See other Osaka properties

Hotel Mikado

1-2-11, Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5.1km

Rating: 81% from 23 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hotel Mikado is 10-15 minute walk from Shin-Imamiya train station and just 3-minute walk from Dobutsuen-Mae train station. There are many convenience store near the place and a 24-hour restaurant. Shared toilet needs to be cleaned more though and shower rooms are nice and quite spacious.
  • 89%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Anonymous Philippines
  • Very nice staff, room was clean, free tea and coffee and a big plus was the english instructions for air conditioner. No annoying young backpackers, maybe few of them, but not disturbingly. I felt like everything was in order there!
  • 83%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Maija Finland
  • There should be warm water in the restroom, but somehow there isn't. I stayed in a 1 person room, although it was small it was very nice. The common room seems to be a bit small for the size of the hostel.
  • 94%
  • 03 Feb 2015 Yuk Kin Netherlands
  • The mikado is a sound hostel to stay at if you're planning to explore Osaka or elsewhere close by for a few days. The station is quite closely situated. Many of the amenities are lent free of charge which is great and something that stands out. There's also an onsen inside the premises.
  • 77%
  • 14 Jan 2015 Tharindu New Zealand
  • i definitely like this place, it is pretty cheap than i expected in osaka. Funny thing is when i went to that Hotel Mikado's area, i felt i was in the shady area like in Brooklyn, NYC. However, it is completely safe and fascinate to see the other part of osaka. :) it is close to the SPA world, zoo, malls, and one of the osaka tower :) I really appreciate the staffs to keep its clean and nice. except I do not like the smoke room, there is too much smoke room than non-smoke room :/
  • 94%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I booked Hotel Mikkado basically as a bed for the night. Flew in late arvo to Osaka and was flying out next morning. For this purpose, it was great value for money and did its job far better than a capsule hotel. Staff were really great and seemed to be a good mix of people though I just stayed in my room most of the time. Different side of Osaka - reminded me of the Brooklyn side of New York which in itself is an experience
  • 80%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Gabriel Australia
  • Convenient place to stay
  • 80%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Been for one night. Amazing place for this kind of money. Private room, tatami style. Liked it a lot. Very happy.
  • 91%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Aurimas Lithuania
  • Decent Hostel, more like a hotel though. Staff were very helpful. Close to metro and major train and a 20 minute walk to the main area in Osaka. Social atmosphere was on the quieter side (could be the time that I was there though). Recommend overall though.
  • 89%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • All good.
  • 86%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »