See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 82% from 17 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place was honestly amazing. I met so many awesome people, including the staff. The location was perfect for me because I did not want to be in the French Quarter all the time. The streetcar is literally steps from the hostel. The owners do have a cat though so if you are allergic just a fyi. The rooms were clean, I don't know why people have said they never see anyone cleaning. Honestly, the cleaning crew were probably in our wing more than we were. I would definitely stay again.
  • 89%
  • 28 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I loved the atmosphere and decor. It is a hostel not a hotel. I met people from all over. I liked the 30 second walk to the street car to the French Quarter. Nothing fancy but then again I didn't want a stuffy Hotel. Water was hot, beds had a decent mattress, staff was friendly, people were great. Exactly why I love to stay at Hostels. I read many negative reviews, if you are a snob DON'T STAY AT A HOSTEL! Simple as that. I love hostels for what they are a hostel! I travel alone to meet people!
  • 94%
  • 24 Sep 2016 cynthia USA
  • If you're looking for a clean bathroom it's definitely not the place! The location is not ideal (even if the street car is close), if I were to come back to NO I would stay near the French Quarters. The neighbourhood is a little bit sad. This hostel is best for groups no solo backpackers. Dinner and breakfast are great! Not expensive and very good!
  • 60%
  • 13 May 2016 Pauline France
  • Not the cleanest place but what hostel is? Absolutely fantastic atmosphere at this hostel. Everyone is travelling alone so everyone is happy to hang out with everyone else. Was there for two nights and met some incredible people Serve amazing food very cheap!
  • 97%
  • 12 May 2016 Rachel England
  • Settling myself in the 24 hour area (permitted or not) because my friend and myself have been placed in a dorm with a broken a/c. We reported this to the staff who seems to care about absolutely nothing and refused to accommodate us in any way; we made it through the first night hoping it would be fixed and addressed but here we are 48 hours later with NO air conditioning. It would be one thing If it felt nice however in the blazing summer it is cooler outside than it is in our dorm. I am appall
  • 49%
  • 12 May 2016 Scarlett USA
  • Really nice place in a super beautiful area. The staff were awesome and chill, and kind of just felt like other travelers there with everyone else. The biggest issue I had was that there was very little dishware to use that was not made of styrofoam. Styrofoam cups, plates, and bowls were pretty much the only dishware available and it all got thrown away afterwards. That stuff is like cancer to the earth. Travelers usually know how to clean up after themselves; give us some real dishes to use!
  • 86%
  • 01 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • pros: artistic feeling facility. easy access to street car 24H. outdoor pool. cons: cleaness. few glum staff. anyway, when think price, it is quite nice choice to stay at new orleans.
  • 71%
  • 27 Apr 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great value for money. located really close to street car station. it was the best hostel ever in my life. would definitely stay again if i visit NOLA next time.
  • 100%
  • 05 Apr 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! The atmosphere was great. Was traveling by myself and still had the time of my life bc of the people I met at the hostel. Would definitely stay there again!!
  • 86%
  • 08 Mar 2016 Malin Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »