See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 89% from 48 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location alone makes this place worth staying at, but it was also the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in! The blue line is right there making getting around town super easy and affordable. The whole staff was knowledgable about things to do around town. They also gave us detailed instructions for our late night arrival making it a breeze. Plus they have free pancakes in the morning!
  • 100%
  • 07 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It is very convenient, which closes to the subway. And many restaurants around it. The bathroom is very clean.
  • 100%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Anonymous China
  • Very pleased with the staffs (Kevin and the lady in the reception) understanding and adaption when we came and was going to pay for the rooms, and the credit card didn´t work. They were always very friendly to talk to. A bit too noisy in the dorm area at night, and some of the rooms didn´t have windows or good ventilation.
  • 77%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Ragnhild Norway
  • Location is pretty good, facilities too. Rooftop terrace would have been great if it wasn't close to freezing point (no the hostel's fault though, haha). Breakfast are pancakes or oatmeal, free coffee. Large common room, closes at 11pm (rooftop does not!).
  • 86%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • To be honest, my stay was better than I thought! Especially for my 1st time staying in a hostel. The atmosphere was great and everyone got along...from what I could see. The location is awesome! Its right there on the bus line and a 3 minute walk to the train. I went to IHSP from O'hare and it was a direct shot from the train. I WILL be back!!
  • 91%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Ahsia USA
  • This was my second time staying at IHSP Chicago. I wasn't too happy with my room - it was incredibly hot, even in the dead of winter, and very loud. I could hear people at the front desk talking and laughing late into the night / early morning. Also, the WiFi was unreliable and often didn't work at all. That said, it's fairly priced, and I love the location. Wicker Park is a cool neighborhood, and it's right by a train station - literally a minute's walk. Great restaurants in the area too.
  • 74%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was in Chicago for the weekend celebrating my birthday, and I am glad I found this place. It is i a great location, about 5 minutes o so from downtown, the staff was great and I made friends. very pleased.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jan 2015 jose m Costa Rica
  • Some of the staff is very nice and helpful BUT I had a problem with the cleaning lady. She came into the room and looked at me and asked: were you supposed to be here? I said I would stay for two more days and she kept glancing at me like I was there illegally. After that she sprayed something on the table to clean and I asked her to please stop because I had allergies. She did it two more times on the floor and swept it.. Just because. The showers are bad. It is the equivalent of a sprinkler
  • 80%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Natasha Brazil
  • Excellent hostel with friendly staff. Although located right next to a metro station, the station was closed during our visit due to construction and we had to get off one stop early and take a bus. Wasnt a big deal except for our last day when we had to wait 20 minutes for the bus. All in all, its centrally located and within a short train ride to downtown. 10/10 will stay here on my next visit!!!
  • 91%
  • 15 Dec 2014 Amulya India
  • I am so glad that we decided to stay here! For the price and location you really can't beat it! The staff was super nice and friendly and great at answering questions. The room seemed cleaned when we checked in and I continuously saw a cleaning staff around in the morning and afternoon which was great! Coffee was available all the time as well as pancakes in the morning, perfect start to our Chicago adventuring. I will definitely be back here to stay again!
  • 100%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Casey USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »