See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel Van Gogh

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 84% from 54 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • you must try the brakfast...excellent
  • 97%
  • 28 Nov 2014 MARKO Slovenia
  • All went erally well, except for the attitude of the Asian man at the desk.
  • 83%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice staff and clean! Easy to commute to the airport!
  • 97%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Yidan
  • Stayed in a 8 person coed room for two nights. We paid an insane amount for the very basic accommodation, but it was during the Amsterdam Dance Event, so this was actually the cheapest option we could find for 4 people. Lack of air conditioning was a bit uncomfortable if we did not have the windows open. The inside of my lock was dirty, and my pillow had a hair on it, so cleanliness wise I was a irked. I would give a higher value rating if we didn't pay double the regular amount.
  • 69%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We were in amsterdam for 3 nights, and booked a room for 6 people. It was what we expected and really enjoyed our stay. Room was cleaned daily, fresh towels and we had a shower ensuite which seemed to be recently renovated. Size of the room was decent and had space to move around, as we were all friends we didnt have too much trouble with being worried about leaving some stuff out! there weren't any lockers, only a safe, which iis enough if you're sharing a room with strangers. Location is good!
  • 77%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Anonymous Malta
  • The hostel felt like a hotel -- in fact, it's named the Hotel Van Gogh -- so that came with some pros and cons. Pros: everything is clean, the staff is helpful, and there's plenty of space in the rooms. Cons: there is no atmosphere and the lounge is non-existent. If you're looking for a quiet space this hostel is perfect. Also the location (near the museums, just a short walk away from the vondelpark and city center but not close enough for much noise) is ideal.
  • 94%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Kristen USA
  • Since it's a hotel and not a hostel there are not common areas where you can meet other travelers, apart from breakfast. One thing that really annoyed me while I was there was the shower: the water was freezing on my first night and their excuse was that there were too many people in the shower at the same time. Call me crazy, but this shouldn't happen in a hotel. Location is alright but it's really close to a school, so you might hear screaming children early in the morning.
  • 71%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Luciana Brazil
  • The hostel itself was great. Location nice and quiet. The kindergarten/school made some noise outside, so beware. The night/evening staff we had waiting was not that welcoming. It seemed bit like he would rather be anywhere else. Also the TV in 8pers. room is bit tricky, when 6 people you just met want to watch tv, and you would rather sleep...
  • 77%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • It was so close to the Van Gogh museum. When I stayed there, I could also walk to the center. I met so many people in the hostel. Check out their all-you-can-eat buffet for breakfast. I didn't have any complaints about this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • I've realized big hostels aren't my thing. Having no communal area or kitchen made this place feel disconnected, especially as a solo traveller. I met great people in my room but the hostel was sub-par. The staff were rude and though it says they have a kitchen, they don't really. They have a fridge and microwave which was incredibly disappointing. Room was okay. Bed was okay. I couldn't find any communal bathrooms which would've been nice when bathroom in room was occupied. Go to Bulldog!
  • 57%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »