See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 89% from 62 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I am so glad that we decided to stay here! For the price and location you really can't beat it! The staff was super nice and friendly and great at answering questions. The room seemed cleaned when we checked in and I continuously saw a cleaning staff around in the morning and afternoon which was great! Coffee was available all the time as well as pancakes in the morning, perfect start to our Chicago adventuring. I will definitely be back here to stay again!
  • 100%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Casey USA
  • I REALLY HAD A GOOD TIME THERE!WYATT AND SAM ARE REALLY GOOD AND ENTHUSIASTIC!THE PUPPY IS REALLY ADORABLE AND CUTE!I WILL NEVER FORGET THE MEMORIES OF LIVING THERE!THANK YOU WYATT, THANK YOU PUPPY!
  • 100%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Anonymous China
  • Fantastic hostel! Provides a great atmosphere for travellers to interact. Breakfast was amazing, beyond what I expected! Everyone was so nice and so helpful! I would easily recommend ISHP hostel, chicago!
  • 97%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Mitchell Australia
  • I've had few stays that could compete with IHSP. It's in an absolutely fantastic place to stay. The staff is very accommodating and knowledgable about the area. Sam at the front desk really went out of his way to help us out on a few occasions. The rest of the crew is just as wonderful, though. The rooms were clean, the other people were chill, and the rooftop deck was a perfect place to hang out and meet people from all over the world. If I ever come to Chicago, I'm staying here for sure.
  • 100%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Anonymous
  • Rooms are great and comfortable, social areas were comfortable too. Located very closely to subway station. Staff were very friendly and helpful, indicating best places to go and ways to get there. I remember also of Kevin, very attentive, trying to help us even with the language barrier (Our group had only Brazilians). I strongly recommend this place
  • 100%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • It was a very good experience. They have a good staff (Josh) and a very good atmosphere.
  • 94%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Leonardo Brazil
  • This is the only hostel I ever stay at while visiting Chicago. I love it! The staff is friendly, it's very clean, and its located in a well kept area.
  • 100%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The best thing is location from Airport and kind staff. Though 10 female room seems busy, it was good to accomodate because of large room and silence. Also, Pancake was served in breakfast, but only pancake is offered. Shower room is a little small, but it was good enough.
  • 77%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Everything was perfect, but I wish they'd keep the common areas open, and only remove people who are violating 'quiet time'. Just a thought.
  • 97%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Rishanka India
  • We were a group of 14 French people and we all share the same opinion ! Free pancakes for breakfast is awesome ! The roofdeck is a nice place to eat and drink a few beers with your friends before going out in the neighbourhood, which is lively at night. It is well located, 40 mn from downtown by foot, 10 by the blue line. The staff (and particularly Olivia and Sam) is very nice and available. It was a pleasure to meet new people there and we would come back for sure :)
  • 94%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »