See other Tokyo properties

Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule

2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.8km

Rating: 66% from 16 reviews

  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 63%Staff
  • 67%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's dirty, with broken facilities and in an inconvenient location compared to the rest of tokyo. More than anything the staff wasn't in the least bit accommodating. I had better treatment in some of the worst countries in the world.
  • 34%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Evan Canada
  • Good service
  • 20%
  • 15 Feb 2014 Chia Ju
  • it,s near the famous temple.the staff is helpful. i chose femal capsule, only me and another girl in the room.so it,s quiet. and i didnt see any people smoke.although it,s kind of old, i mean the equipment, but it.s cheap, i think it,s good value. and u will get a key for your locker after checking in
  • 74%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Anonymous China
  • If you're looking to sleep in a capsule, you can't do it much cheaper. It's comfy and is located close to a subway station where you can get anywhere in the city. Speaking a little Japanese will help at the front, but it's not needed. If you just need a place to crash, look no further.
  • 69%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Joshua USA
  • Everything was old, but clean and functional. Good value for cheap accommodation. Spoke Japanese with the friendly and helpful front desk staff. Right around the corner from Asakusa Station - take Ginza Subway Line to Ueno Station for quickest access to central Tokyo. Walking distance from Senso-ji Temple and Skytree. Recommended to budget travelers and light packers. Note that there are smoking areas right outside the capsule dorms, though the staff cleans frequently to keep the smell at bay.
  • 74%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Bianca USA
  • Getting to this hotel was quite easy, as it is just about one block away from the Tokyo Metro. Depending on who is working at the counter, you may have some difficulty in communication as not everyone there is a fluent speaker of English. The hotel rooms are fairly clean, but a little old. The electric outlet in my capsule was not screwed into the wall, and just hung loose, thereby exposing the wiring. The price is fairly good for Tokyo, though.
  • 83%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Michael USA
  • Lounge area could be a bit cleaner. Staff do not speak English well. Had missunderstanding about cancelation policy but worked it out. Older lady brings treats which is nice.
  • 60%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • The staff chase you out the moment it is 10am. If you do not obey, they will charge you for another night! So calculative! People are not friendly there by Japanese standard.
  • 57%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Chan Hoong Malaysia
  • Was not clean. And dingy.
  • 43%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The hotel location is the best place for me to travel around Asakusa. Furthermore the Hotel location is near to Narita Airport which has direct train to the Airport within 1 and half hour.
  • 86%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »