See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 90% from 20 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good place! Showers could be better, but the water is hot, and that is what matters
  • 97%
  • 16 Apr 2017 Andre
  • great place but no cotton sheets = sweaty while sleeping
  • 89%
  • 04 Jan 2017 Benjamin Sweden
  • I fell in love with this hostel! Such a free and friendly atmosphere! I loved the common area with the musical instruments, billiard table, TV, and a bunch of happy travelers to hang out with. This is the most unique and youthful hostel I've ever stayed in. Highly recommend it!
  • 91%
  • 31 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great location and a very nice staff. Facilities were clean and well kept. Really enjoyed my quick stay.
  • 94%
  • 16 Nov 2016 Kevin USA
  • I enjoyed my stay, the staff was very friendly, the rooms and breakfast very nice, the only thing I disliked was Halloween and a disgusting satanic sticker on a locker in my room. I don't know where you guys are at in your beliefs but judging from the interior and overall experience of your place, I guess you love life too. I wouldn't let it spoil my house. You know you may laugh at this but look it up, Halloween is a high holiday for satanic folk. You wanna be a part of that??
  • 97%
  • 23 Oct 2016 Anonymous
  • I really liked it over there :)
  • 100%
  • 21 Oct 2016 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • I met the best people at this hostel! Really great atmosphere with the roof deck open 24 hours. Staff were amazing. It's located in a really cool neighborhood and super close to the trains. I would just say they need more power outlets on the dorms and a better wifi.
  • 97%
  • 28 Sep 2016 Anonymous Brazil
  • It was a really cute hostel! They had pancakes for breakfast, a nice living room were you could meet people and hang out with them. The best was the roof deck! The view was amazing and it was very easy to meet people and have a little chat with them! =) The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and nice.
  • 83%
  • 19 Sep 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Only stayed there for a day from my layover from Japan, but the place is great. Pretty close to the train station (about 3 minute walk), close to food and good places. The guy that helped checked in was pretty cool and the common area was nice and clean. Kinda sucked a little bit that there were no lockers in the rooms but the environment overall was pretty good. Will definitely return there on my next trip to Chicago.
  • 83%
  • 11 Aug 2016 Anonymous Peru
  • If you are satisfied with pancakes for breakfast, you are good. Unfortunately there wasn't much more than that and coffee.
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2016 Jochen Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »