See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 87% from 64 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was a very good experience. They have a good staff (Josh) and a very good atmosphere.
  • 94%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Leonardo Brazil
  • This is the only hostel I ever stay at while visiting Chicago. I love it! The staff is friendly, it's very clean, and its located in a well kept area.
  • 100%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The best thing is location from Airport and kind staff. Though 10 female room seems busy, it was good to accomodate because of large room and silence. Also, Pancake was served in breakfast, but only pancake is offered. Shower room is a little small, but it was good enough.
  • 77%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Everything was perfect, but I wish they'd keep the common areas open, and only remove people who are violating 'quiet time'. Just a thought.
  • 97%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Rishanka India
  • We were a group of 14 French people and we all share the same opinion ! Free pancakes for breakfast is awesome ! The roofdeck is a nice place to eat and drink a few beers with your friends before going out in the neighbourhood, which is lively at night. It is well located, 40 mn from downtown by foot, 10 by the blue line. The staff (and particularly Olivia and Sam) is very nice and available. It was a pleasure to meet new people there and we would come back for sure :)
  • 94%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • Awesome staff. Great social atmosphere!
  • 100%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Cheryl USA
  • Everything is great. People there as well as crews there were very friendly and fun! However the games CDs are mixed up or gone. I would suppose it needed some arranging so that others can play with the games they want:) but in all, I really like staying in this hostel:) it's good.
  • 94%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Yap Singapore
  • good location,have fun and make friends there.
  • 80%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I love this hostel! This is the only hostel I stay in when I travel to Chicago.
  • 100%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was great! The guys at the front desk are really cool and kind!
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Luis Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »