See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 80% from 81 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very fun hostel. I met a bunch of very cool people from all parts of the globe. Hope to stay here again if I ever get back to New Orleans
  • 83%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Luke USA
  • Very good place to stay in Nola, good location and awesome price.
  • 83%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Rogerio Brazil
  • I wasn't very happy with this place at all, there is two bathrooms (literally so two showers with a toilet in each) to like 8 dorms. You had to wait at the door or just wait for people to shower just to pee. No parking so of course it's free. No lockers in rooms. It says aircon but I could walk in circles faster than the fan spun. Not a pleasant stay if your not used to hot and sweaty hostels. I wouldn't stay here again
  • 46%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Meg Australia
  • Cute place and a nice house. Location, however, is HORRIBLE! It's buried within a rundown, sketchy neighborhood with torn-up streets and extensive graffiti. Parking is a disaster and most of the guests are forced to park around/down the block and having to walk through the unwelcoming neighborhoods to get to and from their cars to the hostel. I also heard from several guests that theft, both within the hostel and from the parked cars, is a common occurrence.
  • 54%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Really enjoyed our stay. The only thing we didn't like was the check in - the check in area is small and crowded and took us a while to get properly checked in.
  • 94%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Ilana
  • This was my first hostle experience, and it was amazing. I really felt like i was able to get the full expereience while getting more cultured by meeting others. I'm from Michigan and my girl is from Europe and familiar with this type of living. I have never traveled abroad or stayed in anything other than hotels so this was.. a very different type of living that i loved and will travel more this way! I'm super glad i stayed here it was nice, and fun an we even went out a few nights w/them!
  • 91%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Brittiney USA
  • Interesting and colorful place to stay. India House is like separate world, small and magic village in the city of New Orleans. Public areas could be more clean and renovated but it wasn't bad. They have a pool, but do not try to swim in it during the night - strict rules about it. I would recommend for sure!
  • 83%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Zuzanna Poland
  • Staff seemed to not enjoy their job.
  • 77%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Marte Netherlands
  • Generally hostel meets my expectations. I slept in 4-person room. In room were, new shower and restroom, room was clean an air-conditioned. Outside there were many open space with branches to seat, water pool, bar with TV.
  • 94%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Maciej Poland
  • The place was fairly decent for the price and location. Given the number of people coming and going, the facilities were well kept and safe. Did not realize people checked in at all hrs (someone arrived in the dorm room at 3 or 4am and turned the lights on to get settled in!). This was a nuisance the first night. Staff were very laid back; some seemed not very concerned about/responsive to issues (e.g. a stopped up toilet, a huge beetle in the bathroom that creeped out another guest).
  • 66%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »