See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel the Globe Center

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 58% from 15 reviews

  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 57%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 46%Value for money
  • 52%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There is no lock of the room door. And there are 18 beds in one room but I booked for 8 beds. Downstairs is a bar and very noisy. I won't back here any more.
  • 46%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Anonymous China
  • 1. It was too hot in the room. We had to sit outside the room in the middle of the night to get some fresh air. 2. The room had a really small window facing a shaft, so we had no emergency exit. 3. Good location in the Red Light District.
  • 57%
  • 04 Aug 2013 Karwan Norway
  • Nice place but I feel you could find a cheaper one just as nice with just as decent a location
  • 74%
  • 28 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This is not a Hostel!! It's a Hotel and there is a big difference... No kitchen for guests, not cozy, lots of weird guys but of course you can find good friends! It's really close to the Red Light District, but that can be good depending on your style The first floor is a good irish sports bar and a good smoker's room The rooms are simple but efficients, so it's not a hotel that I wouldn't recommend, just not to everybody
  • 63%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Couldn't use the lockers unless you rented a lock at a cost of 5euros. Good location but staff were dismissive at best and unimaginably rude most of the time. The morning after we arrived the water went off and the staff didn't seem to care. Floor was filthy, no A/C so was almost impossible to sleep at night, no atmosphere in the bar. Apparently you could get food in the bar but the two times we tried, were told the chef had gone home early, even though the staff were sat at bar eating. Awful.
  • 34%
  • 21 Jul 2013 Anonymous England
  • Our room (5 bed private) was extremely hot and stuffy and there weren't any window to get fresh air.
  • 74%
  • 14 Jul 2013 Mert Turkey
  • rooms are far too small for the amount of people they hold.
  • 57%
  • 09 Jul 2013 joseph England
  • I traveled in Europe for over a month and stayed here for one night, maybe four hours, and it was the worst night of the trip. It was filthy, i woke up with bug bites from head to toe. didnt even shower because the showers were dirty. Not on my list of recommendations..
  • 34%
  • 11 Jun 2013 Eric USA
  • Great location, right in the Red Light District and a 10 minute walk to the central train station. The hostel is on top of a bar, but despite the music downstairs, it is nice and quiet (and we were on the 1st floor). There is 24 hour reception, free WiFi, and the room was clean and the bathroom seemed brand new. You also get discounts on food and drinks at the bar downstairs.
  • 91%
  • 02 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »