See other Tokyo properties

Hotel Kawase Tokyo and Capsule

2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.8km

Rating: 73% from 8 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not exactly what i expected to be a capsule hotel. I had a good night sleep which is important and met cool people but i do not think i would go back. The place is kinda frozen in time, it's not very clean looking and things are sketchy. You get what you pay for. The staff was nice to me. There was a really weird customer who apparently was living there. Location is great.
  • 60%
  • 25 Apr 2016 Anonymous Argentina
  • This capsule hotel is close to the Metro. Easy to miss the front door. With only a sign board on the pavement. The capsule and hotel are in need of upgrading.
  • 51%
  • 19 Apr 2016 Kennneth W Australia
  • I had to catch a morning flight out of Narita. This hotel is perfectly situated for both Narita and Haneda Airports as is it next to Asakusa Station which has direct trains to both airports. This is a great place for frugal travelers!
  • 100%
  • 22 Dec 2015 James USA
  • It's a nice cheap place to stay, as long as you don't mind some things being old and fallen into disrepair. Each capsule comes with a tv, a radio (that didn't work), 2 lights, a curtain, and the bed part. There is free wifi, and PCs are available for free use. There is a fridge, hot water, tables etc. You do have to bring your own towel, but they do provide coin laundry and a drier. Power points are not provided in the capsules, but we used the one in the hallway (hard to keep an eye on it)
  • 77%
  • 16 Dec 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Its a bummer that i cant use my japan rail pass to get to this hotel. You have to take subway to go to hostel. Staff is not friendly and barely speak english. Not well located, still not clean enough and bed is too small and rather dirty. If you wanna chep hostel maybe you should go to this hostel but i chose not again
  • 63%
  • 30 Nov 2015 Muhamad Indonesia
  • would be good to have bigger lockers...
  • 74%
  • 06 Nov 2015 fabien Guadeloupe
  • This place is a total dive. It's dirty, old, and smells of damp and cigarettes. Feels like nothing's been replaced for 20 years. But weirdly that's why it's cool - like living in a broken-down spaceship. There's definitely an interesting vibe. They have a traditional sauna bath, which is always lovely, plus a private shower if you're shy. Dirt cheap.
  • 66%
  • 19 Sep 2015 James England
  • Great price in a great location! It's right beside Asakusa Station, just a block away from Senso-ji and two stops from the Skytree. The staff is also very friendly. One of them even taught me to make origami!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jul 2015 James USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »