See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 81% from 64 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We (my boyfriend and I) enjoyed our stay. A desk or some type of surface in the room would have made our stay almost perfect. We stayed in a double bed room to ourselves with our own bathroom, which we enjoyed. Staff was easy to work with and always had an answer for us.
  • 80%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • A lot of cool people stay there and it is a very social environment. Breakfast and dinner are cheap and super filling. As for the hostel it is pretty run down but it kind of ads to the vibe. Just a little bit. Biggest problem I had was the other people in my 12 bed dorm bad super bad personal hygiene. This obviously isn't the hostels fault, but maybe something worth considering, a lot of young boys partying all night and passing out in the room smelling bad.
  • 86%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Caitlin Australia
  • First impression was kind of week, door where hard to close, lock,... Walls and furniture are painted in every color and every style at the same time that it becomes hard to create a clean ans 'peacefull' admosphere. With so many things going on at the same time it becomes hard to see if something is clean or not. This beeing said I had a great time at indiana house hostel, especialy because all rooms are gatering together in the outside terras what makes it easy to interact with other travelers
  • 63%
  • 12 Jul 2015 Jana Belgium
  • The accomodation is pretty average, had a padlock to close our door that was held on by tape. The hostel has a brunch that is very well priced as well as great dinners. Atmosphere was fantastic though. Even with the average accomodation we will be coming back for the atmosphere alone!!!
  • 74%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Daniel England
  • India House Hostel was an eclectic and unique experience in Mid-City New Orleans. The staff was somewhat friendly, but upon check-in we were a bit confused about the services that hostel offered, and I was a bit surprised that there was no option for a blanket as only a flat sheet was given to us. This may make sense as New Orleans tends to be humid and hot during summer, but the AC in the room was a bit too low. Rooms and facilities were fairly clean. Great breakfast and dinner! Pool open!
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels ever - definitely the best I've seen in the US
  • 80%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was a pleasure staying there. The staff was very good and the hostel had pretty mych a person can expect (A good running kitchen, coffee, Vending Machine chips, soda, etc., Fridge, ATM, etc.)
  • 80%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous India
  • If you've seen the movie 'Fight Club,' this hostel looks like the house they squat in. It definitely helps reinforce those stereotypes about American hostels being far, far below the standards of European hostels. Was by far the most disgusting hostel I've ever stayed in. Flies everywhere. Bugs in the bathroom. No reading lights on beds. Two outlets in an 8-bed room. Super small lockers. Afraid of sitting on the couch for fear of getting a skin disease, etc. etc.
  • 43%
  • 26 May 2015 Jenna
  • The hostel was great in terms of 24-hour service, good kitchen facilities, social atmosphere etc. However, only one bathroom/shower per floor is not really enough in my opinion, and overall cleanliness in the rooms and the rest of the hostel was not very good.
  • 60%
  • 21 May 2015 Malin Sweden
  • Poor location, dirty rooms, ripped up bed? Below average, I also felt sorry for the poor girl sleeping across from the 50 year old man. What hostel would allow an old man to be in a mixed dorm? Staff let me off $2 for the key so I could pay them back in 10hours, then demanded a tip. Ok then. How about your staff have a smile on there faces this was a really bad experience. I was also travelling by myself incredibly uninviting! I am Australian I never right bad reviews
  • 29%
  • 13 May 2015 William Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »