See other San Diego properties

Hostel on 3rd

542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 80% from 29 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • it was great . i used private room for 2persons. it was my best hostel ever. th size of the room was so big and one big drawer and a washstand were included. perfect and location is pretty good for public transportation
  • 100%
  • 06 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • It was a nice place, our first experiencie in a hostel. And for sure we recomend it!! The personal so kind!
  • 83%
  • 06 May 2014 mayte Mexico
  • Good kitchen and a nice porch in the building where you sleep. In the main building there was a big room with pool and TV but noone used it. The staff was nice and good to help with finding way and activities.
  • 71%
  • 02 May 2014 Signe Kristine Denmark
  • No complaints at all! The hostel is right on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter so you'll definitely hear noise at night, but it isn't anything unbearable. Breakfast every morning was great, the bathrooms were clean and I never had to wait to use one. The staff was very friendly and accommodating for when I had to check out early due to a 7 AM flight -- I will definitely stay again the next time I'm in San Diego. Thanks for everything!
  • 100%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Janae USA
  • The hostel was extremely noisy Friday night until well after midnight inside the building. The weekday was not bad. It was spittle warm in the room a few nights even with the windows open.
  • 74%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a very positive experience. The facilities were very nice. The staff was very helpful. The kitchen area was fabulous. The location to downtown San Diego was fabulous. The parking was not great. Prepare to ask the staff when you check in how to best avoid parking ticket issues.
  • 89%
  • 17 Feb 2014 todd USA
  • We were just there for an over-night so not much time was actually spent in the hostel, but everything was nice and clean when we checked in and check out was very smooth. James did his best to make sure we had a comfortable stay. Def worth the money and I would stay there again! It is a little hard to find street parking but a garage on 4th is only $20 for overnight. The Gaslamp Quarter is an adorable district, a little noisy late into the morning hours but we have a grand time! :)
  • 89%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Went here for New Years and had a blast. Thank you - John
  • 100%
  • 31 Dec 2013 John USA
  • Good location, my first time. The only thing I could really complain about is the smell. It was horrible, it stayed on my clothes and I had to go out and buy a air freashner. Over all good experience and would only stay there again for one night the most .
  • 66%
  • 27 Dec 2013 hugo Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »