See other San Diego properties

Hostel on 3rd

542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 86% from 18 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a fantastic time at this hostel. The main room downstairs is cozy and nice. The roooms are clean and the twin privates have dressers and sinks. There are only two shared bathrooms, which is kind of a pain. They give you free cereal and pancakes for breakfast, and they were nice in allowing us to drop our bags off and change before check-in time. Deposit is reasonable, location is excellent. Very happy with this hostel!
  • 94%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Kristin USA
  • Very nice place and kind workers.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • They have a very late check in (4p) and repeatedly told us its because they are busy cleaning the rooms, however when we arrived in our (private, two person ) room it was filthy. There was hair in the sink, and toothpaste still in sink. The floor was coated in sand.The had obviously not cleaned the room. However the staff were nice, we didn't bother to make them come back and clean the room because we were leaving ver early in the morning, so just wanted to sleep. If we stayed longer we complain
  • 54%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Alana USA
  • Very happy with the hostel -- especially with James who runs the place. I've traveled to over 15 countries and stayed at many hostels, but never before have I had as attentive & helpful a host as James. I especially was thankful that he was kind enough to give me a room in a quiet part of the hostel, since I had to wake up early. My room was great, and there was a nice big closet where I could store some clothes & suitcases. They also had free breakfast & an AWESOME lobby area! Great hostel!
  • 100%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • it was great . i used private room for 2persons. it was my best hostel ever. th size of the room was so big and one big drawer and a washstand were included. perfect and location is pretty good for public transportation
  • 100%
  • 06 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • It was a nice place, our first experiencie in a hostel. And for sure we recomend it!! The personal so kind!
  • 83%
  • 06 May 2014 mayte Mexico
  • No complaints at all! The hostel is right on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter so you'll definitely hear noise at night, but it isn't anything unbearable. Breakfast every morning was great, the bathrooms were clean and I never had to wait to use one. The staff was very friendly and accommodating for when I had to check out early due to a 7 AM flight -- I will definitely stay again the next time I'm in San Diego. Thanks for everything!
  • 100%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Janae USA
  • The hostel was extremely noisy Friday night until well after midnight inside the building. The weekday was not bad. It was spittle warm in the room a few nights even with the windows open.
  • 74%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a very positive experience. The facilities were very nice. The staff was very helpful. The kitchen area was fabulous. The location to downtown San Diego was fabulous. The parking was not great. Prepare to ask the staff when you check in how to best avoid parking ticket issues.
  • 89%
  • 17 Feb 2014 todd USA
  • We were just there for an over-night so not much time was actually spent in the hostel, but everything was nice and clean when we checked in and check out was very smooth. James did his best to make sure we had a comfortable stay. Def worth the money and I would stay there again! It is a little hard to find street parking but a garage on 4th is only $20 for overnight. The Gaslamp Quarter is an adorable district, a little noisy late into the morning hours but we have a grand time! :)
  • 89%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »