See other Athens properties

Hostel Zeus

27 Sofokleous St, Athens, Greece, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 76% from 20 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location and friendly staff. Air-condition available for a small extra charge. Everything was fairly clean. Nothing to complain about, would stay again.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Jaakko Finland
  • Zeus hostel is a great place to meet people and the staff can provide information. In my room the air conditioning wasn't working so it was very hot and humid. The showers were not so clean and the doors did not close. There were only two outlets in my room for 4 beds. The location is good, it is in the middle of two metro stops and is about a 10 minute walk from one of the main plazas in Athens, also close to a bar area. be aware wi-fi doesn't reach the rooms. I never felt unsafe.
  • 74%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff were all really nice and someone working there signed us up for a free walking tour of Athens which was amazing. However, air conditioning is 4 euros a night. The building is so humid you can't sleep without it. Also the bathrooms were terrible. None of the doors locked. The showers didn't lock and didn't have lights in them so you had to leave the door open anyway to see. And two of the showers didn't have faucets. Literally water came out of a pipe. It was difficult to say the least.
  • 66%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Virginia USA
  • If you just want a decent place to crash, this is perfect. The staff is really nice. Would go back.
  • 89%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Did not stay at the hostel however they were quite inflexible when I ended up at the wrong hostel because of false advertising on this website.
  • 60%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Arden
  • Fantastic value for money. Very basic but perfect if you're staying 1 or 2 nights and on a budget. Not a great area but I was okay being a single female. Great wifi. And a really nice rooftop area to meet people and chat. No kitchen and only one key per room. Luggage storage during day pretty secure. Close to Monstriaki metro and square and not far from Accropolis (20-30 min walk).
  • 83%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Jocelyn Australia
  • So this hostel is located on the cusp of a pretty shady area, in fact you're advised not to go left at all when leaving the hospital (I did, and survived). Very close to Monastiraki Square. Hostel sells beer for super cheap, and people can chill and drink on the roof top. Mildly annoying that there's only one key per room, so if your dorm mate takes off with the key (which happens) you have to get them to bring up the spare key. Cleaning lady is super diligent and handles business everyday.
  • 89%
  • 25 May 2014 Susan Canada
  • Really enjoyed my stay here. Had heard from some of the locals that it used to have a reputation for prostitutes, but that was over a decade ago. I didn't see or hear of any activity of that sort. Wi-fi signal was weak in the rooms, but that lead to travelers congregating in the wide marble stairwell. It lacked a common area but the stairwell did the trick. Rooms and bathrooms were clean the entire time I was there (3 nights).
  • 83%
  • 06 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The bedrooms were nice, but the showers and toilets were horrible. The staff were ok but seemed a little disinterested. Its fairly close to everything in Athens, if you're not a fan of walking I suggest the metro. Overall it's what I expected for 7€ a night.
  • 54%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • you get what you pay! it's safe, quite and clean. The staff is very friendly. It's very valuable.
  • 77%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »