See other New York properties

Hostelling International New York

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 86% from 45 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • VERY CLEAN. At least the room I was in, it was clean. The lockers were a great thing to have. Felt very safe.
  • 80%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The rooms smelled like foot, housekeeping did not make my bed (they just did this once a new person came in), the heater was noisy and people kept shutting it down and the room ended up very cold. The outlet above my bed was broken, I reported it and the staff just told me to use the one from the bed below, wich was occupied already. The floor on the showers was too cold, one of the showers did not have hot water and towels were only replaced on demand. I got scabies in this hostel!!!
  • 40%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The hostel was excellent! The staff were more then accomodating. The hostel was pristine. Not any rubbish in sight. The hostel had great kitchen facilities, spotless rooms, tidy bathrooms. If I had any negative things to say? It would be the annoying wifi, and having to enter your room number almost every time you activated your iPhone. Secondly, if they had the facilities to play music while playing pool, that would be great. The location of this hostel is perfect. Overall stay: 10/10
  • 97%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Christopher
  • The place is great, clean and organized. People are friendly. Its closes to the subway and central park. Great location
  • 91%
  • 27 Jan 2014 denis Chile
  • Organized activities by the hostel was fun
  • 89%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Michael Netherlands
  • Please, make paper towels avaliable in the bathrooms. Those blowing machines never quite get the job done and you can't dry your face using them.
  • 77%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Eduardo Henrique Brazil
  • Great hostel. Staff is great. The kitchen is awesome, and the daily activities are a good options for those who travel alone, or don't know what to do. It's a shame it doesn't include breakfast such us boston or washington HI, but I understand that because a lot of people stay in the hostel and it would not be comfortable if everybody is having breakfast on the hostel. I would definitively come back.
  • 71%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Kevin Argentina
  • The hostel is very clean. Good location, right next to the subway station. The staff was friendly, but not the friendliest I've ever seen, some of them seemed to be impatient when I asked information about the city. The hostel activities can be improved too in order to get the guests to know each other. Good atmosphere. The food was excellent, but nothing is included in the price. I had an awesome stay and would stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • a lot of good events good facilities location is not good enough it is little expensive than other one but it's worth extremely clean. good shower room.
  • 83%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • much better than I thought. I'll certainly come again. Rooms are clean, and quite, mostly contributed by my roommates.
  • 80%
  • 28 Nov 2013 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »