See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 81% from 60 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Poor location, dirty rooms, ripped up bed? Below average, I also felt sorry for the poor girl sleeping across from the 50 year old man. What hostel would allow an old man to be in a mixed dorm? Staff let me off $2 for the key so I could pay them back in 10hours, then demanded a tip. Ok then. How about your staff have a smile on there faces this was a really bad experience. I was also travelling by myself incredibly uninviting! I am Australian I never right bad reviews
  • 29%
  • 13 May 2015 William Australia
  • Very nice, charming, clean hostel. Highly recommend it!
  • 94%
  • 12 May 2015 Nathalie Canada
  • Fun hostel with a great backpacker atmosphere. Everyone is friendly and helpful, we had a short stay for only two nights but had a great time and it's located a short tram ride from the heart of the french quarters and Bourbon St.
  • 89%
  • 03 May 2015 Linnea Sweden
  • The Hostel is in a nice area, close to the busstop and supermarkets. The facilities are simple and not exactly clean. But the atmosphere was great, Staff was very nice and meeting people was quite easy.
  • 71%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Antje
  • I had a good stay. I spent 3 nights in a twin ensuite. Room was clean. This hostel has a lot of character and I enjoyed talking with people from all over the world. Staff was very helpful but there are varying personalities. It's always good to bring your patience. The house cook prepared a tasty breakfast menu and a dinner daily. Dinner portions were available for purchase 24/7 in reheat containers. Access to the Canal St. Streetcar is a very short walk from the hostel.
  • 83%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Our group had a blast at India House. The pool was a fantastic option to have, the guests were a blast, meals were awesome and a great deal, and there were a lot of cool little places around the hostel to check out. It's a little far from downtown but it's a great escape from the busy city center. The hostel also had a live band one of the nights we were there, which was so much fun. Can't wait to head back!
  • 80%
  • 06 Apr 2015 Alexis USA
  • This hostel is amazing. It's a kind of far from French Quarter but there is a public transportation to there that is so close to the hostel. People there are the best!! They are very friendly and simple. I would back there for sure. I traveled by myself to there and I could find great friends to hang out with. I love it.
  • 86%
  • 28 Mar 2015 Thaisa Joseane Brazil
  • I stayed in a private room the first 4 nights of my trip, which was great for the price - very clean bathroom, blankets provided. However, I stayed in the dorm the last 3 nights and they were grungy - lightbulbs burned out, no blankets, dirty dining area. This hostel would be best for younger/budget travelers looking for a social/party atmosphere and don't mind the grunginess. Having had my fill of this on previous trips though I wished I'd spent a few bucks more and went somewhere cleaner.
  • 51%
  • 23 Mar 2015 Alissa USA
  • Such an amazing place to be! I really loved the place. The kitchen is very good, the staff is very polite and it is easy to go anywhere because it is close to the streetcars.
  • 100%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Victor Brazil
  • This hostel is definitely made by people living and working there. The atmosphere is terrific and I had a great time. Thanks for a terrific time!
  • 80%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Patricia Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »