See other Panama City properties

Hostel Villa Vento Surf

Marbella, Calle 47, Casa 7, Panama City, Panama, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 88% from 22 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel had VERY helpful and friendly staff who really seemed interested to speak with the guests. The pool was a GREAT bonus, since it gets very warm in the afternoon with no air conditioning. And if the pool doesn't cool you off enough, there is a big air conditioned mall only 5 minutes away, so the location is good! Also, the bathrooms were always kept clean, as well as the common areas, which always is a good sign at a hostel. There were lockers available, but they were a bit small.
  • 86%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Autumn USA
  • Honestly can't say enough good about this place. I recommend it 100%!!!! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We loved it here.
  • 100%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Leah Canada
  • Staff was very friendly and helpful.
  • 83%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Christian Germany
  • Perfect hostel with a swimming pool and great staff members. If youre going to Panama City you should check it out. Not superbusy or loud at night. Highly recommended.
  • 91%
  • 21 Jan 2014 Johan Sweden
  • The rooms upstairs in the front side are connected. People have to get through the first room to go to the second room, which is noisy and annoying. Didn't get much sleep but I guess I got what I paid for.
  • 69%
  • 17 Jan 2014 Pon Thailand
  • The staff is very helpful and the pool is a great place to recover from the hangover you earned at one of the many bars, clubs, and restaurants near by. You can stay there with no plans at all. Just wake up in the morning and ask the staff what is cool to do in Panama. They will make a recommendation and help you with the details. This is a very safe part of town too. I drunkenly stumbled back to the hostel alone at 4am multiple times with no problems at all.
  • 94%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Mehdi USA
  • This Hostel is a really awesome place to stay. All the travelers that come through this place are insanely nice. It is the only hostel in the city that is actually close to everything in the city. If you wanna go out, it's a 10 min. walk to the nightlife. Comfy couches, pool is great, has A/C, coffee and pancakes in the morning. It is so safe...I am a 22 year old girl and I could walk around to get food etc... at like 9 p.m. Staff are really helpful with anything you want to do.
  • 94%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Minisha USA
  • The staff is just terrible, they look like they don't want you there, they put rules like you can't bring your own alcohol and put ridicously high price alcohol. Thats too bad because the spot is great facing the beach (cant swim there though) I wouldnt go back
    Owner Comment

    hi i think you are confused about the hostel you are reviewing, first we are in panama city not the beach (i wish we where on the beach), second we let the guests bring there own alcohol, third we only sell beer for 1$

  • 54%
  • 16 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel is in a safe location, but definitely do not expect to go right outside your door and be indluged with Panamanian culinary delicacies. The hostel is located right next to all expensive and EXTREMELY Americanized bars. If you are looking to pay for a lady for an evening's worth of entertainment, there is a bar notorious for this filled with $400 per hour Columbians. You will be miserable if you do not reserve a room with AC. I not even once was able to have a hot shower, always cold.
  • 71%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Austin USA
  • Very nice place in a safe district of Panama city. Hostel is not big, but quite cozy and really clean. Rooms are comfortable and there you'll meet people from all over the world. And the staff is friendly and helpfull - will answer all your questions and give great advices!
  • 94%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous Lithuania
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »