See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 90% from 35 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place, easy to find, felt really safe there, was a really relaxed vibe and the staff were super helpful - Sam and Pao were the two names I remember to single out for praise, but I'll be back soon and I'm sure more staff will get a namecheck then!
  • 94%
  • 04 May 2016 Catherine Wales
  • Fantastic hostel. Very close to the Damen Subway station and I couldn't fault anything with the hostel at all. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (shout out to Meg for her top tips in Chicago) and had pretty much every facility you could think of - including a great roof terrace. It's a brilliant find.
  • 100%
  • 21 Apr 2016 Hamish England
  • I went with my friends, people r so nice over there and u can definitely make lots of friends in this hostel, choose this one like seriously, good luck
  • 97%
  • 13 Mar 2016 Anonymous China
  • I only stayed there for one night but I can say that the morning staff, meg, was really kind. She is really helpful to adapt new place. And people there were also nice, they know how to respect others. But the little uncomfortable part was temp. and pressure of water. It took pretty long time to get hot water and the water pressure was not enough for me, I mean personally.
  • 97%
  • 19 Feb 2016 CHUN HONG South Korea
  • Great location, especially if you need access to O'Hare. I also liked the cheap private rooms and the general quiet. Would definitely stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jan 2016 Nathan USA
  • We had such a great experience staying at IHSP Wiker Park. The staff was so very accommodating and friendly. The facilities were great and we were treated like family while staying there. I would 100% recommend anyone to stay at IHSP Wiker Park!
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2016 Jason USA
  • Had a great stay. Only complaints were that common room was cold due to the constantly opening door, heat was on blast in the rooms, and showers were wonky in terms of pressure and temperature. But, honestly, everything else the hostel offered was great, and made the stay worth it.
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great staff, and perfect location. It's right next to a Walgreens and about 2 blocks from the metro station. Plenty of coffee shops and bars within walking distance. The room was small but it's great if all you need is a quiet place to sleep at night. And if you're driving, the $10/day parking is unbeatable. I'd definitely stay here again if I come back to Chicago on a budget trip.
  • 94%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Brett USA
  • When I was taking a shower, the water was not enough and so cold. I wish you would fix the shower system. Except it, I had a great time in the hostel. Thank you so much.
  • 71%
  • 26 Dec 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • Excellent Hostel :) Very well located (less than 5 minutes from metro station, and close from restaurants and bars). The staff is awesome, and always helpful. The hostel also has a roof deck excellent to hang out with another guests ^^
  • 94%
  • 09 Dec 2015 Pedro Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »