See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 89% from 48 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Awesome staff. Great social atmosphere!
  • 100%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Cheryl USA
  • Everything is great. People there as well as crews there were very friendly and fun! However the games CDs are mixed up or gone. I would suppose it needed some arranging so that others can play with the games they want:) but in all, I really like staying in this hostel:) it's good.
  • 94%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Yap Singapore
  • good location,have fun and make friends there.
  • 80%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I love this hostel! This is the only hostel I stay in when I travel to Chicago.
  • 100%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was great! The guys at the front desk are really cool and kind!
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Luis Colombia
  • This hostel is the best there is. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great time and enjoy your stay.
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Cheryl USA
  • My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time! We definitely recommend staying here to everyone.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Grace USA
  • I am a regular visitor to Chicago. Normally I book a boutique hotel, this time I was here for longer time with my daughter, so we tried the hostel. Just great experience. I will be back for the next visit, best endorsement you can get. Staff was excellent.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2014 john USA
  • This hostel is in a GREAT neighborhood in Chicago and a half block away from the Damien train station, where you can catch the blue line right into the heart of downtown Chicago and directly to O'Hare Airport. Rental bikes are a block away so you can ride the 3 miles into downtown or explore other parts of Chicago. Free pancakes every morning. Can't go wrong with this place.
  • 91%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Jill USA
  • Actually I didnt expect that much, but as soon as I got there, we were all surprised by its cozy atmosphere and staff's kindness If I visit Chicago once again I will definitely stay at this hostel again :)
  • 97%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »