See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 87% from 64 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time! We definitely recommend staying here to everyone.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Grace USA
  • I am a regular visitor to Chicago. Normally I book a boutique hotel, this time I was here for longer time with my daughter, so we tried the hostel. Just great experience. I will be back for the next visit, best endorsement you can get. Staff was excellent.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2014 john USA
  • This hostel is in a GREAT neighborhood in Chicago and a half block away from the Damien train station, where you can catch the blue line right into the heart of downtown Chicago and directly to O'Hare Airport. Rental bikes are a block away so you can ride the 3 miles into downtown or explore other parts of Chicago. Free pancakes every morning. Can't go wrong with this place.
  • 91%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Jill USA
  • Actually I didnt expect that much, but as soon as I got there, we were all surprised by its cozy atmosphere and staff's kindness If I visit Chicago once again I will definitely stay at this hostel again :)
  • 97%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Kitchen was very dirty, there were roaches.
  • 83%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Fun place to stay and in a good location (nice area and easy to get downtown). It's a bit of a party hostel so I wouldn't go if you need a perfect night's sleep. But it's great for meeting people. And make sure to check out the roof terrace in the evening- great view of the Chicago skyline.
  • 77%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous England
  • This was by far the wisest choice for my stay in Chicago! From the central location in Wicker Park next to the blue line to the clean rooms and friendly atomosphere. And you can't beat the rooftop deck! Safe - Affordable - I'll stay here again and again!
  • 100%
  • 01 May 2014 Deanna USA
  • I had a great time. Friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location (right by Damen stop, in a really cool part of town). Highly recommend. I will be back.
  • 100%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Ian USA
  • Amazing hostel! Nice location with lots of busy bars and restaurants. Right next to a 24/7 supermarket. Subway station is 2 mins walk. Very clean with a really nice staff. Definetely one of the best hostels ive been to.
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2014 MARINOS Greece
  • I would stay here again!
  • 89%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »