See other Seattle properties

Hostelling International at the American Hotel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 75% from 28 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I'm kinda used to cheap hostel and this one is definitely not cheap for what it is. The beds are awful, I pay usually 18 dollars for a bed like that and not 30 dollars a night... The staff is very friendly, the kitchen is a nice place to stay. The weird thing is that we can't drink alcohol in the hotel, common areas and even our own room... A little bit weird for a hostel.
  • 54%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous France
  • It was honestly the worst stay at a hostel I have ever had. I couldn't sleep thru a single night due to the constant door slamming. The handle on the door to my room caught, so my bunkmates were either constantly jiggling it or knocking for someone to let them in. The hostel could improve on the soundproofing, too.
  • 57%
  • 28 Jan 2014 Michelle USA
  • elevator is not so convient, but the location is ideal for traveling by Amtrak.
  • 86%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Anonymous China
  • Staff are friendly and helpful.
  • 80%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Ahmed Egypt
  • Second stay, in a different room. The Hostel is fine!
  • 86%
  • 30 Sep 2013 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Bedroom smells like a doghouse. Sheets wasnt clean. Urgh. Staff very rude... if you dont have english as your mother tongue...prepare yourself to someone very rude repeating the same thing pretending you are a idiot.
  • 40%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • You can't get much closer to the light rail.
  • 80%
  • 30 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Super place and stuff! Only negative things were the fact that although the hostel is located conveniently in downtown the noise from the street and nearby pubs didn't allow to sleep and rest during the night, breakfast was also quite modest.
  • 94%
  • 17 Aug 2013 Helena Estonia
  • Overall a good place to stay, but with some downsides. +The lack of the a "Hostel-Bar", and the strict no alkohol + smoking made the Hostel a bit boring because everybody is there in the evenings only to sleep and dinner. +Wifi worked only partly cause of often random conection losts + 5$ for the Day storage of your luggage on the leaving day ( form 11am to 3pm ) is quite overpirced
  • 74%
  • 16 Aug 2013 Carl Germany
  • That was really bad experience. I don't even understand why people would recommend this poor service and facilities. Especially the staff there was really unkind, and even rude. They didn't like to help people with unhappy, upset face and I was so upset, too. I just can't believe that I spent money on this poor, poor service from people who don't know what service is.
  • 37%
  • 11 Aug 2013 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »