See other Osaka properties

Hotel Mikado

1-2-11, Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5.1km

Rating: 79% from 24 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not a terribly enjoyable stay. The Hotel is located in a rather dirty neighborhood with no notable landmarks nearby. The room I stayed in always had a disgusting smell in it that gave me an instant headache. The bathroom (1 per floor) is cramped and dirty, and for some reason shared by both genders. There were only 2 toilets (1 western, 1 japanese) and 1 urinal in the bathroom which didn't seem like enough for a floor with almost 10 rooms. If you're desperate or not staying long, go elsewhere.
  • 37%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Sean USA
  • This was a friendly clean and functional hostel, the bath was great and made it more than worth the cost
  • 89%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Overall the location is quite good and the staff is quite helpful. But the cleanliness of the toilet is fair only. Also as a girl, it is very inconvenient and embarrassing to share the same bathroom with boys.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • It was a lot of drunk homeless people in the area, probably the worst part of Osaka
  • 49%
  • 30 May 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • A pleasant stay. The smoking room could have done with some spray to freshen it up.
  • 77%
  • 12 Apr 2015 SarahW England
  • located just beside the JR and subway, very convenient to go to other place and to 天王寺 is just by 4 mins by walk
  • 94%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Anonymous China
  • Staff was very nice and helpful. Location right next to subway which was very convenient.
  • 74%
  • 02 Apr 2015 Samirah USA
  • The place feels a little dirty and in the hallways a faint smell of cigarette is perceived. Eventhough, the staff is great; and for the price is a very nice option (cheaper and better than other hotels in the area).
  • 86%
  • 29 Mar 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Hotel Mikado is 10-15 minute walk from Shin-Imamiya train station and just 3-minute walk from Dobutsuen-Mae train station. There are many convenience store near the place and a 24-hour restaurant. Shared toilet needs to be cleaned more though and shower rooms are nice and quite spacious.
  • 89%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Anonymous Philippines
  • Very nice staff, room was clean, free tea and coffee and a big plus was the english instructions for air conditioner. No annoying young backpackers, maybe few of them, but not disturbingly. I felt like everything was in order there!
  • 83%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Maija Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »