See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 87% from 63 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The best thing is location from Airport and kind staff. Though 10 female room seems busy, it was good to accomodate because of large room and silence. Also, Pancake was served in breakfast, but only pancake is offered. Shower room is a little small, but it was good enough.
  • 77%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Everything was perfect, but I wish they'd keep the common areas open, and only remove people who are violating 'quiet time'. Just a thought.
  • 97%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Rishanka India
  • We were a group of 14 French people and we all share the same opinion ! Free pancakes for breakfast is awesome ! The roofdeck is a nice place to eat and drink a few beers with your friends before going out in the neighbourhood, which is lively at night. It is well located, 40 mn from downtown by foot, 10 by the blue line. The staff (and particularly Olivia and Sam) is very nice and available. It was a pleasure to meet new people there and we would come back for sure :)
  • 94%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • Awesome staff. Great social atmosphere!
  • 100%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Cheryl USA
  • Everything is great. People there as well as crews there were very friendly and fun! However the games CDs are mixed up or gone. I would suppose it needed some arranging so that others can play with the games they want:) but in all, I really like staying in this hostel:) it's good.
  • 94%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Yap Singapore
  • good location,have fun and make friends there.
  • 80%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • The hostel was great! The guys at the front desk are really cool and kind!
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Luis Colombia
  • This hostel is the best there is. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great time and enjoy your stay.
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Cheryl USA
  • My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time! We definitely recommend staying here to everyone.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Grace USA
  • I am a regular visitor to Chicago. Normally I book a boutique hotel, this time I was here for longer time with my daughter, so we tried the hostel. Just great experience. I will be back for the next visit, best endorsement you can get. Staff was excellent.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2014 john USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »