See other Athens properties

Hostel Zeus

27 Sofokleous St, Athens, Greece, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 71% from 14 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Within walking distance of most major sights in Athens, with several affordable eateries along the way. It is about 6 minutes from Monastiraki metro, on the same line as the stops for Piraeus port and Bus terminal B, should one wish to do day trips to Aegina island or Delphi respectively. Staff were friendly and helpful when approached, and performed efficiently. However, the dorm's windows could not be shut and had no curtains, so there were mosquitoes and bright light from the hotel opposite.
  • 74%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Free tour was nice.
  • 80%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Facilities could be better. Few bathrooms and toilets were closed. They were not repaired during my three night stay. Also in one shower room in the space where you're supposed to dress there was water floating on the floor. Valuables can be left to the reception which is a good thing. In rooms there are no lockers. Also only one key per room. Last person who leaves the room crabs the key and gives it to reception. I had no problems with this system. Rooftob terrace is nice.
  • 69%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • There is no kitchen in the hostel, but at least the staff allowed me to use their fridge. The room that I was had confortable beds, a sink and a wardrobe, was ok. The bathroons were a little dirty, but because of the guests I think. The location is not the best one, some people are afraid to walk around at night, but I had no problems.
  • 71%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Las habitaciones no estaban mal y la ubicación está muy bien porque puedes ir andando a todos los sitios. Pero los baños no estaban muy limpios y las duchas daban un poco de asco.
  • 69%
  • 07 May 2015 laura maria Spain
  • Good location and staff very knowledgable about the city and practical arrangements. But the facilities were not very clean and nice, also very cold and problems with showers not working etc. And no place to "hang out"/sit - which was dull especially since Wifi did not work in the dorm...
  • 49%
  • 06 Apr 2015 Maria Sweden
  • The only thing I liked about this hostel was the location. Right near the square, and the station.However, There was no kitchen, not even a microwave or kettle. The bed linen just consists of a pillow and a medium thickness throw blanket (the kind you don't wash frequently). I was freezing when I was there! absolutely freezing - made it so hard to sleep!! The bathrooms were bad half the time I went in there. dirt and hair in the sink and all sorts of stuff on the seat and in the bowl. Wifi +meh
  • 57%
  • 11 Jan 2015 Julie Australia
  • Good location, stuff are nice, very helpful Toilets + shower are dirty, smelly,water everywhere just 2 shower for all floor ( around 5 rooms + 4 to 6 each room ). An also, you need to get undress an dress inside of the shower. People smoke everywhere.
  • 57%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Anonymous Chile
  • This is a very nice hostel and really worth the few money. The staff is nice and helpfull, the hostel is located directly in the center of Monastiraki. Everything seems to be quite clean. I booked the cheapest kind of room, which also only has four beds. In the three nights I spent there, there was no situation when all the beds where occupied, and one night, I was alone in the room (but it was already november).
  • 89%
  • 12 Nov 2014 Sinah Gabriele Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »