See other Osaka properties

Hotel Mikado

1-2-11, Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5.1km

Rating: 81% from 16 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Don't be fooled, despite the name it IS a Hostel. Hotel Mikado was probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in. They had private rooms available (which is rare for hostels) for only $20 a night. The shower rooms were clean & shampoo/conditioner were available (you could choose among 4 GOOD brands) They give you a towel & toothbrush/paste at check-in. The hostel is a 3 minute walk from the nearest subway station (very useful), but it IS in a shady part of Osaka if that concerns you.
  • 91%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Julie USA
  • I had a great time in Hotel Mikado. The fact that I could rent a bicycle made my stay in Osaka GREAT!! :) Also, I loved the spa and the fact that they lent me shampoo en conditioner: I flew with a LCC so I couldn't take this stuff with me Best hotel in Osaka! :)
  • 89%
  • 29 May 2014 Willemien Netherlands
  • I stayed here for my last night in Japan. It was worth the money and was a great price for a private room (since I needed to do packing at 4am in the morning to catch my flight).
  • 80%
  • 27 May 2014 Daniella Canada
  • the room is pretty big for 3 people. it is located just beside the train station with about 5 mins walk. Walk-able distance to lots of tourist area like the zoo and shinsekai around the area. the only cons about it is that the bathroom is located at 1st floor and have to go down every time to bath. there are only 3 units to share with other people.
  • 83%
  • 18 May 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • I love the cleanliness of the hotel. The accomodation provided is very good. The environment of the hotel is acceptable. The hotel is preferably for backpackers.
  • 80%
  • 17 Apr 2014 ERNNIE ILLYANI Malaysia
  • It was ok but didn't really care for it and the area is not great.
  • 57%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Strategic location, easy to find, friendly staff, have a loan bicycle for free as well. Wonderful stay!
  • 86%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • i like this hotel, but decoration in my room looks old, espessialy the curtain. and they have a time to using a bathroom.
  • 74%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous Indonesia
  • best place I stay in Japan, extremly friendly staff, free bike even after checkout, hot bath.. definitelly stay here if have a chance!
  • 100%
  • 20 Nov 2013 Anonymous Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »