See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 89% from 39 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place was awesome. It was clean. The staff was very helpful and nice. The location was perfect. My friend and I are older but we felt very welcome. Thank you for the wonderful experience.
  • 100%
  • 05 Nov 2015 MICHELLE USA
  • The hostel is good everything was cool except for a little problem... the cleaner puted in the trash... or ...stoled two empty bags that i had inside my room i dontknow if that was a mistake or anything else. I told in the reception this problem , they must to talk seriously with the cleaners about dont touch the guests belongings .... ....
  • 86%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great staff, great guests.
  • 100%
  • 16 Oct 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • It is in a great location, situated on the blue line of the subway. Which is easy access to/from the O'Hare International airport and even a Greyhound Bus Terminal Downtown. The complimentary pancake breakfast is great and the Starbucks coffee machine, where you could get as much "free" coffee as you wanted from it, was awesome and slightly addictive. It felt like a good neighbourhood, quite a hip area with a lot of quirky shops.
  • 100%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Adele Australia
  • Great staff. Nice room. Comfortable bed, sheets, blankets, and pillows. Plenty of space and services. Would highly recommend this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Anne USA
  • Very friendly and helpful staff, the location is great as it is really so near to Blue Line, not to mention all the shops around. Only the AC in the room was very cold.
  • 83%
  • 07 Sep 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • I love that you have the Starbucks coffee machine! It means you don't have to go out to enjoy a cup of coffee - instead you can stay in the common room and meet the other guests while you drink it. And yes, it's a decent cup of coffee.
  • 77%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Mads Denmark
  • far away from city center. Breakfast is terrible. It's very noisy at night. The bed is small and shaking. The hotel looks like a private motel and the staff look very bored. I don;t understand why people gave them very positive comment (90% positive). I chose this hotel because of its high rating on hostel website. Fortunately, I live for only one night.2 years ago, I lived in the hostel in Chicago city center (close to michigan avenue), Staff there are in uniform and the breakfast is breakfast.
  • 49%
  • 19 Aug 2015 Anonymous China
  • One of the nicer hostels I've stayed in: clean, safe, and centrally located. Liked the pancakes and decent coffee, and there was plenty of warm water for showers. Our favorite staff person was Meg, she was very friendly, helpful, and we forgot to tell her we loved her haircut!
  • 91%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Abigail
  • I was an assistant manager of a Hostel in Australia for 3 years, I am super picky about where I stay and find myself being hyper critical. I WILL be back at this hostel. I will not even be looking for others as long as the Canadian dollar doesn't drop too far (still on a budget) bu you get what you pay for and I'm very impressed. The place was spotless, the pancake breakfast hit the spot, the rooms were well maintained, and the service, especially Meg, was brilliant. Thanks. C U Next Year!
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »