See other Tokyo properties

Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule

2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.8km

Rating: 68% from 22 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 64%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • For the money, a pretty good deal! I liked it, and will come back. capsule was spacious and the room was air conditioned. Nice common room w/AC overlooking the busy street below w nice TV. Kimura was very pleasant at the front desk. Nice location for shopping, and subway and a nice river nearby.
  • 80%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Todd USA
  • This Hostel is not too bad, Location are really good, only 1 minute away from train station, and 5 minute to famous temple. The only thing is the stuff, I don't know what is going on with her, maybe because she doesn't understand my English. She seems kinda rude.
  • 71%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A convenient hotel, very close from the metro station. Stayed there 4 or 5 nights, will probably stay there again when returning to Tokyo. A fair choice i think, for the price. My rating for "facilities" would have been "excellent" if not for the dryer, which doesn't dry anything, the rest ( kitchen, bathrooms, etc.. ) were equipped as expected .
  • 86%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous France
  • Not bad. Staff could have a little more English, just a little :-)
  • 71%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Schogn South Africa
  • Quite close to public transport, but not JR rail so you will need to pay per use or get metro passes (different from JR rail passes). Lots of food nearby, very close to notable temples and a short train-ride from Shibuya or inner-city Tokyo
  • 71%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Cameron Australia
  • It's dirty, with broken facilities and in an inconvenient location compared to the rest of tokyo. More than anything the staff wasn't in the least bit accommodating. I had better treatment in some of the worst countries in the world.
  • 34%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Evan Canada
  • Good service
  • 20%
  • 15 Feb 2014 Chia Ju
  • it,s near the famous temple.the staff is helpful. i chose femal capsule, only me and another girl in the room.so it,s quiet. and i didnt see any people smoke.although it,s kind of old, i mean the equipment, but it.s cheap, i think it,s good value. and u will get a key for your locker after checking in
  • 74%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Anonymous China
  • If you're looking to sleep in a capsule, you can't do it much cheaper. It's comfy and is located close to a subway station where you can get anywhere in the city. Speaking a little Japanese will help at the front, but it's not needed. If you just need a place to crash, look no further.
  • 69%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Joshua USA
  • Everything was old, but clean and functional. Good value for cheap accommodation. Spoke Japanese with the friendly and helpful front desk staff. Right around the corner from Asakusa Station - take Ginza Subway Line to Ueno Station for quickest access to central Tokyo. Walking distance from Senso-ji Temple and Skytree. Recommended to budget travelers and light packers. Note that there are smoking areas right outside the capsule dorms, though the staff cleans frequently to keep the smell at bay.
  • 74%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Bianca USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »