See other Seoul properties

IS@K Guest House

4F, 683-134 Hannam-Dong, Yongsan-Ku, Seoul, South Korea, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 89% from 19 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I enjoyed staying at IS@K Guest House! The staff is friendly and welcoming and the owner genuinely cares about his guests. Itaewon is a hotspot in Korea so the location is nice! Not too far off from the lively parts (about 5-10 min walk) but quiet enough for a good nights sleep. Lots of good bars and restaurants nearby. The facilities are small but I never had to wait in line for the shower or toilet. It's nice they provide complimentary toast and tea for the guests too! I'll definitely return!
  • 97%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • As with previous stays with IS@K, the staff was friendly, helpful, and very attentive. They even accommodated some scheduling mistakes on my part. The facilities and rooms were clean and very accessible. The only issue was the noise from some of the clubs/bars that are next to the newer Annex that's closer to Itaewon-ro. On the Sat. night of our stay, the noise was really obnoxious, and lasted up until 2-3 am or so. Otherwise, IS@K was a great hostel, and we'll definitely return in the future.
  • 97%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Genuinely one of the best hostel experiences of my travels thus far. It is a fairly generic hostel setup but the staff, atmosphere, value and people who were there during my 3 week stay made it far exceed a generic hostel. The free food section (predominantly toast but sometimes other things) was always welcome! Staff went well out of their way to help and have a good standard of english. If you need a place for 1-100 nights i would say pick IS@K and you'll not be disappointed!
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Quintin England
  • The staff was very friendly and helpful! They were always available to help and if they were away from the desk they left a phone for travelers to use to talk them for help which was very nice since I was without a phone while traveling. Bathrooms were a little cramped if the hostel was full but it wasn't bad. The rooftop lounge area could have had a little more to it. It was just a couple chairs and minimal lighting which wasn't enough if you wanted to read anything.
  • 89%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very good hostel in the heart of Seoul. Clean, with a nice TV and common room, yet very quiet in the sleeping areas. I just wished there were more bathroom facilities.
  • 94%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Me and my friends were happy stay at Is@K guesthouse.The staff & the owner were very helpful and kind.The restrooms & the kitchen were very clean. The atmosphere also very good, it's like being home and we can borrow hanbook for taking picture. But it will be better if Is@K has elevator/lift due the location is at 4th floor and most of us already very tired travelling all day and bring heavy suitcase.The rooms were okay. Not too far from subway station. Close to money changer,restaurant,& shops.
  • 91%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Anonymous Indonesia
  • I stayed at IS@K Guesthouse in May 2014 for 18 days. The Itaewon location was nice and the staff were really excellent. Tasteful deco and nice friendly ambiance were extra benefits of staying there as well as very reasonable price. I have nothing but praise for this hostel and I will definitely stay here next time I am in Seoul. My thanks go to the owner and the staff of IS@K.
  • 100%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A great location for people wanting to be close to Itaewon's clubs and bars. Itaewon, though, is very 'Western', and doesn't really have much to offer in terms of cultural interests or shopping, and it's not really the place to go for good Korean food.
  • 71%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Very nice staff! The private single room was very small but comfortable and clean. Good value for the price.
  • 91%
  • 22 Feb 2014 Sarah Canada
  • The area itself is very foreigner-friendly with an abundance of restaurants and clubs. Ideal for those teaching in rural Korea looking for entertainment. While I'm not in this category, I was still impressed by the incredibly friendly staff and cleanliness. However, the location is not ideal to get around the city from.
  • 91%
  • 30 Nov 2013 Matthew USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »