See other Amsterdam properties

Hostel the Globe Center

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 73% from 28 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • You should have a separate entrance to the hostel, going through a bar to the reception does not invoke a lot of confidence. That's why we didn't want to stay!!! Also your method of piling up customer's bags at the bottom of the staircase, where everybody has access is a terrible procedure!
  • 46%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous Austria
  • This hostel has a great location; it is very close to the central station and the Red Light District is just 5minutes away by foot. However, the facilities could be a lot better. I stayed in an bunk bed and there were no stairs to go to the upper bed. Even though it was possible to climb up it was not cat all comfortable. You can find better places to stay at the same price, but not with the same location.
  • 83%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Rodrigo Brazil
  • The toilette was awfull, very dirty. the beds were ok and confortable.
  • 71%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Staff not nice at all, just give you what you need, nothing more and not sympathetic at all. During one of the nights that I was staying there, there was a fight in the corridor, people screaming and it took some long minutes for staff to appear. It is not possible to leave your luggage in the luggage room after 6pm when you check out. There is no wifi in the dorms too.
  • 57%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Raquel Brazil
  • the asian girl in the reception is not kind in any way!! she answers agressively and doesn't help at all. It's very sad because the hostel is in general good.
  • 86%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Me and some of my buddies stayed here for a few days during our trip around Europe. Excellent place, great location and comfortable beds. Would definitely recommend for any one looking for a low cost hostel.
  • 91%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Nehemias USA
  • The staff we encountered were rude and unhelpful. The hostel was dirty.
  • 63%
  • 10 Dec 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Clean, basic hostel.I found the staff to be rude, the bathrooms were not cleaned once while we stayed there. People in our dorm slept all day so lights could not be used in the room. Would not recommend unless you are as desperate as we were to find a place to stay
  • 54%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • They tell you to show your room card to get in. But when you do the staff acts super annoyed that you are asking them to do anything.
  • 60%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Keegan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »