See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 90% from 34 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent Hostel :) Very well located (less than 5 minutes from metro station, and close from restaurants and bars). The staff is awesome, and always helpful. The hostel also has a roof deck excellent to hang out with another guests ^^
  • 94%
  • 09 Dec 2015 Pedro Brazil
  • I really enjoyed my stay here, eventhough I don't stay at Hostels too often and this this is my first time staying at a Hostel in the USA, I really enjoyed the Hipster atmosphere in the neighborhood and the staff was great and helpful. The place was very clean and secure, my only complain is the water pressure in the bathrooms!
  • 97%
  • 03 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This place was awesome. It was clean. The staff was very helpful and nice. The location was perfect. My friend and I are older but we felt very welcome. Thank you for the wonderful experience.
  • 100%
  • 05 Nov 2015 MICHELLE USA
  • The hostel is good everything was cool except for a little problem... the cleaner puted in the trash... or ...stoled two empty bags that i had inside my room i dontknow if that was a mistake or anything else. I told in the reception this problem , they must to talk seriously with the cleaners about dont touch the guests belongings .... ....
  • 86%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great staff, great guests.
  • 100%
  • 16 Oct 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • It is in a great location, situated on the blue line of the subway. Which is easy access to/from the O'Hare International airport and even a Greyhound Bus Terminal Downtown. The complimentary pancake breakfast is great and the Starbucks coffee machine, where you could get as much "free" coffee as you wanted from it, was awesome and slightly addictive. It felt like a good neighbourhood, quite a hip area with a lot of quirky shops.
  • 100%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Adele Australia
  • Great staff. Nice room. Comfortable bed, sheets, blankets, and pillows. Plenty of space and services. Would highly recommend this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Anne USA
  • Very friendly and helpful staff, the location is great as it is really so near to Blue Line, not to mention all the shops around. Only the AC in the room was very cold.
  • 83%
  • 07 Sep 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • I love that you have the Starbucks coffee machine! It means you don't have to go out to enjoy a cup of coffee - instead you can stay in the common room and meet the other guests while you drink it. And yes, it's a decent cup of coffee.
  • 77%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Mads Denmark
  • far away from city center. Breakfast is terrible. It's very noisy at night. The bed is small and shaking. The hotel looks like a private motel and the staff look very bored. I don;t understand why people gave them very positive comment (90% positive). I chose this hotel because of its high rating on hostel website. Fortunately, I live for only one night.2 years ago, I lived in the hostel in Chicago city center (close to michigan avenue), Staff there are in uniform and the breakfast is breakfast.
  • 49%
  • 19 Aug 2015 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »