See other Santa Barbara properties

IHSP Santa Barbara

111 N. Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 75% from 12 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 63%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • paul was GREAT.... the young travelers left something to be desired... apparently they forgot to bring their mother... and they have little consideration for others... KEEP THE DOOR TO SLEEPING QUARTERS CLOSED AFTER 10 PM... SOME PEOPLE GET UP EARLY TO MAKE APPT'S... DO NOT PEE ON FLOOR.... APPARENTLY THE MALES HAVE A TENDENCY TO DRINK AND DO NOT KNOW HOW TO TAKE CARE OF THEMSELVES... CLOSE THE SHOWER CURTAIN, WHEN THERE IS AN INCH OF WATER ON THE FLOOR... MOP IT UP... GROSS STANDING IN WATER
  • 100%
  • 04 Sep 2016 lori USA
  • Not so comfortable and the most expensive hostel I've been so far.
  • 66%
  • 23 Aug 2016 Anonymous Brazil
  • Location was great, close to the beach and to the main street, staff was helpful. Breakfeast, on the other hand, was really poor since there was only one option: pancakes. I feel that for the price you pay, they could offer more (fruits, juice, bread, etc). Also, didn't see any activities for travelers, which helps who is traveling alone. There are not many options of hostels in town and this is the cheapest one, so I would recommend it, but I think they could improve some things :)
  • 83%
  • 01 Jul 2016 Renata Brazil
  • This hostel looked small from the outside, but was very comfortable and full of character. I great value in Santa Barbara, which is known for exorbitant hotel prices. The hostel staff was exceptionally accommodating and personable.
  • 89%
  • 09 Apr 2016 Edward
  • Only stayed here for one night but I had a great time. Cozy hostel with a nice atmosphere. Loved the pancake breakfast! I would definitely recommend it to everyone!
  • 89%
  • 24 Mar 2016 Elise Netherlands
  • Nice staff and ok location but the price is wayyy too much for a hostel. You could get a motel for slightly more and be a lot more comfortable. I spent 2 nights at $46 a night to sleep in a hot dorm room with 10 beds. Not exactly a fair price for what you get.
  • 63%
  • 18 Mar 2016 Meredith
  • Facilities very small. Private room had no place for clothes. Not even a clothes hook. The common area only had seating for five people. A few folding chairs would have helped a lot. The breakfast was hotcakes period. No fruit. I felt that very little thought had been given to small things that would make the place a bit more comfortable. A simple map showing the location of the hostel in relation to places people might like go would have been nice.
  • 57%
  • 23 Dec 2015 William USA
  • Perfect way to spend a few nights in Santa Barbara! Nice patio outside, Nice breakfast, I loved the drawing on the kitchen's wall ;) !! I would definitely recommand it.. !
  • 100%
  • 15 Dec 2015 Lucille France
  • Small Hostel but comforting atmosphere. location is average. 20-30 minute walk to the main strip. 3.5/5
  • 80%
  • 20 Nov 2015 James Australia
  • The room we were given was next to the common area and we could hardly sleep at night because of late check-ins walking by with suitcases. No 24 hours check-in but lots of people were arriving in the middle of the night. As there are only a few hostels in SB they have no trouble finding guests but it really is a shame, you would expect so much more of a place like Santa Barbara!
  • 46%
  • 16 Oct 2015 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »