See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 88% from 42 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location, especially if you need access to O'Hare. I also liked the cheap private rooms and the general quiet. Would definitely stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jan 2016 Nathan USA
  • We had such a great experience staying at IHSP Wiker Park. The staff was so very accommodating and friendly. The facilities were great and we were treated like family while staying there. I would 100% recommend anyone to stay at IHSP Wiker Park!
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2016 Jason USA
  • Had a great stay. Only complaints were that common room was cold due to the constantly opening door, heat was on blast in the rooms, and showers were wonky in terms of pressure and temperature. But, honestly, everything else the hostel offered was great, and made the stay worth it.
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great staff, and perfect location. It's right next to a Walgreens and about 2 blocks from the metro station. Plenty of coffee shops and bars within walking distance. The room was small but it's great if all you need is a quiet place to sleep at night. And if you're driving, the $10/day parking is unbeatable. I'd definitely stay here again if I come back to Chicago on a budget trip.
  • 94%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Brett USA
  • When I was taking a shower, the water was not enough and so cold. I wish you would fix the shower system. Except it, I had a great time in the hostel. Thank you so much.
  • 71%
  • 26 Dec 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • Excellent Hostel :) Very well located (less than 5 minutes from metro station, and close from restaurants and bars). The staff is awesome, and always helpful. The hostel also has a roof deck excellent to hang out with another guests ^^
  • 94%
  • 09 Dec 2015 Pedro Brazil
  • I really enjoyed my stay here, eventhough I don't stay at Hostels too often and this this is my first time staying at a Hostel in the USA, I really enjoyed the Hipster atmosphere in the neighborhood and the staff was great and helpful. The place was very clean and secure, my only complain is the water pressure in the bathrooms!
  • 97%
  • 03 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This place was awesome. It was clean. The staff was very helpful and nice. The location was perfect. My friend and I are older but we felt very welcome. Thank you for the wonderful experience.
  • 100%
  • 05 Nov 2015 MICHELLE USA
  • The hostel is good everything was cool except for a little problem... the cleaner puted in the trash... or ...stoled two empty bags that i had inside my room i dontknow if that was a mistake or anything else. I told in the reception this problem , they must to talk seriously with the cleaners about dont touch the guests belongings .... ....
  • 86%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great staff, great guests.
  • 100%
  • 16 Oct 2015 Anonymous Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »