See other San Diego properties

Hostel on 3rd

542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 69% from 24 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Don't work cctv. I lost my cell phone. So dangerous. Room is very hot,and dirty. My room maximum 4people. But last day my room more people stay.. I don't know. Don't say to me. Credit card need to 3 doller. I think worst hostel in San diego.
  • 20%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • worst hostel
  • 29%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Wouldn't recommend anyone stay here. Staff were some of the rudest I've ever met. These weren't just one off incidents either. It's a shame too because the facilities were great. The management are ruining it though by treating it like a hotel. We were told to turn the music down at 730 and then the next day a clearly fake note was put up saying the police would enter the building and take names of anyone who is too loud. If you're looking to have a good time book anywhere but here.
  • 49%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Jarrod Australia
  • staff were made me uncomfortable as if they were keeping an eye me for someone else comments out of tune w situation
  • 63%
  • 11 Jun 2015 camille USA
  • One of the worst wifi I've ever had. Otherwise a very good place to stay
  • 83%
  • 01 May 2015 kenneth Australia
  • Very helpful and friendly staff. Not far from bus/train and good restaurants.
  • 83%
  • 28 Apr 2015 Pauline Sweden
  • Excellent location right in the Gaslamp District of San Diego. The Staff was very helpful and accommodating. I recommend this hostel if you want an affordable stay.
  • 94%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Jayme USA
  • Unclean, unfriendly, not worth your money. Will not refund for early cancellation and not really aware how to run and operate a hostel. Location ideal, but they won't succeed until they address issues of noise, cleanliness, and customer service.
  • 43%
  • 15 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We booked our stay at the Hostel on 3rd because we wanted to be close to the SDCC. We enjoy a hostel stay instead of a traditional hotel because of the interaction with people from all over the world and the home setting. James, Sean, Chris, Mai and now Johanna, are an exceptional staff. Personable, knowledgeable about the area and attentive at all hours of the day. Mai keeps the hostel clean and the laundry freshly done. Looking forward to seeing them next year!
  • 100%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I have stayed in better. No atmosphere and little information and interaction with the staff. Cleaned only once daily, by morning the toilets get grubby very quickly and don't get cleaned until about 3pm.
  • 57%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »