See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 77% from 43 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If you're looking for a clean bathroom it's definitely not the place! The location is not ideal (even if the street car is close), if I were to come back to NO I would stay near the French Quarters. The neighbourhood is a little bit sad. This hostel is best for groups no solo backpackers. Dinner and breakfast are great! Not expensive and very good!
  • 60%
  • 13 May 2016 Pauline France
  • Settling myself in the 24 hour area (permitted or not) because my friend and myself have been placed in a dorm with a broken a/c. We reported this to the staff who seems to care about absolutely nothing and refused to accommodate us in any way; we made it through the first night hoping it would be fixed and addressed but here we are 48 hours later with NO air conditioning. It would be one thing If it felt nice however in the blazing summer it is cooler outside than it is in our dorm. I am appall
  • 49%
  • 12 May 2016 Scarlett USA
  • Really nice place in a super beautiful area. The staff were awesome and chill, and kind of just felt like other travelers there with everyone else. The biggest issue I had was that there was very little dishware to use that was not made of styrofoam. Styrofoam cups, plates, and bowls were pretty much the only dishware available and it all got thrown away afterwards. That stuff is like cancer to the earth. Travelers usually know how to clean up after themselves; give us some real dishes to use!
  • 86%
  • 01 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • pros: artistic feeling facility. easy access to street car 24H. outdoor pool. cons: cleaness. few glum staff. anyway, when think price, it is quite nice choice to stay at new orleans.
  • 71%
  • 27 Apr 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great value for money. located really close to street car station. it was the best hostel ever in my life. would definitely stay again if i visit NOLA next time.
  • 100%
  • 05 Apr 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! The atmosphere was great. Was traveling by myself and still had the time of my life bc of the people I met at the hostel. Would definitely stay there again!!
  • 86%
  • 08 Mar 2016 Malin Sweden
  • I've stayed at India House 2 times now, both times a great experience but this time better than my first stay. I appreciate that they are making improvements to the facility as well as the beds and linens, the first time both the room, the bed and linens were rather shoddy. You might want to provide complimentary ear plugs to those folks staying in rooms that face the courtyard, the noise late into the night can prevent light sleepers like myself from getting or staying asleep. Thanks
  • 83%
  • 10 Feb 2016 Kim
  • Everything was great, other than there not being enough hot water during a morning shower. As I was one of the earlier ones up, I do not think that it was a hot water capacity issue (besides someone else who took a shower in a different bathroom in the same dorm room said they had plenty hot water). Staff was very nice and there was a very pleasant environment/atmosphere. I highly recommend this hostel.
  • 86%
  • 29 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The rooms was super cold and you were only given a sheet and a thin blanket. Had a tiny heater that didn't do much, so during the night it was freezing. The rooms was super dirty. During my stay, Friday to Monday the room was not cleaned once. Would had wished that there was information on hostelworld/hostels.com that there was a 80 dollar minimum on credit card payments. Water pressure was terrible in the showers!!
  • 57%
  • 08 Jan 2016 Frida Sweden
  • To be totally frank, this is a party hostel. This is how it is set up. If you don't like that, stay elsewhere.That said, there being breakfast available to buy was wonderful. I was only in New Orleans for a few days so having an inexpensive way to get food in the morning that didn't involve me cooking was wonderful.They say there are towels to buy, but they were out when I was there, fyi. They were totally cool with me using a sheet so not unreasonable by any means but something tobeawareof.
  • 91%
  • 03 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »