See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 87% from 65 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was pleasantly surprised that this hostel was located in such a great area. There are plenty of restaurants bars, and shopping in the area. The hostel itself was nice. I stayed in the female dorm and it was fully occupied with the exception of one bed, but I did not feel too cramped .It does get a little messy with 9 women being in one room, however, there was never more than 4 people in the room because people came and went all day/night. The free breakfast is definitely a plus. Great staff!
  • 91%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great location and facilities, apart from the oven not working on our last night. Great to have free computer and printing. Really friendly reception. We had a great stay and will definitely be back.
  • 100%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Alistir England
  • Nice location and neighborhood, easy to get to. I stayed in the female dorm room, and there was a lot of noise coming from the kitchen and common area, during nights and mornings - not because of particularly loud guests, but because of thin walls, creaky floors and over all bad placement of the room.
  • 74%
  • 16 Oct 2013 Nina Denmark
  • Great location. Close to a lot of restaurants, bars, and the subway. Cleanliness is average. Bathroom was clean for a shared bathroom. We were put in a room for 8 but there was just 2 of us. No one else was scheduled in the room, but most of the beds appear to have been used but have not been changed by the staff. We had no choice but to choose the two beds that looked unused. Overall, if you are looking for a place with a great location then this place is for you.
  • 80%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Binh USA
  • I really, really liked this hostel. The location is perfect, free pancake breakfast, roof deck, an awesome common area, friendly staff and clean rooms. What more can you whish for? Thank you IHSP for making my stay in Chicago extra special.
  • 97%
  • 21 Sep 2013 Nathalie Sweden
  • I liked the skydeck on which everybody hang out together and the free pankackes in the moring where realy nice. The rooms where clean and everybody was nice I recomment to check this hostel out ;) LOVE CHICAGO !
  • 89%
  • 08 Sep 2013 Vincent Germany
  • We stood only one night here, but we liked the place very much. The location is good, near to the metro station, easy to go to the city and the airport too. The hostel is clean, the staff is nice and helpful, and the breakfast pancake is great :)
  • 89%
  • 01 Sep 2013 Anonymous Hungary
  • it is located right next to the Damen metro station. the building is nice, there are a couple of restaurants and coffee shops in front of it. This hostel has everything you need: lockers, towels, maps, roof deck with a jukebox, etc. I met a lot of people from my country (Ukraine), that was unexpected.
  • 100%
  • 27 Aug 2013 Anonymous Ukraine
  • Had a great time here, staff and people were welcoming and open. So much fun and the roof top is amazing. Definitely coming back!
  • 94%
  • 23 Aug 2013 Marie Germany
  • Cleanliness depend on persons so it's not always perfect. Staff really great. Maybe the kitchen is to small. The air conditioner in the female dorm is really noisy, anyway always have ear plug.
  • 74%
  • 23 Aug 2013 Melanie France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »