See other Merida properties

Hostel Zocalo

Calle 63 #508, between 62 and 60, on the main plaza, Merida, Mexico, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 90% from 16 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 100%Location
  • 97%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed here in a private room. If I did it again, I would opt for the dorms. Closer to the restrooms, etc, and just overall better value. Excellent breakfast - I have never seen so many fruit options. Especially at a hostel!
  • 80%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Paige USA
  • Great hostel. Perfect location in a gorgeous old building. Nice breakfast with fresh fruit. Room was nice and staff were helpful and friendly.
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff works hard to keep it clean and provide great service. Breakfast is unbelievable. I stayed week longer!
  • 97%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anais
  • This is a great place to stay and the tours you can book there are a great value.
  • 97%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Best breakfast in Latin America!
  • 97%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • We had a great week! Our only problem was when to leave!! We kept adding " one last day" :-))) Sooo many things to do around and the place felt like home. Great staff to practice spanish with. Everything is spotless clean & breakfast is wowww! Thanks to everyone of you :-))) Michèle & Robert Canada
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Great location, nice atmosphere in this old building. Wonderful breakfast. Still curtains instead of doors in men's toilet though.
  • 83%
  • 26 Nov 2013 Anonymous Netherlands
  • This is a beautiful hostel in the perfect setting on the main square in Mérida. It is a large hostel, so there are plenty of opportunities to meet people. Breakfast is awesome and the wi-fi was better than many of the Mexican hostels that I have stayed in. Although friendly, the staff did not seem to know a lot about the area, giving poor instructions to collectivo locations and sites around the city. The bus prices that they given you are also terribly out of date.
  • 83%
  • 15 Aug 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • good!!!!!!!!! staffs are very friendly!!! especially thanks for jhoel :)!!! and breakfast was very very nice!!! and staffs are still friendly and kind!!!!!! and the dorm room is nice. because they didn´t use a 2nd floor bed. about female dorm. anyway i was satisfied about this hostel!!!! I like it!!!
  • 80%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great location, great breakfast, great opportunity to meet and socialize with other guests. Facilities are somewhat past their prime but the staff is great.
  • 80%
  • 04 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »