See other Santa Barbara properties

IHSP Santa Barbara

111 N. Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 71% from 17 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 64%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not enough restrooms, curfew to go inside in the evening. Small and crowded rooms. Fine beds!
  • 66%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The hostel is a former residential house which has been converted into a hostel. The overall feel of the house was nice and the staff was friendly and helpful with directions. However I think the price was a bit high compared to other hostels I've stayed at before. Perhaps because Santa Barbara is not crawling with hostels, but I'm just guessing. Overall I enjoyed my stay and the kitchen facilities were nice. However the living room couch needs replacement, it's hard as a rock to sit on ;)
  • 69%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Roberto Denmark
  • Best hostel for meeting people!
  • 80%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Bas Netherlands
  • I felt welcome and like part of the family as soon as I checked in. Holly was wonderful, helpful, professional, and very knowledgable.
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Sharon USA
  • I was miss informed on the website that this HOTEL was only for Students. I am not a student, I went to visit my Student daughter. I was not able to stay at the hostel. I slept in my car on the street. I still was charged the regular amount, even I did not stay. They did not want to give me a refund.
  • 40%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Jose Mexico
  • We called the manager to inform we were arriving late but still before closing time, nevertheless we received an sms later the evening with the question to inform them because they didnt hear of us. Obviously there was some bad commmunication. Our private room was so small we had problems to find some place for our luggage. We had to make our beds ourselves and didn't receive any towels for showering. As there were only pancakes for breakfast we didnt had breakfast in the hostel.Not recommended
  • 43%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Kevin Belgium
  • The hostel was very chilled out. Small but friendly. Its one of the only affordable places to stay in the city. I loved making my own breakfast pancake and eating on the lovely porch. Holly was super friendly and right about EVERYTHING. She was great to chat to and get information from. Overall had a really great time!
  • 83%
  • 06 May 2014 Teresa USA
  • Great location, and super helpful staff! Thank you!
  • 94%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Stephanie Canada
  • Expensive but really good. Location is about 30 minutes walking from bus and train station, but the street is safe.
  • 91%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Sara Italy
  • The only good thing is the rooftop deck, the rest is just rubbish, especially the bathrooms. Breakfast is just pancakes and coffee. Staff is very nice though.
  • 57%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Yven Pascal Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »