See other London properties

Hyde Park Hostel

2-4-6 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.9km

Rating: 55% from 45 reviews

  • 47%Atmosphere
  • 56%Staff
  • 57%Security
  • 41%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 60%Value for money
  • 41%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The outside is just déréliction! Then when we went to our dorm, there was a jugé leak from the ceiling two fluors à ove us, the water was falling directly from the sign of the néon tube, and when I tôle the staff about it, they looked totally unconcerned, and just put à bedsheet on the floor to absorb the water... The showers and toilets were revolting, and show ers were mostly cold. A very nice location, but alot of things to improve to make it a nice place to stay!
  • 49%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Isabelle France
  • There was no free Wi Fi included. Most Hostels provided free WiFi. Also kitchen facilities was very poor. For examplr: There was only 2 cups.
  • 60%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous Mongolia
  • Smelly and dirty. You feel dirtier coming out of the shower
  • 34%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Amy New Zealand
  • Such a dirty place, the staff wasn't kind and you have to pay for about everything! No wifi no linen no security no cleanliness here
  • 31%
  • 01 May 2014 Anonymous
  • the hostel is in a good location and the price was ok. I think I was quite lucky with the room talking to other guests. the toilet close to the breakfastroom in the besement is not that bad but the male-showers on the groundfloor are...of 8 showers only 3 or 4 are working and there is a smell like someone used one of the broken showers as a toilet for big buisness. there was a problem with the reservation between hostels.com and the hostel. They had only half of my reservation, so be carefull.
  • 54%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous Austria
  • DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! I have stayed in many hostels and this one is terrible. Do not be fooled by the pictures. The kitchen in the picture does not exist. The facilities were terrible. There is no vending machine or access to tea/coffee. There is no lift despite there being five floors. Staff are not interested. There are many more better hostels nearby. Use one of them. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL!
  • 43%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Anonymous Wales
  • A lot of wired people, really dirty and just never again
  • 54%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Gloria Germany
  • This is possibly the worst hostel I've ever stayed. The location is quite good and the price low, but everything else resembles staying in a dirty prison cell. Toilets are dirty and destroyed. The rooms are overcrowded and dirty. The atmosphere miserable. The breakfast is there only to pretend there is breakfast. All in all, if you want to stay for cheap but don't mind using the toilets in a coffee shop rather than the hostel's, it can be an option. Otherwise you are better off in another place.
  • 34%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • Very few lockers, good location. Many members of staff acted as if they really hated their job and didn't want to deal with customres at all. The place seems to attract people that you don't want to have in your room. I can't prove it, but for me it seemed very likely that the four people I had to sleep with in my room were partly-homeless drug addicts. Bugs and mice in the ceiling over the dining-room. Many showers don't work. No soap. Terrible smell. A towel costs 5 pounds. No sockets in room.
  • 49%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anton Germany
  • the worst hostel. I´ve been staying to more than 50 hostels in my whole life but I´ve never seen something like this. Absolut mess, it was so dirty that we decided not to sleep there, water in the halls an in the stairs whith no security signs, totally dangerous. the beds were so dirty that instead white colour for the cushions, was yellow...i bet they haven´t cleaned for weeks. for me it was a risk to sleep there. Staff 0% professional in education or common sense. Don´t go to this place.
  • 29%
  • 01 Mar 2014 Anonymous Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »