See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 81% from 62 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • India House Hostel was an eclectic and unique experience in Mid-City New Orleans. The staff was somewhat friendly, but upon check-in we were a bit confused about the services that hostel offered, and I was a bit surprised that there was no option for a blanket as only a flat sheet was given to us. This may make sense as New Orleans tends to be humid and hot during summer, but the AC in the room was a bit too low. Rooms and facilities were fairly clean. Great breakfast and dinner! Pool open!
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels ever - definitely the best I've seen in the US
  • 80%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was a pleasure staying there. The staff was very good and the hostel had pretty mych a person can expect (A good running kitchen, coffee, Vending Machine chips, soda, etc., Fridge, ATM, etc.)
  • 80%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous India
  • If you've seen the movie 'Fight Club,' this hostel looks like the house they squat in. It definitely helps reinforce those stereotypes about American hostels being far, far below the standards of European hostels. Was by far the most disgusting hostel I've ever stayed in. Flies everywhere. Bugs in the bathroom. No reading lights on beds. Two outlets in an 8-bed room. Super small lockers. Afraid of sitting on the couch for fear of getting a skin disease, etc. etc.
  • 43%
  • 26 May 2015 Jenna
  • The hostel was great in terms of 24-hour service, good kitchen facilities, social atmosphere etc. However, only one bathroom/shower per floor is not really enough in my opinion, and overall cleanliness in the rooms and the rest of the hostel was not very good.
  • 60%
  • 21 May 2015 Malin Sweden
  • Poor location, dirty rooms, ripped up bed? Below average, I also felt sorry for the poor girl sleeping across from the 50 year old man. What hostel would allow an old man to be in a mixed dorm? Staff let me off $2 for the key so I could pay them back in 10hours, then demanded a tip. Ok then. How about your staff have a smile on there faces this was a really bad experience. I was also travelling by myself incredibly uninviting! I am Australian I never right bad reviews
  • 29%
  • 13 May 2015 William Australia
  • Very nice, charming, clean hostel. Highly recommend it!
  • 94%
  • 12 May 2015 Nathalie Canada
  • Fun hostel with a great backpacker atmosphere. Everyone is friendly and helpful, we had a short stay for only two nights but had a great time and it's located a short tram ride from the heart of the french quarters and Bourbon St.
  • 89%
  • 03 May 2015 Linnea Sweden
  • The Hostel is in a nice area, close to the busstop and supermarkets. The facilities are simple and not exactly clean. But the atmosphere was great, Staff was very nice and meeting people was quite easy.
  • 71%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Antje
  • I had a good stay. I spent 3 nights in a twin ensuite. Room was clean. This hostel has a lot of character and I enjoyed talking with people from all over the world. Staff was very helpful but there are varying personalities. It's always good to bring your patience. The house cook prepared a tasty breakfast menu and a dinner daily. Dinner portions were available for purchase 24/7 in reheat containers. Access to the Canal St. Streetcar is a very short walk from the hostel.
  • 83%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »