See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 81% from 69 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff was great. Food was great. Room was A little cold until we alerted the staff and they took care of it immediately.
  • 100%
  • 28 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • THE Hostel to stay at in New Orleans. From the moment you step foot in the front door you realise how much character and history the place has. The staff are friendly and super helpful. The meals are value for money and taste amazing. The common areas are great for sitting around and meeting new people. Do yourself a favour and don't look any further for accommodation!
  • 94%
  • 25 Jan 2015 Andrew Australia
  • Cheap food available all day. Helpful staff. Bathrooms everywhere. No complaints.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jan 2015 Kenneth USA
  • Had a wonderful time! The staff was exceptional, the room was comfortable and quiet, and it was an absolute delight to meet the other guests who came from all over the world and from different walks of life. I would highly recommend India House for a cultured experience with great hospitality. We will be repeat customers for sure!
  • 89%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Casey USA
  • A top hostel!
  • 94%
  • 14 Jan 2015 Janne Finland
  • Excellent community feeling and atmosphere! Loved the ability to have a private room for my small group of four, as well as the ability to be around others traveling also. The location was great, just a step away from the streetcar on Canal Street.
  • 86%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This place is legit! The cook was awesome and sweet. I inhaled the breakfast and its such a good price! Dinner was also really good and cheap! True New Orleans flavor. The atmosphere is fun and the place is so upbeat. We stayed in a private 2 bed room and it had its private bathroom which was a great surprise! Defiantly come back and stay at this place for future visits.
  • 97%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel with wonderful people on bew Orleans. Perfect backpacker atmosphere and many places to hang out!
  • 83%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I had a wonderful time there. I would defiantly stay there again.
  • 97%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Alright stay, decent location with the street car pickup convenient. Bare minimum, shower curtain dirty and hanging off, but still worked. Staff nice enough. Got really cold one night, we had a space heater that barely worked. Other rooms said they didn't have any space heater. I would stay again
  • 71%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Teresa USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »