See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 79% from 48 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was great, other than there not being enough hot water during a morning shower. As I was one of the earlier ones up, I do not think that it was a hot water capacity issue (besides someone else who took a shower in a different bathroom in the same dorm room said they had plenty hot water). Staff was very nice and there was a very pleasant environment/atmosphere. I highly recommend this hostel.
  • 86%
  • 29 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The rooms was super cold and you were only given a sheet and a thin blanket. Had a tiny heater that didn't do much, so during the night it was freezing. The rooms was super dirty. During my stay, Friday to Monday the room was not cleaned once. Would had wished that there was information on hostelworld/hostels.com that there was a 80 dollar minimum on credit card payments. Water pressure was terrible in the showers!!
  • 57%
  • 08 Jan 2016 Frida Sweden
  • To be totally frank, this is a party hostel. This is how it is set up. If you don't like that, stay elsewhere.That said, there being breakfast available to buy was wonderful. I was only in New Orleans for a few days so having an inexpensive way to get food in the morning that didn't involve me cooking was wonderful.They say there are towels to buy, but they were out when I was there, fyi. They were totally cool with me using a sheet so not unreasonable by any means but something tobeawareof.
  • 91%
  • 03 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Grate atmosphere. Staff was awsome and friendly. Should maybe concider putting same age groups in large capacity rooms.
  • 69%
  • 22 Dec 2015 Ros
  • Good location, short tram ride to the French Quarter. Breakfast was delicious and cheap and everyone was super friendly. Room had a bit of a weird smell but it was clean.
  • 80%
  • 19 Dec 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I stayed at the India House hostel during thanksgiving and I must say the experience was quite great. The hostel staff cooked a thanksgiving meal for all the guests and it was delicious!!! The international environment that you can feel all over the place it's just amazing. An authentic hostel experience.
  • 86%
  • 25 Nov 2015 Yeison Colombia
  • The hostel is really cool, quite big, you can eat there for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the living room is really nice. The only problem? It was 40 degrees during the night and no heating, and when we told that to the receptionist she just answer us "yes I know, it was the same for me".. We almost didn't sleep because it was too clold. That's bad because everything was really cool, but don't come when there isn't heating because really the isolation is bad and their blanket are too thin...
  • 80%
  • 21 Nov 2015 Juliette France
  • Just a cool place to be. Nearby street car if one wants to go down to French Quarter. Surrounding neighborhood isn't the best so wouldn't recommend walking around at night (which is what we did). The facilities were clean including the twin ensuite that I shared with my friend. They offered cheap food for breakfast and dinner. The staff was friendly and showed us around the area.
  • 91%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Peter USA
  • Terrific location, breakfast for $5, free Wi-Fi, free linens (beds are pre-made in the private rooms), hot water showers, and friendly staff. The only thing I wish is that each room had a bathroom instead of outside/external bathrooms. This is a great hostel!
  • 94%
  • 31 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Helpful staff,old building,social, 10 minutes ride by street cart or tram to french quarter One thing i don't like : No tour or pub crawl arranged by hostel Affirdable
  • 69%
  • 03 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »