See other Chicago properties

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 7.2km

Rating: 87% from 67 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff are chill and very fun to talk to. The atmosphere and location are awesome. Having the convenience of Walgreens right next door is great! Sleeping during the night sometimes can be annoying with the creaking floors, but it's definitely worth the visit if you plan to stay up late.
  • 94%
  • 11 Aug 2013 Anonymous Mongolia
  • Front desk staff was super friendly. I felt the prices were a little high, but maybe that's due to the location?! Nice, spacious, and clean rooms.
  • 80%
  • 08 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostels, fully all the things that are necessaries inside or just next to it.
  • 100%
  • 02 Aug 2013 BORIS France
  • The room was extremely nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It's in a great spot, just few subway stops away from city center. The toilet seat's flushing mechanism was broken when we got to the room, but it was no biggie, since it was easily fixed. Totally worth the money.
  • 86%
  • 31 Jul 2013 Markus Finland
  • The location is wonderful, it was very convenient for me to go to anywhere in Chicago. The atmosphere was great and the staff were very friendly. I had a good time staying there. -Yajing
  • 91%
  • 30 Jul 2013 Anonymous China
  • I wish there had been better enforcement of 'quiet time'. I was awakened at 3:30 in the morning by a group in the room next to mine playing music at a VERY LOUD volume and people talking VERY LOUDLY as well. I asked them to quiet down but it went on til 7 a.m. Not good.
  • 86%
  • 25 Jul 2013 Laura USA
  • This hostel was great! Super clean and the staff is so friendly. Great place for young people to stay in Chicago!
  • 100%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Andrea Venezuela
  • This place is great! We had a blast the staff were very helpful and friendly and the AC worked just fine! This neighborhood was great too. Will probably stay here again next time in Chicago to avoid even going downtown. Thanks!,
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Stavros USA
  • Great experience! Fantastic staff and superb location
  • 94%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Sarah USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »