See other Tokyo properties

Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule

2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.8km

Rating: 79% from 18 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great price in a great location! It's right beside Asakusa Station, just a block away from Senso-ji and two stops from the Skytree. The staff is also very friendly. One of them even taught me to make origami!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jul 2015 James USA
  • The capsule is very comfortable and privacy is good. The problem is that we all get kicked out of the facility at ten in the morning rain or snow, hot or cold, for cleaning.
  • 83%
  • 01 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was pretty alright aside from the lady working in the reception being annoying. The common room is cool but they only have one room with capsules open it seems so not that many people to meet. It is also separated floors for male and females which makes it a little bit even harder to meet people.
  • 74%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Tony Sweden
  • At 2000 yen a night, it's a great deal, good location
  • 83%
  • 22 Apr 2015 christopher Canada
  • English is okay. This place is old. It is cleaned everyday but somehow everyone has given up hope. Everything is at the end of its lifespan. When we mentioned that there were electric cables hanging free inside the capsules the staff said -"It is because Europeans always break them you don't understand about our electricity"
  • 54%
  • 14 Apr 2015 jonathan Sweden
  • It was a great place to crash, and they have free wi-fi, so I was able to catch up with the world that I'd left behind temporarily. The only thing I didn't much like was my initial idea on how capsules are setup vs my reality of them. I thought it was going to be more like a morgue (not that strange, lol) where they have a bunch of slots in a wall, like one Onsen room I went to. However, it felt like a bunch of bunkbeds, and while I was lucky to be on the bottom, I'd hate to be on the top bunk.
  • 89%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed in the dorm portion of the capsule hotel. The beds were nice, there are curtains for privacy, and lockers with keys for your belongings. The bathrooms were okay, but I was turned off by the smoking on the floor. It also did not seem like a good place to meet other travelers. That said, it was very inexpensive and it is located very close to the Asakusa subway line.
  • 77%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • A alright place to stay at for a night or 2.
  • 63%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • It was great! Love the people who Take care of the place and the common room has a homey kind of feel to it Definitely recommend to everyone who goes to tokyo, it was also very cheap 2200¥ when I stayed there in a dorm. Only problem was the bathroom felt dirty but not gross.
  • 97%
  • 05 Dec 2014 timothy USA
  • Couldn't have asked for a better location. This hostel is located at located in the Asakusa district, at a vibrant intersection (especially at night), just steps away from views of Tokyo's SkyTree, the world's tallest tower. The hostel itself is OK. It's a more private and quiet hostel, unlike the more active and friendly ones.
  • 83%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »