See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 87% from 65 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel was great fun, great location and staff were lovely. Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 26 Mar 2014 Annemarie Ireland
  • a good hostel for students and young people
  • 74%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Absolutely fabulous facility in an awesome location. The staff members were fun and helpful, and made my stay incredible.
  • 100%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Shelby USA
  • We really enjoyed our stay at IHSP hostel! It was one of the cleanest and most comfortable hostels we've stayed in. The staff was friendly, there was a spacious kitchen, large common areas, plenty of bathrooms and there was always hot water in the showers. The location is also great- the hostel is right by the blue line and it's very easy to get downtown and around the city. There is a lot of night life and good restaurants within walking distance. We definitely recommend staying at IHSP!
  • 91%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Rachel USA
  • Can't be beat for price/location. It's a given that hostels aren't quiet. We had a private room and still there were people out in the hallway being super loud at 4am. Bring earplugs.
  • 91%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great Hostel. Great location. though u have to go down stairs if u have heavy things with u at the train station. Everything is just beautiful. FYI, the water is weak for some reasons so , enjoy
  • 80%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • The location is really convenient but parking is a little hard to find. The atmosphere and decoration are pretty good! However, i expect a more helpful staff.
  • 80%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Excellent place! Loved it! The best hostel I've ever been! For sure! The staff are good, credits do Daniel who is very friendly. The common are is perfect and the rooms I don't have anything to complain.
  • 100%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Really great location right next to the Damen blue line station and a well-stocked Walgreens. Perfect when arriving hungry and tired from O'hare late at night.
  • 91%
  • 28 Nov 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • I was pleasantly surprised that this hostel was located in such a great area. There are plenty of restaurants bars, and shopping in the area. The hostel itself was nice. I stayed in the female dorm and it was fully occupied with the exception of one bed, but I did not feel too cramped .It does get a little messy with 9 women being in one room, however, there was never more than 4 people in the room because people came and went all day/night. The free breakfast is definitely a plus. Great staff!
  • 91%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »