See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 80% from 82 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff seemed to not enjoy their job.
  • 77%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Marte Netherlands
  • Generally hostel meets my expectations. I slept in 4-person room. In room were, new shower and restroom, room was clean an air-conditioned. Outside there were many open space with branches to seat, water pool, bar with TV.
  • 94%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Maciej Poland
  • The place was fairly decent for the price and location. Given the number of people coming and going, the facilities were well kept and safe. Did not realize people checked in at all hrs (someone arrived in the dorm room at 3 or 4am and turned the lights on to get settled in!). This was a nuisance the first night. Staff were very laid back; some seemed not very concerned about/responsive to issues (e.g. a stopped up toilet, a huge beetle in the bathroom that creeped out another guest).
  • 66%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Love the pool! Didn't like having to pay for my towel but every hostel has its own system....
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2014 James Ireland
  • A lot of dead quiet gypsy types were there, weird.The staff cool, place had awesome uniqueness. The private double bed room was a bunk bed with horrible cheap green rough blankets that made us itch. Impressive private bathroom, small but new, very clean, very nice. Location was a little out of the way but trolly made up for it. Delicious meals were cooked on site for around $5-$6. Would maybe go there again- dorm instead because the private rooms had thin walls, could here everything around :(
  • 80%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I marked average for all things that I am not really at liberty to discuss given my experience. Essentially, my flight got delayed so I called and said I would not be checking in for my first of three nights. I had booked a private twin room. They said okay, and asked if I would be available the next day. I said that weather permitting, I would be. I spent the whole day on an airplane only to arrive to a very rude clerk who said she had given up my room, and blamed me for not getting in touch.
  • 51%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • For what we paid I didn't expect much but the linen on the beds were really not clean, there was marks all over them and they smelled. It was also disappointing that no towels were provided.
  • 69%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Jade Australia
  • The hostel definitely had an awesome atmosphere. I stayed in a private room for 8 days for very inexpensive and had a blast. The restrooms/showers/room were clean, but the kitchen was disgusting. I suggest not planning on cooking in the hostel if you can help it. Otherwise, the staff was great and my experience there was amazing.
  • 77%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great Hostel. So many great facilities, staff were great and hostel is a great place to socialize and meet people. Definitely recommended!
  • 94%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Yasin England
  • It's an amazing hostel. Near from the street car and the french quarter. The staff is very helpful and nice. The place Is very beautiful and the ambiance great. I was always hanging out on the porch and the people there are great. I recommand it a 100%
  • 91%
  • 25 May 2014 Anonymous Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »