See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 91% from 29 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was a really cute hostel! They had pancakes for breakfast, a nice living room were you could meet people and hang out with them. The best was the roof deck! The view was amazing and it was very easy to meet people and have a little chat with them! =) The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and nice.
  • 83%
  • 19 Sep 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Only stayed there for a day from my layover from Japan, but the place is great. Pretty close to the train station (about 3 minute walk), close to food and good places. The guy that helped checked in was pretty cool and the common area was nice and clean. Kinda sucked a little bit that there were no lockers in the rooms but the environment overall was pretty good. Will definitely return there on my next trip to Chicago.
  • 83%
  • 11 Aug 2016 Anonymous Peru
  • If you are satisfied with pancakes for breakfast, you are good. Unfortunately there wasn't much more than that and coffee.
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2016 Jochen Germany
  • My group greatly enjoyed staying at the hostel. One commented that it was "neat" to meet people from other countries and talk about the issues of the day. I liked the stay because of the location, value for the dollar, and agreeable staff. Thanks for helping make my group's trip to Chicago a great experience.
  • 89%
  • 25 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great place, easy to find, felt really safe there, was a really relaxed vibe and the staff were super helpful - Sam and Pao were the two names I remember to single out for praise, but I'll be back soon and I'm sure more staff will get a namecheck then!
  • 94%
  • 04 May 2016 Catherine Wales
  • Fantastic hostel. Very close to the Damen Subway station and I couldn't fault anything with the hostel at all. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (shout out to Meg for her top tips in Chicago) and had pretty much every facility you could think of - including a great roof terrace. It's a brilliant find.
  • 100%
  • 21 Apr 2016 Hamish England
  • I went with my friends, people r so nice over there and u can definitely make lots of friends in this hostel, choose this one like seriously, good luck
  • 97%
  • 13 Mar 2016 Anonymous China
  • I only stayed there for one night but I can say that the morning staff, meg, was really kind. She is really helpful to adapt new place. And people there were also nice, they know how to respect others. But the little uncomfortable part was temp. and pressure of water. It took pretty long time to get hot water and the water pressure was not enough for me, I mean personally.
  • 97%
  • 19 Feb 2016 CHUN HONG South Korea
  • Great location, especially if you need access to O'Hare. I also liked the cheap private rooms and the general quiet. Would definitely stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jan 2016 Nathan USA
  • We had such a great experience staying at IHSP Wiker Park. The staff was so very accommodating and friendly. The facilities were great and we were treated like family while staying there. I would 100% recommend anyone to stay at IHSP Wiker Park!
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2016 Jason USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »