See other San Jose properties

Hostel Van Gogh

7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose, Costa Rica, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 90% from 18 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I ended up there because two other hostels I often stay at were full. I was extremely pleasantly surprised. Very nicely done. Clean, quiet. Excellent mattresses. Great owner. It's definitely on the top of my list to stay again.
  • 94%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Patricia USA
  • The hostel has a great relaxed atmosphere. Its located right in the center of San Jose. It looks very charming and the staff is amazing.
  • 100%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Sonja USA
  • The hostel is located very near to the city center. David, the owner, is phenomenal. He is very knowledgeable, friendly, and fiercely proud of his country. I would recommend this hostel to everyone.
  • 97%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Clean place, secure entry but no lockers dorms. Breakfast OK but too late to catch early transport out of San José which is mandatory for many routes. Not really near anything of consequence except Caribbean bus terminal (which is why I stayed there) but San José is lame anyway. Not the best value either, other places in CR I usually paid $10-12 for my own room. WiFi not totally reliable, mattresses are 4" thin pieces of foam.
  • 69%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Beware if you have a later flight yet will not answer even if you have a reservation. We had reservation and got in at around midnight but we knocked and rang the bell all with no answer. After 10 minutes we left and had to find another ogle. This was very frustrating!!!
  • 46%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent stay! One of the best hostels I stayed in on my trip to Costa Rica.
  • 97%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anne USA
  • It is a great hostel! The owner David is very nice, and very helpful, he knows everything there is to know about San Jose. It is the top hostels I've stayed in during my trip in Costa Rica. Everything is clean, the showers are fantastic. I highly recommend it!
  • 97%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • extremely good hostel - very clean, owner very very friendly. ask others for advice though as well as him as many minds make easier work. Breakfast was speedy and the coffee great . overall an excellent hostel and i will certainly be back.
  • 97%
  • 07 Jan 2014 Helen England
  • David the owner/receptionist/chef is awesome. The place is very clean and has an awesome atmosphere Only stayed for one night but would def stay again
  • 100%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I I would very much recommend this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 25 Dec 2013 melody USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »