See other Bologna properties

Il Castello

Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna, Bologna, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 82% from 14 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The space was exceptionally clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I also felt that this Hostel attracted a more mature and cleaner guest vs. other hostels I've stayed at that were a bit messier and unkept. The breakfast looked great even though I did not participate :) Will definitely consider staying here again next time I'm in Bologna.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jul 2016 Tamer USA
  • The breakfast was very poor. I was living in a single room and I wanted to put my friend's bag in my room for few hours but they refused. It was a bit strange since the room was private.
  • 66%
  • 12 Jun 2016 Anonymous Georgia
  • good italian morning coffee/capuccino, otherwise just a packed croissant or 2 very thin slices of cheapest toast, jam, nutella. one aplle or mandarin. Very clean bathrooms, nice showers, good lockers, perfect location, very central.
  • 83%
  • 13 Mar 2016 Anna Germany
  • Very nice place, everything is clean and has a good service :)
  • 100%
  • 21 Oct 2015 Valeria
  • Good hostel. Good staff. Average breakfast, average wifi. No kitchen to cook, maybe not enough bathrooms. The only bad thing is that after the check-out they ask us to leave the hostel and it was also raining, unbelievable, very rude. Another thing is thats difficult to find. But nevertheless recomendable hostel
  • 80%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Location is perfect. Facilities are new and clean. Maybe not the best place to meet new people, but otherwise I recommend this place to everyone.
  • 89%
  • 09 Sep 2015 Kamilla
  • The hostel was very good but you can find better ones for the price. The Staff were nice to me and very helpful. The breakfast is poor. I had a problem to get there due to bad weather condition. I was stuck in the train and I almost lost my reservation because they said the reception closes and they didn't want to wait for me anymore.
  • 60%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Alessandra Raiuca Brazil
  • Great hostel, very clean, central location, and friendly staff. There is a nice common area for travelers to meet up and chat. I have already advised other people to stay at Il Castello. One comment: The walls are thin and sound travels, so it can be disturbing when people come in late at night. However, ear plugs, being a heavy sleeper, or being a lover of night life can easily solve that problem.
  • 97%
  • 21 Aug 2015 Lena USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »