See other Osaka properties

Hotel Chuo

1-1-12 Taishi Nishinari-ku Osaka-shi, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 4.9km

Rating: 78% from 17 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location was very convenient, but the facilities were lacking. When we were there, Hotel Chuo's bathing room was "broken," leaving only two showers for all five floors of the place. Not so good. The rooms are tatami-and-futon style, which was fine, but the pillows were rock-hard. The staff was super duper friendly and sweet, though, and their English was pretty okay. Hotel Chuo is okay if you want a cheap place to crash for the night, but be prepared for a fairly uncomfortable experience.
  • 71%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Samantha Canada
  • A good place to stay in Tennoji. Cleanliness is acceptable, the staff mostly friendly, all in all a good place to stay - only the late check in (2 p.m.) is a bit of a drag if you happen to arrive early morning in Osaka.
  • 63%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous Austria
  • Very easy access to subway and JR line. The room is 'okay' size but not too small for the price we pay. Although bathroom is quite small. The room is mostly clean but I have to ask them to clean the room everyday otherwise they will not do.
  • 80%
  • 23 Oct 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Conveniently located near train stations. Room was spacious. Building had a dank smell throughout.
  • 66%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Michael Canada
  • This hostel was a great place to stay for a few days and at a really great place. Being my first hostel, I didn't know what to expect, but they met all expectations and more. From the beds and room to the showers and the friendly common area, my stay at Hotel Chuo was superb!
  • 91%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Rooms were good but showers could be better.
  • 69%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • The hard work of the staff - day and night, ensured rooms, hallways, bathrooms, showers were always clean. The location was excellent for my needs: seconds to Mido-suji subway line (Dobutsuen-mae Station) only a few stops to Namba Station, and Shinsaibashi Station; 1 minute walk into the Shinsekai with landmarked Tsutenkaku Tower; minutes to Tennoji Zoo and park; 10 minute walk to a great shopping complex in/around Abenobashi Terminal Building (tallest bldg in Japan - 03/14).
  • 94%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • This is a really nice hotel located about a 3 minute walk from a train station. It has Japanese style rooms that are spacious and comfortable. Toilets are shared by the whole floor but they are quite clean. Free coffee, tea and water is provided around the clock at the front desk. The hotel has only a few showers though so sometimes you have to wait during peak shower times. Because it is so centrally located, it is also a bit loud due to the trains going by. Overall, a great value though.
  • 97%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hotel was nice, close to some famous sightseeing, stations, and supermarket
  • 80%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous France
  • more trashcans
  • 94%
  • 26 May 2014 Leonhard
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »