See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 79% from 28 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I loved the atmosphere and decor. It is a hostel not a hotel. I met people from all over. I liked the 30 second walk to the street car to the French Quarter. Nothing fancy but then again I didn't want a stuffy Hotel. Water was hot, beds had a decent mattress, staff was friendly, people were great. Exactly why I love to stay at Hostels. I read many negative reviews, if you are a snob DON'T STAY AT A HOSTEL! Simple as that. I love hostels for what they are a hostel! I travel alone to meet people!
  • 94%
  • 24 Sep 2016 cynthia USA
  • If you're looking for a clean bathroom it's definitely not the place! The location is not ideal (even if the street car is close), if I were to come back to NO I would stay near the French Quarters. The neighbourhood is a little bit sad. This hostel is best for groups no solo backpackers. Dinner and breakfast are great! Not expensive and very good!
  • 60%
  • 13 May 2016 Pauline France
  • Not the cleanest place but what hostel is? Absolutely fantastic atmosphere at this hostel. Everyone is travelling alone so everyone is happy to hang out with everyone else. Was there for two nights and met some incredible people Serve amazing food very cheap!
  • 97%
  • 12 May 2016 Rachel England
  • Settling myself in the 24 hour area (permitted or not) because my friend and myself have been placed in a dorm with a broken a/c. We reported this to the staff who seems to care about absolutely nothing and refused to accommodate us in any way; we made it through the first night hoping it would be fixed and addressed but here we are 48 hours later with NO air conditioning. It would be one thing If it felt nice however in the blazing summer it is cooler outside than it is in our dorm. I am appall
  • 49%
  • 12 May 2016 Scarlett USA
  • Really nice place in a super beautiful area. The staff were awesome and chill, and kind of just felt like other travelers there with everyone else. The biggest issue I had was that there was very little dishware to use that was not made of styrofoam. Styrofoam cups, plates, and bowls were pretty much the only dishware available and it all got thrown away afterwards. That stuff is like cancer to the earth. Travelers usually know how to clean up after themselves; give us some real dishes to use!
  • 86%
  • 01 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • pros: artistic feeling facility. easy access to street car 24H. outdoor pool. cons: cleaness. few glum staff. anyway, when think price, it is quite nice choice to stay at new orleans.
  • 71%
  • 27 Apr 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great value for money. located really close to street car station. it was the best hostel ever in my life. would definitely stay again if i visit NOLA next time.
  • 100%
  • 05 Apr 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! The atmosphere was great. Was traveling by myself and still had the time of my life bc of the people I met at the hostel. Would definitely stay there again!!
  • 86%
  • 08 Mar 2016 Malin Sweden
  • I've stayed at India House 2 times now, both times a great experience but this time better than my first stay. I appreciate that they are making improvements to the facility as well as the beds and linens, the first time both the room, the bed and linens were rather shoddy. You might want to provide complimentary ear plugs to those folks staying in rooms that face the courtyard, the noise late into the night can prevent light sleepers like myself from getting or staying asleep. Thanks
  • 83%
  • 10 Feb 2016 Kim
  • Everything was great, other than there not being enough hot water during a morning shower. As I was one of the earlier ones up, I do not think that it was a hot water capacity issue (besides someone else who took a shower in a different bathroom in the same dorm room said they had plenty hot water). Staff was very nice and there was a very pleasant environment/atmosphere. I highly recommend this hostel.
  • 86%
  • 29 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »