See other Washington DC properties

Hostelling International - Washington DC

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 85% from 43 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was great, the breakfast was excellent too!
  • 100%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Assia France
  • Top hostel! Great location - I walked to all museums and monuments while I was there. The breakfast is good and John, the guy that looks after it, is friendly and gives the breakfast area a family vibe. There is a piano and guitar and pool table near reception which is so great :-) Only thing that can be improved is that the mattresses are a little bit thin.
  • 94%
  • 17 Nov 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Very loud heater/fan in our room which turned on throughout the night - Apparently it was for the room next door?!
  • 74%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Edward England
  • I was in town for a conference and this was the most affordable option by far! Excellent location - a 15-minute walk to the National Mall and all the fantastic museums, and fairly easy access to the Metro. Clean bathrooms and common areas, and a very substantial free breakfast. My hallway and room were nice and quiet when I was there, and the staff were pleasant. If you want to store your luggage after you check out, bring quarters for the lockers. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 97%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, friendly staff, close to the subway, n the White House. All collective areas are exellent
  • 83%
  • 14 Sep 2013 tony widjaja Indonesia
  • Alltogether, it was a nice stay. Friendly staff, clean, and good location. I wish the wireless was available in the dorms.
  • 80%
  • 11 Aug 2013 Olga Ukraine
  • The Hostel is really the perfect place to stay if you don't want to pay a lot of money but still want to have a nice and central place. It is really just 5 minutes walk to the Metro, or 15 minutes to the White House. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is nice enough and the rooms are clean. Only the slow elevator and and the slower wi-fi are a little bit annoying. Stayed there twice and would always come back again!
  • 91%
  • 03 Aug 2013 Lisa Germany
  • Friendly and helpful staff. Regular activities and events held at the hostel in order to mingle with fellow guests and discover Washington with local residents. The only disapointment is the free wifi, very weak for the massive demand of everyone jacked on electronic devices. I was not able to use skype voice all the time I was there as the network was always saturated.
  • 77%
  • 29 Jul 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • NIce staff, nice tour around. There was only WIFI downstairs, so that everybody had to do there facebook updates in the main hall.
  • 69%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Location provides great access to monuments, Chinatown and the downtown. But because its downtown, you aren't too close to the cool neighborhood scene.
  • 86%
  • 24 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »