! The hostel is very clean and quiet during the night. There is an Albert Heijn supermarket close by (about a 5 minute walk), which was very convenient as a budget traveler. Being right along the Museumplein offers lots to do right outside your doorstep. I would definitely return to the Hostel Van Gogh!
  • 94%
  • 25 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Very clean, well equipes, good beds, just a little bit far from city center, which was good.
  • 97%
  • 18 May 2015 Ricardo Brazil
  • I'd recommend adding lockers and fixing the smell of sewage coming from the bathrooms, but otherwise it was good.
  • 63%
  • 12 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Clean and nice hostel worth it's value. Easy to reach from the centrum by tram. Breakfast not that good but price only 5€. Half of the staff was very nice - the other half quite rude. Perfect for travellers who want to stay in a clean, peaceful hostel.
  • 71%
  • 03 May 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Over all a good hostel with modern facilities. the staff was friendly and the location for museums was good. A little too far from the city center but a little walk doesn't hurt I guess :)
  • 77%
  • 01 May 2015 Syed Aarish Pakistan
  • Enjoyed my stay here, good factilites and cleanliness. Breakfast is amazing too!
  • 97%
  • 12 Apr 2015 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »