See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 87% from 59 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a great time. Friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location (right by Damen stop, in a really cool part of town). Highly recommend. I will be back.
  • 100%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Ian USA
  • Amazing hostel! Nice location with lots of busy bars and restaurants. Right next to a 24/7 supermarket. Subway station is 2 mins walk. Very clean with a really nice staff. Definetely one of the best hostels ive been to.
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2014 MARINOS Greece
  • I would stay here again!
  • 89%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice big room, friendly staff and very good organization. The hostel has a beautiful roof with a sight on chicago! Also breakfast and facilities were very good. Very quiet.
  • 89%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Giovanni
  • Great hostel, located in the best area in Chicago. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to all travelling to Chicago. The staff are super friendly and helpful, especially Wyatt.
  • 100%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Hostel was great fun, great location and staff were lovely. Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 26 Mar 2014 Annemarie Ireland
  • a good hostel for students and young people
  • 74%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Absolutely fabulous facility in an awesome location. The staff members were fun and helpful, and made my stay incredible.
  • 100%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Shelby USA
  • We really enjoyed our stay at IHSP hostel! It was one of the cleanest and most comfortable hostels we've stayed in. The staff was friendly, there was a spacious kitchen, large common areas, plenty of bathrooms and there was always hot water in the showers. The location is also great- the hostel is right by the blue line and it's very easy to get downtown and around the city. There is a lot of night life and good restaurants within walking distance. We definitely recommend staying at IHSP!
  • 91%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Rachel USA
  • Can't be beat for price/location. It's a given that hostels aren't quiet. We had a private room and still there were people out in the hallway being super loud at 4am. Bring earplugs.
  • 91%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »