See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 89% from 39 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • They give you what they offer without any extra charge in towels, sheets, breakfast.. Etc very close to the L station and not so far from downtown, actually it's a nice area to hang out.
  • 91%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Ignacio Spain
  • IHSP was great, better than I expected. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful. My room was clean. The hostel was busy but not too loud, I slept very well. Wicker Park is also a fun place to stay.
  • 100%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Erin Canada
  • The only way to travel!
  • 86%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great value and a very cool location! Felt perfectly safe and was very happy to have our own room.
  • 86%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anne USA
  • Great room, great location, great staff
  • 100%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was good. Although the location is a bit far from downtown, there is a CTA station just in front of the hostel. If you want to hang out with other people, go to the rooftop!
  • 80%
  • 25 May 2015 Changhyun South Korea
  • The location alone makes this place worth staying at, but it was also the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in! The blue line is right there making getting around town super easy and affordable. The whole staff was knowledgable about things to do around town. They also gave us detailed instructions for our late night arrival making it a breeze. Plus they have free pancakes in the morning!
  • 100%
  • 07 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It is very convenient, which closes to the subway. And many restaurants around it. The bathroom is very clean.
  • 100%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Anonymous China
  • Very pleased with the staffs (Kevin and the lady in the reception) understanding and adaption when we came and was going to pay for the rooms, and the credit card didn´t work. They were always very friendly to talk to. A bit too noisy in the dorm area at night, and some of the rooms didn´t have windows or good ventilation.
  • 77%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Ragnhild Norway
  • Location is pretty good, facilities too. Rooftop terrace would have been great if it wasn't close to freezing point (no the hostel's fault though, haha). Breakfast are pancakes or oatmeal, free coffee. Large common room, closes at 11pm (rooftop does not!).
  • 86%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »