See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 89% from 48 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • To be honest, my stay was better than I thought! Especially for my 1st time staying in a hostel. The atmosphere was great and everyone got along...from what I could see. The location is awesome! Its right there on the bus line and a 3 minute walk to the train. I went to IHSP from O'hare and it was a direct shot from the train. I WILL be back!!
  • 91%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Ahsia USA
  • This was my second time staying at IHSP Chicago. I wasn't too happy with my room - it was incredibly hot, even in the dead of winter, and very loud. I could hear people at the front desk talking and laughing late into the night / early morning. Also, the WiFi was unreliable and often didn't work at all. That said, it's fairly priced, and I love the location. Wicker Park is a cool neighborhood, and it's right by a train station - literally a minute's walk. Great restaurants in the area too.
  • 74%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was in Chicago for the weekend celebrating my birthday, and I am glad I found this place. It is i a great location, about 5 minutes o so from downtown, the staff was great and I made friends. very pleased.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jan 2015 jose m Costa Rica
  • Some of the staff is very nice and helpful BUT I had a problem with the cleaning lady. She came into the room and looked at me and asked: were you supposed to be here? I said I would stay for two more days and she kept glancing at me like I was there illegally. After that she sprayed something on the table to clean and I asked her to please stop because I had allergies. She did it two more times on the floor and swept it.. Just because. The showers are bad. It is the equivalent of a sprinkler
  • 80%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Natasha Brazil
  • Excellent hostel with friendly staff. Although located right next to a metro station, the station was closed during our visit due to construction and we had to get off one stop early and take a bus. Wasnt a big deal except for our last day when we had to wait 20 minutes for the bus. All in all, its centrally located and within a short train ride to downtown. 10/10 will stay here on my next visit!!!
  • 91%
  • 15 Dec 2014 Amulya India
  • I am so glad that we decided to stay here! For the price and location you really can't beat it! The staff was super nice and friendly and great at answering questions. The room seemed cleaned when we checked in and I continuously saw a cleaning staff around in the morning and afternoon which was great! Coffee was available all the time as well as pancakes in the morning, perfect start to our Chicago adventuring. I will definitely be back here to stay again!
  • 100%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Casey USA
  • I REALLY HAD A GOOD TIME THERE!WYATT AND SAM ARE REALLY GOOD AND ENTHUSIASTIC!THE PUPPY IS REALLY ADORABLE AND CUTE!I WILL NEVER FORGET THE MEMORIES OF LIVING THERE!THANK YOU WYATT, THANK YOU PUPPY!
  • 100%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Anonymous China
  • The nights in IHSP were awesome! Especially the staff named Kevin!(Thanks Kevin for friendly attitude & all useful information he gave me:D ) One thing that I felt uncomfortable is location. Usually they are easy to access but because of restoration of Damen station, I had to walk about 20 minutes to go to other station. But you can transfer to bus easily, so I recommend you choose this nice, reasonable and friendly hostel.
  • 91%
  • 05 Nov 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Fantastic hostel! Provides a great atmosphere for travellers to interact. Breakfast was amazing, beyond what I expected! Everyone was so nice and so helpful! I would easily recommend ISHP hostel, chicago!
  • 97%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Mitchell Australia
  • I've had few stays that could compete with IHSP. It's in an absolutely fantastic place to stay. The staff is very accommodating and knowledgable about the area. Sam at the front desk really went out of his way to help us out on a few occasions. The rest of the crew is just as wonderful, though. The rooms were clean, the other people were chill, and the rooftop deck was a perfect place to hang out and meet people from all over the world. If I ever come to Chicago, I'm staying here for sure.
  • 100%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »