See other Tokyo properties

Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule

2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.8km

Rating: 68% from 22 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location in Asakusa, and very easily accessible from the Asakusa and Ginza Lines. If you have trains departing from Ueno, it takes less than 10 minutes to get there from here. Staff is very nice, and their English is good. Facilities (showers) were good. Whole building kind of has a damp feeling to it, but every other hostel I have stayed at during the summer in Tokyo has the same feeling. Not such a great place for meeting new people, but great for a quick stay in Tokyo!
  • 89%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • For the money, a pretty good deal! I liked it, and will come back. capsule was spacious and the room was air conditioned. Nice common room w/AC overlooking the busy street below w nice TV. Kimura was very pleasant at the front desk. Nice location for shopping, and subway and a nice river nearby.
  • 80%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Todd USA
  • This Hostel is not too bad, Location are really good, only 1 minute away from train station, and 5 minute to famous temple. The only thing is the stuff, I don't know what is going on with her, maybe because she doesn't understand my English. She seems kinda rude.
  • 71%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A convenient hotel, very close from the metro station. Stayed there 4 or 5 nights, will probably stay there again when returning to Tokyo. A fair choice i think, for the price. My rating for "facilities" would have been "excellent" if not for the dryer, which doesn't dry anything, the rest ( kitchen, bathrooms, etc.. ) were equipped as expected .
  • 86%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous France
  • Not bad. Staff could have a little more English, just a little :-)
  • 71%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Schogn South Africa
  • Quite close to public transport, but not JR rail so you will need to pay per use or get metro passes (different from JR rail passes). Lots of food nearby, very close to notable temples and a short train-ride from Shibuya or inner-city Tokyo
  • 71%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Cameron Australia
  • It's dirty, with broken facilities and in an inconvenient location compared to the rest of tokyo. More than anything the staff wasn't in the least bit accommodating. I had better treatment in some of the worst countries in the world.
  • 34%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Evan Canada
  • Good service
  • 20%
  • 15 Feb 2014 Chia Ju
  • it,s near the famous temple.the staff is helpful. i chose femal capsule, only me and another girl in the room.so it,s quiet. and i didnt see any people smoke.although it,s kind of old, i mean the equipment, but it.s cheap, i think it,s good value. and u will get a key for your locker after checking in
  • 74%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Anonymous China
  • If you're looking to sleep in a capsule, you can't do it much cheaper. It's comfy and is located close to a subway station where you can get anywhere in the city. Speaking a little Japanese will help at the front, but it's not needed. If you just need a place to crash, look no further.
  • 69%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Joshua USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »