See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 80% from 78 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a wonderful time there. I would defiantly stay there again.
  • 97%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Alright stay, decent location with the street car pickup convenient. Bare minimum, shower curtain dirty and hanging off, but still worked. Staff nice enough. Got really cold one night, we had a space heater that barely worked. Other rooms said they didn't have any space heater. I would stay again
  • 71%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Teresa USA
  • It's one of the better Hostels in NOLA and one of the better ones I've been to in the states. Unfortunately the US has a lot to do to make the hostel experience better. The facilities were pretty good and the staff was helpful, but the hostel lacked any organization. They mixed up my room and I had to stay in a larger room than what I paid for. It seems they keep everything scheduled in writing. There's a pool and cool backyard where they make breakfast and dinner. The location isn't bad.
  • 71%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Daniel USA
  • Very fun hostel. I met a bunch of very cool people from all parts of the globe. Hope to stay here again if I ever get back to New Orleans
  • 83%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Luke USA
  • Very good place to stay in Nola, good location and awesome price.
  • 83%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Rogerio Brazil
  • I wasn't very happy with this place at all, there is two bathrooms (literally so two showers with a toilet in each) to like 8 dorms. You had to wait at the door or just wait for people to shower just to pee. No parking so of course it's free. No lockers in rooms. It says aircon but I could walk in circles faster than the fan spun. Not a pleasant stay if your not used to hot and sweaty hostels. I wouldn't stay here again
  • 46%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Meg Australia
  • Cute place and a nice house. Location, however, is HORRIBLE! It's buried within a rundown, sketchy neighborhood with torn-up streets and extensive graffiti. Parking is a disaster and most of the guests are forced to park around/down the block and having to walk through the unwelcoming neighborhoods to get to and from their cars to the hostel. I also heard from several guests that theft, both within the hostel and from the parked cars, is a common occurrence.
  • 54%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Really enjoyed our stay. The only thing we didn't like was the check in - the check in area is small and crowded and took us a while to get properly checked in.
  • 94%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Ilana
  • This was my first hostle experience, and it was amazing. I really felt like i was able to get the full expereience while getting more cultured by meeting others. I'm from Michigan and my girl is from Europe and familiar with this type of living. I have never traveled abroad or stayed in anything other than hotels so this was.. a very different type of living that i loved and will travel more this way! I'm super glad i stayed here it was nice, and fun an we even went out a few nights w/them!
  • 91%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Brittiney USA
  • Interesting and colorful place to stay. India House is like separate world, small and magic village in the city of New Orleans. Public areas could be more clean and renovated but it wasn't bad. They have a pool, but do not try to swim in it during the night - strict rules about it. I would recommend for sure!
  • 83%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Zuzanna Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »