See other Philadelphia properties

Hostelling International - Chamounix Mansion

3250 Chamounix Drive, West Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.4km

Rating: 88% from 16 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place is located in Fairmount Park, about 15 minute walk from the bus stop. Quiet location. Great staff.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The location is BEAUTIFUL, surrounded by nature, but a little far from the tourist attractions of Philly. You really need a car if you plan to stay here. or a bike if you are an avid biker. The room i stayed in was loud, not because of the occupants, but just in general. for example, the floors and doors creek badly, and the door tends to slam shut even if you try to be gentle. i really recommend ear plugs just because of the house itself. for a nice, relaxing stay, go for it.
  • 77%
  • 29 May 2015 Nicole USA
  • It was a lovely place, amazing staff and a memorable stay. Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 09 Apr 2015 Afsaneh Iran
  • i had a really good time there , the staff are awesome , the location in the middle of the wood, just the perfect place to be if you want a get away all nature....
  • 97%
  • 27 Nov 2014 el hassan France
  • The hostel is pretty far away from Philadelphia, but possible to reach. Furthermore, it´s cheap and we really liked our stay there. Once you reached it after a one mile walk from the bus station it feels like being in nature. I´m not going to Philadelphia again, but I would definitely recommend this hostel to everybody, who doesn´t want to or cannot spend much money.
  • 83%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I wish I had a car during my stay here at the Chamounix Mansion - the long walks to and from the hostel got kind of tiring by the end of my 5-day stay. Other than that, though, not a single complaint to be had!
  • 94%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Lovely location but far away from transport links
  • 69%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Natasha England
  • I love the appearance of the hostel!!! It was really beautiful!!!!^^ Also the facilities were good, too! I could take rest really well~~^^
  • 97%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The rates are reasonable and the staff is friendly. Free coffee and pancakes in the morning, too!
  • 86%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Michael USA
  • The hostel is very comfortable and has a good atmosphere. Its localized inside the Fairmont park, which is a little far from the center city, but I recommend it if u wanna have a different experience. The park is very beautiful and was an awesome place to relax after a buzzy day in the town.
  • 100%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »