See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 89% from 44 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • far away from city center. Breakfast is terrible. It's very noisy at night. The bed is small and shaking. The hotel looks like a private motel and the staff look very bored. I don;t understand why people gave them very positive comment (90% positive). I chose this hotel because of its high rating on hostel website. Fortunately, I live for only one night.2 years ago, I lived in the hostel in Chicago city center (close to michigan avenue), Staff there are in uniform and the breakfast is breakfast.
  • 49%
  • 19 Aug 2015 Anonymous China
  • One of the nicer hostels I've stayed in: clean, safe, and centrally located. Liked the pancakes and decent coffee, and there was plenty of warm water for showers. Our favorite staff person was Meg, she was very friendly, helpful, and we forgot to tell her we loved her haircut!
  • 91%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Abigail
  • I was an assistant manager of a Hostel in Australia for 3 years, I am super picky about where I stay and find myself being hyper critical. I WILL be back at this hostel. I will not even be looking for others as long as the Canadian dollar doesn't drop too far (still on a budget) bu you get what you pay for and I'm very impressed. The place was spotless, the pancake breakfast hit the spot, the rooms were well maintained, and the service, especially Meg, was brilliant. Thanks. C U Next Year!
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Anonymous
  • They give you what they offer without any extra charge in towels, sheets, breakfast.. Etc very close to the L station and not so far from downtown, actually it's a nice area to hang out.
  • 91%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Ignacio Spain
  • IHSP was great, better than I expected. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful. My room was clean. The hostel was busy but not too loud, I slept very well. Wicker Park is also a fun place to stay.
  • 100%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Erin Canada
  • The only way to travel!
  • 86%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great value and a very cool location! Felt perfectly safe and was very happy to have our own room.
  • 86%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anne USA
  • Great room, great location, great staff
  • 100%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was good. Although the location is a bit far from downtown, there is a CTA station just in front of the hostel. If you want to hang out with other people, go to the rooftop!
  • 80%
  • 25 May 2015 Changhyun South Korea
  • The location alone makes this place worth staying at, but it was also the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in! The blue line is right there making getting around town super easy and affordable. The whole staff was knowledgable about things to do around town. They also gave us detailed instructions for our late night arrival making it a breeze. Plus they have free pancakes in the morning!
  • 100%
  • 07 May 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »